We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

No cots available, then charged for adding another child to my occupancy even though no accommodations were provided, and then when my daughter had to sleep on the floor I was told that since the hotel was a 'packed house' they did not want to give away many blankets or pillows!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Malana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for recently staying at The Best Western Plus Sandcastle! We hope you did well in the Us Finals Cheer leading competition! Unfortunately the group contract for the group rate does state the room is for 1-4 Persons (adult or child) to qualify for the group rate. After that any additional persons is an extra $10 per person, per night for extra occupancy in the room. And with that busy of a weekend the cots went quick and we just happen to have none available by the time you checked in. I do apologize about these inconveniences but we do hope you come back and see us again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,843 - 1,849 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just arrived but my ocean view room is really a view of the wall of the hotel next door that they are currently painting. Not impressed. The hallway is long, narrow and could do with some better lighting. Room is narrow with barely enough room to walk between the bed and the desk/TV/refrigerator on the wall immediately across from the beds. Not up to the usually good standards of Best Western. Clean bathroom but cheap smelly hand soaps

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillWalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for all the great feedback from your stay. Unfortunately the room you booked is correct. The Oceanview room is a partial side view of the ocean and the Oceanfront room is completely facing the ocean. Come back and see us again next time! Be sure to book the Oceanfront room, it's a beautiful view with a much larger room than the Oceanview room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The view was great from hotel room. Bathroom was a little small and not the cleanest. Breakfast was decent and waitresses for breakfast were very friendly. The hotel required two night stay over the weekend and was a little pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Best Western Plus Sandcastle! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. I do apologize about the inconveniences with the bathroom, next time please give us a call and we will be sure to correct the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the room but the hallway outside very noisy. The bed was very comfortable. Loved looking out our sliding glass door to see the beach
Unfortunately it was a little chilly ...would have loved it if it was warmer! Will consider going back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elizabetht226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your great feedback about the hotel! I do apologize about the noisy inconveniences in the hallways during your stay! Next time give the Front Desk a call and we'll be more than glad to check out the situation and take care of any noise issues. Come back and see us again during the summer, it will definitely be a lot warmer! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had such a wonderful stay at this hotel. They have an attached restaurant for your breakfast accommodations that is simply sweet and delicious. The staff was awesome, they met my every request along with providing a wonderful room on the top floor that had the perfect view of the beautiful ocean. I absolutely loved it! The only thing that could have made this stay better would have been an area brochure of things to do and coupons to do them! When you're not from a certain area and you go out on an adventure, every little piece of advice and assistance is imperative!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for such a great review! Our staff takes pride in their excellent customer service! We actually do have small coupon books/brochure books for our area that also include maps. They are near the Front Desk, I do apologize that we did not direct you over to that area. Come back and see us again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our stay was very nice and uneventful. Breakfast was great and shampoo and soap dispensers were full and the lotion smelt great. Great view from our balcony. Was a quick trip for us but very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We are glad to hear you had a quick but great stay! Come back and see us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I along with about a hundred and fifty other members of my school's band program, stayed at the Sandcastle for a three-night four-day band trip. The hotel for the most part was a in decent location that was in close proximity to various amenities. The breakfast buffet was quite mediocre and I feel that it could easily be improved. The room itself was quite nice for what it was, a standard 2-bed room. The only issues I had were the fact that we were almost charged 2 bucks for a second room key that we decided to opt-out of, and your name has to be written down when taking extra towels. Overall, not a bad hotel, but would not be my first choice if I were to come back down to VA Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We do appreciate you and the rest of the band students that stayed with us recently! We hope you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel as well as the beach itself! I do apologize for the inconvenience of the towels, we do take inventory on our hotel supplies. This ensures us that we are also not giving guest amenities to non hotel guests. As for the keys, we do only issue 2 per room. Anything other than the 2 keys issued is 2$ per room key. As these keys do have a special RFID chip in them so they're a bit different than the standard room key. We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to see you guys next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
789 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £51 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing