We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I wish I could of stayed longer!! The room was super nice,modern up to date and the decor was beautiful. We were on the 9th floor and the ocean gave us a nice breeze in the room. We didnt need to use the AC. Parking is free and they offer free buffet style breakfast eggs,bacon,sausage, potatoes, & biscuits w/gravy also pancakes,waffles,french toast are made hot to order, fresh fruit cereal etc. So that saved us money as well as time. They have an indoor pool and spa. And their located near some great spots such as the amusement park my husband and I walked over and took a ride on the ferris wheel. We also walked over and ate dinner at rockfish. The beach is foot steps away. They also have some nice souvenir shops in the hotel.They offer room service from 4pm to 10pm (I believe)super convenient! The staff from reservations all the way to check out were EXCELLENT!!!! They allowed us to check in early and checkout late because it was available! A+ customer service. A+ amenities, A+ for convenience, A+ comfort and A+ for decor. Great job!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank msVee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We wish you could have stayed longer too!!! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, we greatly appreciate the positive feedback about your stay! Come see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    555
    225
    97
    65
See reviews for
908
507
56
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am bery appreciative of the staff at Best Western PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel. They honored by request for an early check in, arranged for wake up calls when requested, and also supplied a late check out for my family due to an emergency with me. The room quality is above and beyond. There's thick plush comforable carpets, a private balcony overlooking the peir, and the bed comfort was perfect! We loved the fact that they accomodated children with a kiddie pool! This was a great idea and the main attraction why we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for an amazing review for the Best Western Plus Sandcastle! Our staff does go above and beyond for our hotel guests! Come back and see us again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I choose this hotel due to the prices and it was a perfect choice. My boyfriend and I needed a quick get away from the work and ect. We choose Virginia beach because it was close and he has family here. We both was very satisfied with the room and location. Only thing we disliked was it was Ant season and they where all over our counters in the room. Not many but enough for us not to bring any food back to our room. Besides that, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MsTeeThatsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Best Western Plus Sandcastle. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the location of the hotel. We are at a great location being by the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and by all the popular restaurants and stores! With the warm weather approaching, I do apologize for the inconvenience of the ants in your room. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

great stay! we were there with cheerleader nationals . first time at best western place was awesome. clean and friendly the balcony was so nice, right on the beach the hotel was best part of trip. the town was still closed down due to it being march but the stay was still great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us during the cheer leading nationals! We hope your team did well! Our staff does do an amazing job and we thank you for the great feedback about the hotel cleanliness & the friendly staff. We hope you come back again and see us next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I would not recommend this hotel to stay at the rooms need updating to match the lavish lobby but definately eat at the hotel restaurant the food was great and restaurant staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Conrad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback about the Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I do apologize that our newly renovated oceanfront rooms did not meet your expectations while you were here. We did just recently remodel the rooms, lobby and the restaurant. Come back and see us again next time and we'll be sure to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel to participate int he Shamrock Marathon weekend activities. I will stay here again! The Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was very nice and faced the ocean and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for a great review about the Best Western Plus Sandcastle. It was a busy weekend for the Va Beach oceanfront and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay during the Shamrock marathon. Come back and see us again next year and be sure to ask about our Shamrock marathon rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

First they messed up my reservation date and then after I finally paid an extra 20 bucks for a less desirable room they actually told me I went to the wrong room when my key didn't work. All the time my son was waiting for me to return at the same room! Lastly the hotel next door is being painted so there is a working using a paint sander right outside my room. Never use a Best Western again. Never had this kind of issues with Hilton!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreylhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us here at the Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I do apologize that your dates were incorrect at the time of your arrival, We do see that you directly made your reservation online at the Best Western reservations system and the reservation was made for March 23rd 2014. And the day you arrived was March 22nd, 2014. With you having booked a Full Prepaid/Non refundable reservation we were still willing and able to accommodate your request of checking in on the 22nd. The extra 20$ was for the rate change of the dates, not for a less desirable room. You were in the correct room you booked, the 20$ fee was the upgrade charge of the Saturday and Sunday rate difference. We hope that you decide to visit us again in the future so we can exceed your expectations next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing