We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly family environment..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel is nice and staff was great. My son got sick our last night in va beach the older gentleman that came and help was great. He made my son feel like everything was fine and it was nothing to it. I will definitely come back again...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tianasmit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for the terrific comments about our hotel and staff. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location. Rooms very clean. Staff offered me paper plates for my room when I was waiting for my pizza to be delivered! Breakfast was superb - lots of hot choices. My ONLY complaint and it is a minor one, is that the elevators were a bit busy at times. But that is to be expected in a busy hotel I guess.

If we return to VB, we will consider Surfside our first choice!

Room Tip: Try to get higher up. We were on 4th floor and were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob44224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Front Desk Supervisor at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for the great review about our staff and the hotel! Our staff exceeds in customer service and we do appreciate you recognizing that! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn for 2 nights in July. Our stay was very good and I credit the amazing staff for this. EVERY recent review on TA already talks about the amazing staff, so I won't go on and on about them. But...it's all true. From the first phone call - through check in- all our silly questions- check out..every person we dealt with was friendly and kind. they really do go out of their way to make you feel " at home and relaxed!" These are people who actually are in the hospitality business!

Now..on to the review...
Quick overview: great view, great value, great location, great staff, great free breakfast, accessible beach access, decent sized room, clean, mini fridge, comfortable (enough beds). clean pool- indoor only

This is a very good value hotel!
For the price- I don't think you will find a better place. The view of the ocean is of course amazing. The rooms (we stayed in a standard 2 Queen Room) were a decent size..not huge though. The balcony was private enough- you could hear your neighbors but only see them when they were being annoying and leaning over, smoking (which is not permitted...and SO aggravating!!) or throwing food at the seagulls (not the hotels fault)...note to travelers...please remember you are traveling with lots of other people and not everyone wants the birds to swarm their balcony, and leave their droppings behind...(plus it's bad practice to feed animals) anyway...

The hotel is just steps from the beach. It overlooks the main boardwalk, and is directly across from a wooden boardwalk that extends into the sand creating a nice and easy accessible beach access for those who may need it (and for those who just want to avoid the hot sand) The elevators are shared by the staff...which is a little annoying because it adds to the wait time..but the staff is so friendly...it didn't bother us...however, you should be prepared for that. To get to the beach you walk past the front desk and through the lobby every time...which is kinda wierd...but..again the staff is so awesome you get used to it.

The free breakfast was excellent..they had cereal, toast, breads, and hot foods also, eggs, sausage, biscuits, waffles and fruit. We liked the reminders that were posted about not wasting food and reminding us how many places don't have enough food as we Americans waste thousands of pounds a day.

The pool is on the 5th floor down the hall way....it was always clean. We happened to be staying directly across from the pool...and we were really worried but it was not usually bad..we didn't hear any noise from the pool except for one night when a group of people decided to be extremely loud around 9pm and were yelling in the hallway. The pool closes at 10 and we were very happy about that!

The beds were firm..not the most comfortable beds we've ever slept on..but not uncomfortable...i'm very picky..and usually don't fall asleep on hotel beds- but I didn't mind this one! the room was clean...I mean it's a beach hotel...and older one at that..but there was NO SAND anywhere in the room when we checked in..and everything was clean. The cleaning stuff they use has a unique smell to it..but nothing terrible and the towels were "unscented" which is good for those of us with allergies.

The bathroom was fine. It was a tub and shower with a faux granite surround..the "granite" had some yellow stains on it...but it wasn't dirty. The shower curtain could probably be replaced...but I'm a germ freak..and I survived...The AC units are a little old..but they work. The first room we were given smelled musty- and reminded me of the old moldy AC unit that we have in our school classroom.... So they moved us to a new room and it was fine. When I say they gave us a new room...they didn't hesitate..or question it..they just gave us a new room.. right away =on the same floor (which was important b/c we were staying with family on the same floor). The AC there rattled a little ..but nothing that kept us awake.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that is not affiliated with the hotel..but it was good and it was nice to not have to walk to find somewhere to eat.

Overall this was a GREAT midweek, affordable, ocean front vacation with truly amazing staff!

Room Tip: pool is on the 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugs920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. Thank you for choosing Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites as your vacation destination in Virginia Beach. I'm glad that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. We take pride in providing our guests with superior service. We look forward to seeing you again when visiting Virginia Beach!

Dannielle Quadrino-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Great location with a breathtaking view from the oceanfront balcony. The hotel is so clean and the staff is one of the friendliest and most accommodating I've experienced. Our room had everything we needed and we loved the complimentary beverages always available in the lobby!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appleka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We look forward to hosting your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations.

Dannielle Quadrino-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I travel for a living and stay in pretty exclusive places. We've lived in Virginia Beach. This place rocks! Much better than we had expected. Everything was excellent and it even passed my daughter's inspection (State Health inspector)
Breakfast was much better than what you get in Europe
Guest laundry. Optional afternoon room cleaning was available.
The staff was incredible. Every single one of them.
This is our spot from now on!

Room Tip: They are all good! You are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel. Thank you for choosing Surfside Oceanfront Inn and Suites as your vacation destination in Virginia Beach. I'm glad that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. I share each and every review with my staff as we take pride in providing our guest with superior service. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Dannielle Quadrino-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel was clean and quite. Staff was friendly and very helpful when I had questions. The house keeping staff always had a smile and a hello. They serve a very nice breakfast. I know I will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Buddy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the great review about our staff and the hotel! Our staff exceeds in customer service and we do appreciate you recognizing that! We hope to see you again when in Virginia Beach!


Sincerely,
Dannielle Quadrino-Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We initially stayed in room 901 on the highest floor. The room was clean, spacious and overall well kept. The individuals at the front desk, especially Erin are extremely friendly and welcoming. We stayed in room 901 for three nights, then on our last night, the AC broke, and after countless individuals trying to fix the problem, we were finally moved to another room at 10:30 at night. I have a 2 1/2 year old so packing the room quickly and relocating for one last evening was not pleasant. Once we got to room 710, the lights and the AC in the living room did not work, there were items left over from previous occupants on the floor, and the towels in the bathroom had hair in them (truly disgusting). Needless to say we couldn't wait to leave.

However, despite the unfortunate circumstance with the AC not working the staff tried their best to accommodate us. In addition, the breakfast they have in the morning gives you a good kick start to a day at the beach. They always have juice and coffee available in their lobby. Furthermore, parking in their garage was easy. The location of the hotel is perfect. Every room has a view and the noise from the boardwalk is very limited. In addition, they have bike rentals on site (however I would recommend going a few blocks away to a different location for that since their bikes were a bit overused).

In the end they took 25% off of our bill for our troubles.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room to less boardwalk noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mipesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannielle Q, Guest Services at Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. I am sorry you had a bad incident on the last night of your stay. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide a higher quality of customer service, than our guests expect. We hope you return to grant us the opportunity to exceed you expectations when visiting Virginia Beach!

Dannielle Quadrino
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,021 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3539 (Formerly Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £66 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, home to the longest pleasure beach on the planet, Four Points By Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront helps you make the most everything this vibrant city has to offer. all rooms feature a magnificent view of the Atlantic Ocean with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing