We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Carousel Motel(Virginia Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seashire Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort Inn(Virginia Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
383
268
89
35
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
268
89
35
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish bonesfront deskroom was cleanindoor poolfishing pierparking garageneptune festivalcontinental breakfastbike rentalsa great stayview from the balconyhotel staffan older hotelstaff was very friendly and helpfulthe entire staffenjoyed my staydefinitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn for 2 nights in July. Our stay was very good and I credit the amazing staff for this. EVERY recent review on TA already talks about the amazing staff, so I won't go on and on about them. But...it's all true. From the first phone call - through check in- all our silly questions- check out..every person we dealt with was friendly and kind. they really do go out of their way to make you feel " at home and relaxed!" These are people who actually are in the hospitality business!

Now..on to the review...
Quick overview: great view, great value, great location, great staff, great free breakfast, accessible beach access, decent sized room, clean, mini fridge, comfortable (enough beds). clean pool- indoor only

This is a very good value hotel!
For the price- I don't think you will find a better place. The view of the ocean is of course amazing. The rooms (we stayed in a standard 2 Queen Room) were a decent size..not huge though. The balcony was private enough- you could hear your neighbors but only see them when they were being annoying and leaning over, smoking (which is not permitted...and SO aggravating!!) or throwing food at the seagulls (not the hotels fault)...note to travelers...please remember you are traveling with lots of other people and not everyone wants the birds to swarm their balcony, and leave their droppings behind...(plus it's bad practice to feed animals) anyway...

The hotel is just steps from the beach. It overlooks the main boardwalk, and is directly across from a wooden boardwalk that extends into the sand creating a nice and easy accessible beach access for those who may need it (and for those who just want to avoid the hot sand) The elevators are shared by the staff...which is a little annoying because it adds to the wait time..but the staff is so friendly...it didn't bother us...however, you should be prepared for that. To get to the beach you walk past the front desk and through the lobby every time...which is kinda wierd...but..again the staff is so awesome you get used to it.

The free breakfast was excellent..they had cereal, toast, breads, and hot foods also, eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles and fruit. We liked the reminders that were posted about not wasting food and reminding us how many places don't have enough food as we Americans waste thousands of pounds a day.

The pool is on the 5th floor down the hall way....it was always clean. We happened to be staying directly across from the pool...and we were really worried but it was not usually bad..we didn't hear any noise from the pool except for one night when a group of people decided to be extremely loud around 9pm and were yelling in the hallway. The pool closes at 10 and we were very happy about that!

The beds were firm..not the most comfortable beds we've ever slept on..but not uncomfortable...i'm very picky..and usually don't fall asleep on hotel beds- but I didn't mind this one! the room was clean...I mean it's a beach hotel...and older one at that..but there was NO SAND anywhere in the room when we checked in..and everything was clean. The cleaning stuff they use has a unique smell to it..but nothing terrible and the towels were "unscented" which is good for those of us with allergies.

The bathroom was fine. It was a tub and shower with a faux granite surround..the "granite" had some yellow stains on it...but it wasn't dirty. The shower curtain could probably be replaced...but I'm a germ freak..and I survived...The AC units are a little old..but they work. The first room we were given smelled musty- and reminded me of the old moldy AC unit that we have in our school classroom.... So they moved us to a new room and it was fine. When I say they gave us a new room...they didn't hesitate..or question it..they just gave us a new room.. right away =on the same floor (which was important b/c we were staying with family on the same floor). The AC there rattled a little ..but nothing that kept us awake.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that is not affiliated with the hotel..but it was good and it was nice to not have to walk to find somewhere to eat.

Overall this was a GREAT midweek, affordable, ocean front vacation with truly amazing staff!

Room Tip: pool is on the 5th floor...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugs920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. Thank you for choosing Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites as your vacation destination in Virginia Beach. I'm glad that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. We take pride in providing our guests with superior service. We look forward to seeing you again when visiting Virginia Beach!

Dannielle Quadrino-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Great location with a breathtaking view from the oceanfront balcony. The hotel is so clean and the staff is one of the friendliest and most accommodating I've experienced. Our room had everything we needed and we loved the complimentary beverages always available in the lobby!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appleka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations.

Dannielle Quadrino-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I travel for a living and stay in pretty exclusive places. We've lived in Virginia Beach. This place rocks! Much better than we had expected. Everything was excellent and it even passed my daughter's inspection (State Health inspector)
Breakfast was much better than what you get in Europe
Guest laundry. Optional afternoon room cleaning was available.
The staff was incredible. Every single one of them.
This is our spot from now on!

Room Tip: They are all good! You are right on the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. Thank you for choosing Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites as your vacation destination in Virginia Beach. I'm glad that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. I share each and every review with my staff as we take pride in providing our guest with superior service. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Dannielle Quadrino-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel was clean and quite. Staff was friendly and very helpful when I had questions. The house keeping staff always had a smile and a hello. They serve a very nice breakfast. I know I will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Buddy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the great review about our staff and the hotel! Our staff exceeds in customer service and we do appreciate you recognizing that! We hope to see you again when in Virginia Beach!


Sincerely,
Dannielle Quadrino-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We initially stayed in room 901 on the highest floor. The room was clean, spacious and overall well kept. The individuals at the front desk, especially Erin are extremely friendly and welcoming. We stayed in room 901 for three nights, then on our last night, the AC broke, and after countless individuals trying to fix the problem, we were finally moved to another room at 10:30 at night. I have a 2 1/2 year old so packing the room quickly and relocating for one last evening was not pleasant. Once we got to room 710, the lights and the AC in the living room did not work, there were items left over from previous occupants on the floor, and the towels in the bathroom had hair in them (truly disgusting). Needless to say we couldn't wait to leave.

However, despite the unfortunate circumstance with the AC not working the staff tried their best to accommodate us. In addition, the breakfast they have in the morning gives you a good kick start to a day at the beach. They always have juice and coffee available in their lobby. Furthermore, parking in their garage was easy. The location of the hotel is perfect. Every room has a view and the noise from the boardwalk is very limited. In addition, they have bike rentals on site (however I would recommend going a few blocks away to a different location for that since their bikes were a bit overused).

In the end they took 25% off of our bill for our troubles.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room to less boardwalk noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mipesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. I am sorry you had a bad incident on the last night of your stay. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide a higher quality of customer service, than our guests expect. We hope you return to grant us the opportunity to exceed you expectations when visiting Virginia Beach!

Dannielle Quadrino
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews