We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked this hotel a year in advance and got an amazing deal on the 2 floor suite. Because the price was so good we didn't have the highest expectations for the hotel and room. We were pleasantly surprised and incredibly pleased with our stay. The room was perfect for our family of 6 with plenty of room when people needed a little time to themselves. The location was perfect for us and the oceanfront balcony was wonderful. We called a month before our trip to extend our stay and the representative was pleasant, helpful and quick to help. We experienced the same when we were there with smiles and Hello's every time we walked by the desk. The people working in the store were just as friendly and I can't even begin to tell you how pleased we were with the service in the restaurant. If we ever vacation in Virginia Beach again there is no other place we would stay. Thank you for helping to make our first family vacation as a blended family a huge success!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for recently staying with the Best Western Plus Sandcastle! We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your vacation in Virginia beach! The 3 Room Suite is quite the unique room and very popular as well, it is perfect for a family of 6! We hope you come back and see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    563
    226
    100
    66
See reviews for
923
526
58
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

i love the look of the hotel and they are helpful. the lobby area was beautiful and the pool area was never really packed. My room was bit small to hold 2 adults and 2 kids (1 & 7) but we made the most of it. Love the partial view of the ocean and the 24/7 coffee machine!!!! I would stay here again. The price was worth it. I had the best sleep on their nice pillows. If I was able to take one home I probably would have.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Not worth the money, A bit expensive- the Standard Room very small and dark Without View we could find better hotels for the price we paid. I like Best Western But I will not be back to this hotel ever

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nuritk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback about the Best Western Plus Sandcastle. I do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations! We recently in the past year did a full renovation of the hotel, with all new bright, beachy color schemes through the building. Along with adding the free full hot breakfast buffet for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wapakoneta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is family friendly, clean, helpful, has the best views to the beach and located where all the fun is on Virginia Beach. We stayed for 4 nights and had no problems the entire time. Bed was comfortable, plenty of clean linens, food was awesome, quiet at night. Indoor pool is nice and clean. We give it 2 Thumbs Up!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the awesome review for the Best Western Plus Sandcastle! Glad you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we had to offer! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel was nice and clean.The breakfast bar was great,had anything you would want.The room itself was a little small,but it was fine for a few days.Had a great view of ocean.Would stay here again.I would tell family or friends to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us! We do appreciate the great feedback you left us, come back and see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The lobby and some areas of this hotel are quite nice but other areas missed the mark. It is dark in many areas- the hallways, the pool area- not very cheery for a beach hotel. BUT, every single staff person we encountered was great. We usually do not stay at Best Western hotels but gave this one a shot because of the pictures. The hotel itself did not live up to the pictures but the staff exceeded expectations and gave service that you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The location was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the great review about our property! We appreciate you giving Best Westerns a try since you don't normally stay at them. I am happy to hear the staff exceeded your expectations and you loved the location! I do apologize if some of the color schemes through the hotel did not meet your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our first time at VA Beach and it definitely won't be the last especially at this property. Unfortunately the weather was not good during our stay so we did not get to enjoy the beach so much. The property was very nice and centrally located. The room looked like it has just gotten a fresh remodel. It was very clean except for the half used soap and dirty wash rag left in the shower. THe sink area was very small and there wasn't much room to put out your toiletries. Our room was unfortunately right as you stepped out of the elevator so there was constant noise. Don't expect to sleep in late as the housekeeping staff is rather noisy in the morning yelling back and forth and loud radios. The view was wonderful. Every staff member you encountered was extremely friendly. There was complementary breakfast buffet at the Pier 1 restaurant attached. The food was quite good. Remember to take a tip with you as each table has a sign making sure you realize gratuity is not included. It was nice to have parking right there attached to the hotel with all levels covered except for the top. It would be fairly tight for a larger SUV or pickup and doesn't seem to be large enough during prime season unless they have overflow somewhere. Although we did not use it there was a nice indoor pool, it was not very large. There is also a nice fitness room. With the exception of the weather we had a great stay and will definitely use this property again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaceGirl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us! Yes, we did just go through a full remodel of the whole hotel inside and out this past year! We do appreciate all the positive comments you left us and hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#21 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing