We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, United States
1 review
“overall”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We came for our family reunion.Everything was great,the view was breathtaking.The staff was very professional,the rooms were very nice and comfortable.However,for the money we spent ,the company needs to invest in a better brand of toilet paper that kind was too rough..The line to wait for breakfast was to long of a wait to be seated.We all said we would come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Molry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    552
    225
    96
    65
See reviews for
901
504
56
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of June for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was roomy and very clean. The balconies overlooking the beach are wonderful. It has everything you need to have a great vacation. There is a decent restaurant and a nice store for groceries, clothing and beach items right on the main floor. Breakfast is included, buffet style, and it is typical buffet but definitely does the trick. Free wifi is great.

Location is great - we walked to everything we wanted to see and to dinner every night.

Only downsides - a bike rack would be nice. We were told to keep our bikes on the balcony, which required a lot of "wrangling" to get them through the room and out onto the balcony. I ended up locking our bikes to the bike rack on my truck in the parking lot. A lot easier. And - No outdoor shower to rinse the sand off. We waited in line at the boardwalk shower for quite a while several times.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikeville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean. Location is excellent if you want to be in the middle of everything. Free breakfast is the best of any hotel I have stayed in. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Me and my boyfriend did our vacation late found this hotel spur of the moment and could not have been happier with it. The ocean view right on the boardwalk was perfect. The staff, food, and atmosphere was amazing. I would make this my place to stay whenever we come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We did family vacation for 9 days. The hotel is on the beach, no road to cross. It is in centrally located on the main strip, so near or walking distance to almost everything.
Parking included, wifi included, free local and 1800 calls (ie phone card), in room safe. Rooms have balconies for fabulous view of the beach. Indoor pool ok, attached outdoor deck for suntanning, exercise room ok, view of beach.Staff is friendly and keep the place clean.

The breakfast voucher for the attached Pier 14 restaurant worked better then I thought would. The food is breakfast buffet, eggs, bacon, pancakes cereal; its hot and kept fresh and full. lines ups at prime time 9-10 am. staff moved them quickly.

Decor of hotel and rooms up to date. Lobby had the vibe of boutique hotel. I enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Only felt there needed to be more counter top space in the bathroom and a better coffee maker in the room. The coffee maker was a single cup dispenser and it was the best when we made coffee. The breakfast provided made up for it. Amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laval
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent 5 days at in this hotel. Location is perfect, the beach is rght there... restaurants and activities are easily accessible. The room was clean, the beds were confortable and the staff at the reception were very helpful.

An outoor pool would be an asset

There is a LOT on noises created by the F18 practicing almost 24 hours / day... there is nothing the hotel can do about it but this is very disturbing, in the middle of the night yoou almost feel you are getting bombarded!!!

The breakfast is included but this is not very good and the service is bad! The waitress are doing everything they can but there is no organization, there are empt tables that must be cleaned and noone to do it so there is always a long waiting line

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,294 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing