We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room with an amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harpursville, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great room with an amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

My family and I just spent a week in Virginia Beach and we were very impressed with The Surfside Inn. The price was great. The view from our room was stunning! The beds and pillows were wonderful. One of the best we have ever slept on. The only thing that we will do differently next year when we go back is we will get a two room suite. The room was a bit cluttered due to all of the things we needed to bring as we have a ten year old and a six month old. We were very happy with the indoor pool. We had wished that the hot tub was still in working order but it will not keep us from coming back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    228
    71
    25
    34
See reviews for
292
179
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Right on the beach. Clean room, friendly, helpful staff. Clean pool, good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likesadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Recently completed our stay in a 1 BR suite at the Surfside. We had a generally pleasant stay, but there were some problems that will make us consider alternatives in the future.

First the good about our stay. Best thing about this hotel is the location. It has a wonderful view of the beach and boardwalk. It's located just a couple blocks south of the pier which makes it rather centrally located. Had a great view of the fireworks on the 2 nights we were there for them. The beach is noticeably less crowded in this area than the rest of the beach. You could see this both from our hotel room and by simply walking a couple blocks south on the beach where the crowd seemed to explode. I think this is because the resorts and hotels are smaller and less tightly packed in this area and there's not much public parking nearby. We couldn't have been more pleased. If you have kids like us, you'll also find a playground on the beach about 2 blocks south, and a small collection of kiddie amusement rides 2 blocks north. And with a bike rental location on the ground floor, there's plenty to entertain the kids without having to go far.

The rooms were spacious and clean. The balconies offer a great place to unwind at any time during the day. I was pleasantly surprised by the pool area, which was larger than expected. The hotel was very quiet, although I imagine if you're on the pool floor or near an entrance to the parking area you might a get a bit more noise than we did on the 9th floor. Having a refrigerator/freezer in the suite came in handy for keeping lunches and a couple small dinners. If you need to do a load or two of laundry, the facilities are located right in the lobby in a well lit area, not tucked away in a basement like some hotels. One of the machines was broken the first day, but it was repaired quickly. There was plenty of parking. Also, the free wi-fi may have been the fastest and most reliable I've had in a hotel.

There were several things we were disappointed by though. The lobby, while supposedly recently remodeled, still feels a bit dingy and outdated, especially the area near the front desk, which feels terribly uninviting. Same can be said for all the hallways and common areas like the breakfast area. The hallways in particular, while well lighted, were hot and stuffy with no air flow, dingy carpets, and a somewhat dirty feel. Breakfast was disappointing. Waffles, oatmeal, bagels and toast are the extent of the hot items. There was a limited selection of fruit, we found only bananas on some days. Cereal was stale. Everything was generally subpar. While the pool area was generally clean, the pool water was rather cloudy on one day making me wonder about the cleanliness. They were also out of pool towels on evening we went, even though the pool didn't close for a few more hours. In the rooms, the older carpet was pulled away from edges and doorways and visibily frayed. The couch was old, uncomfortable, and had a slight odor. The backs of the TV and DVD remote was missing in one room, and although there was tape to keep the batteries from falling out, you still had to press the batteries in more securely to get the remotes to function. Housekeeping did not refresh our supply of in-room coffee. The air conditioning in the bedroom was not working great. We had to keep the AC on full blast in both rooms in order to keep the bedroom cool. Pillows were flat and uncomfortable.

On our last morning we were rudely woken by the fire alarm at 6:40am. I asked later as to the cause, and was told someone was cooking in the ballroom and it had gotten a little smokey. I was unclear as to who to fault...but it sounded a little bit the fault of the hotel and those who were cooking at 6:40 in the morning.

The biggest inconvenience was our bathroom light, which was not working when we arrived. Maintenance came up right away to replace the bulb, but it still didn't work. We called again and they returned and fiddled around with the wiring for 15 minutes. It worked then for a couple days then stopped again. After that we would call, they would get it working, but the moment we turned it off and back on it would not work again. After talking with the front desk, they said it needed to be rewired but they couldn't do it during our stay, so we could just simply call down anytime we needed it on. We were told this after about 6 visits from maintenance (we were only there for 6 nights). After we were informed of this we opted to just keep the light on.

All in all it was a decent stay, and I think had we just been in the standard hotel room we would've generally been pleased. But we were expecting slightly better when paying a bit more for the 1 BR suite. I wouldn't necessarily advise against staying here, and would even consider it in the future myself (although my wife disagrees). I will however consider alternatives first next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathias1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

I did a lot of homework on Virginia Beach hotels before booking Surfside for 4 nights. The price and the reviews were both decent, plus it's oceanfront, which is a must. We really enjoyed our stay there. The location is great, the beach in front of the hotel is not super crowded, and the hotel is really clean. The balcony is a great place to hang out and people watch on the boardwalk. The only minus is that the beds and pillows are not very comfortable. If you like a big, fluffy pillow, take your own. It's a short walk to the 15th Street Pier where you there is a little deli/hot dog stand, a crap shop, and Ocean Eddies. (Don't expect much out of Ocean Eddies.) Keep an eye out for dolphins in the ocean just out front of your balcony. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Compliments: clean, friendly staff, nice included breakfast, great juice and coffee bar available all day, safes in room, granite sinks and showers, great oceanview, so super convenient to boardwalk, on the beach, and near all the attractions!
Negatives: a/c in room not very cool...maintenance brought a fan, only 1 elevator working the whole week was inconvenient, pool was ice cold, the hot tub area in the pool wasn't working, breakfast was good but VERY CROWDED. Many guests of the hotel seemed as disappointed as we were and didn't seem very friendly/happy. We just reminded ourself that we spent about $50-75 less than the neighboring big chain hotels.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pattywebbrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel had good rates on the boardwalk. It was very clean with resturant and store as well as laundry room, work out room and inside heated pool.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NicoleM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel is located right on the oceanfront in the middle of Virginia Beach Boardwalk. Great views from balcony and decent rooms. The decor is a bit outdated and the lobby could definitely use some updating. However it was a great, clean and safe place to stay during our trip to Va. Beach. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating--allowing early check in and making us feel very welcome. Continental breakfast buffet was average, could have used more fruit. The indoor pool left a lot to be desired, but I really don't usually care for hotel pools so this didn't bother me.

Our room (oceanfront, two queens) had an updated bathroom with granite surrounds on shower, new toilet, and new sink and tiling. The carpet was older but clean, same with bedding and furniture. The TV was older as well but functional with cable and HBO (So we didn't miss True Blood!). However, the room was extremely clean and comfortable. No weird "hotel" smells here, which I've encountered even in some upscale hotels. A/C units in the room could use some updating as well, as ours was a bit noisy. Again, though, this location is great and I don't personally come to the beach to sit in a hotel, so that was the most important thing to me.

Definitely would come back. In fact, got a 10% coupon for my next stay. Nice touch! Parking is a bit tight and only one space allowed per room. But that's par for the course at the beach I think. This place is a great value and I've been recommending it to most of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricvagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1211 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3539 (Formerly Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, home to the longest pleasure beach on the planet, Four Points By Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront helps you make the most everything this vibrant city has to offer. all rooms feature a magnificent view of the Atlantic Ocean with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Oceanfront Inn And Suites
Surfside Hotel Virginia Beach
Surfside Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing