We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean, Right on the Boardwalk”
Review of The Seahawk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seahawk
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We wanted a room with two beds and a kitchen right on the boardwalk, and we got it for a great price. Staff was friendly and helpful. The building is old and made of concrete block, even some of the interior walls are just concrete block, but the TV was new, stove and refrigerator worked fine, WiFi worked fine. We were happy to pay hundreds less for the three-day stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MinnesotaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The Seahawk
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

I was afraid that I had made a bad decision to stay at the seahawk. But it was a good experience. The rooms could use some updates but we only slept in them as we were busy enjoying the beach. The price was great compared to the other ocean front hotels I checked in to. Try not to get a room on the 1st floor as I do not think the view would be good. We were on 4th floor and had a perfect view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahliz1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We came back to stay at the Seahawk, since this is where we had our honeymoon in 1972. I was pleasantly surprised to see it was still there. A much nicer motel than expected. Very reasonable priced, it is the "off" season...yes, the taxes are a bust but that's not the motel's fault. All ocean front rooms as far as I could tell. Our room, pool area & public areas were very clean. The air conditioning didn't seem to put out but there was a nice breeze from the ocean, so we just left the door open & heard the waves hitting the beach during the night. Parking is tight. The staff was very pleasant & was helpful directing us to special events & eateries in the area.

Room Tip: Top floors are nicer for the view of the beach and ocean.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMurphy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed one night at the Seahawk while making a trip up the east coast. The first "bad" incident was the price , the manager quoted the price of $82. When we checked in we paid $102, I questioned the difference and it was attributed to taxes, we asked for a receipt we were told we would get it when we checked out. Upon check out we realized we were charged more than $82. We mentioned this to the clerk that checked us out and she just looked at us. The room itself was not clean, the sheets looked like they had already been slept on, the locks were not adaquate on the door and I felt very unsafe.. The room smelled strongly of urine. I would never stay there again. The balcony was wonderful and the ocean view and that is why we stayed, we wanted an oceanfront room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the Seahawk Motel September 13-16. Every year we go down for the Oceana Airshow and stay at the Seahawk- it has become a tradition. This year we were pleasantly surprised by a much needed "face-lift" that the rooms went through.
Staff- the staff are friendly, and helpful.
Parking- you can only have one car per a room, however, since we always stay "off-season" the front desk staff will let you park the car for $5-15/night. I would suggest parking across the street in the designated parking lot for the Seahawk. We noticed that other patrons were not mindful of other cars this year and would hit other cars with the doors. We preferred parking away from everyone else.
Clothing shop- there is a clothing shop attached to the motel, I am not really sure if it is owned by the same individuals, however, you can find great souvenirs towards the end of the season for great deals.
The outside of the motel- the motel could use a paint job to freshen it up, and there are areas of cracks and mildew on the floors and ceilings on the main floor.
The pool- it is an indoor heated pool, however, the smell of chlorine carries all the way up to the 3rd floor. Aside from the chlorine smell the pool is well maintained.
The rooms- the view from the room was fantastic- nothing like waking up and seeing the open ocean. The room was clean, well maintained, however, the bed was firm.
The Seahawk is not for everyone- but it is a nice place to stay for a budgeted price.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have a better view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AP_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I was very impressed with the motel. Staff was friendly, helpful and ever present. Our room was thoroughly cleaned every day, at our convenience, with the "do not disturb" and "please clean this room" signs always honored. It is an older building but everything was in good working condition--ice machine, pool, microwave and refrigerator in room, and a safe. I'm sensitive to noise but our stay was quiet and relaxing, even during the peak week before Labor Day. I have no complaints at all about the Seahawk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We vacationed the last week of June with my 2 grandaughters, ages 9 & 14. They had a wonderful time, and the price fit our budget. Especially enjoyed the balcony, and walking up and down the boardwalk. The rooms have a microwave, and a refrigerator. The rooms are neat and clean, and the front dest is very friendly. Pool was just the right size. Our only complaint is that the elevator is very slow. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. Maybe stay on the 3/4 floor, as the elevator is very slow.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#50 of 109 in Virginia Beach
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seahawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seahawk

Address: 26th Street & Oceanfront, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £53 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Seahawk 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seahawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahawk Motel Virginia Beach
Seahawk Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing