We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, United States
1 review
“Excellent Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel was very nice and updated, comfortable rooms and great accommodations. Loved the restaurant and shops located at the hotel and the balcony has great views. Staff very friendly. Other than the elevator problems, our stay was enjoyable. Ocean Eddies is right across the street in walking distance and has great seafood. I would stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the great review about our hotel and hotel amenities we have to offer! We have recently renovated the property so everything is very up to date and the decor is very beach like! I do apologize about the inconveniences that occurred during your stay with the elevators!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    625
    239
    106
    73
See reviews for
1,060
565
59
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Quiet and good location for a fun family vacation. Good beach and near the wonderful Acquarium. We will return and will recommend to friends. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant next door was a good idea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elouise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us! We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I love Best Western but sometimes they charge more money due to holidays and this is unfair doubling the price just because it is a Memorial Day. I have stayed in Best Western Resort at Fort Lauderdale FLorida and it was the best. The price was very reasonable and excellent facility. The breakfast was good. I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mohammad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us! And thank you for serving our country and being a military patron! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Unfortunately Virginia Beach is a very busy tourist destination and in the summer season or with holidays or special event weekends the rates are a bit higher than normal everywhere. Come back and see us again during the off season and the rates are much lower than the normal summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greensboro, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

nothing but good things. best hotel breakfast ever been to..they have waiters. up to date modern clean rooms. nice lobby...parking passes parking garage..STAY HERE! Fitness center indoor pool all clean. they service your room daily. great internet connection. this is my first time there and I loved it. this will be the only hotel I stay at in Virginia beach..make sure you pick the bestwestern plus Sandcastle!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything during your stay! We can't wait to see you guys next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night in May to attend the Jake Owen beach concert. Check in and out was fast and friendly. The hotel is well maintained. The room and bathroom were very clean. The room itself is on the small side as was the bathroom. All the rooms were oceanfront offering a gorgeous view of the beach and the ocean. The hallways were narrow and a little dark. Breakfast was included in the price. The buffet offered standard breakfast fare with continental and hot foods. You could order waffles from the server which are included with the breakfast. My only negative was when I asked Sylvia at the front desk if I could extend my check out one hour till noon. She said no, because housekeeping said that there could be no late check outs that day. I have never heard of housekeeping dictating the rules for a late check out. She did offer me the option of being able to leave my car in the parking lot after check out. I did appreciate that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for the great review about our hotel and our hotel amenities! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! I do apologize about the late check out not being granted but unfortunately on busy/holiday/ or event weekends we do not allow late check outs due to the incoming arrivals coming that day. We don't mind if you stay parked upstairs or use our facilities after check out. I do apologize that our Front Desk clerk did not explain this to you correctly. Come back and see us again next year and I'll be sure to take care of you for that inconvenience that occurred your past stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopersburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Sandcastle while in town for a funeral. The wonderful, caring staff was able to accommodate my every request and need. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was better than I expected, including made to order waffles and pancakes. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us! Under the circumstances of your visit, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff! Our staff goes above and beyond for our hotel guests! Come back and see us next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have never stayed at a Best Western before, and I must say I was very pleased with the hotel. The room was a little small, but it was clean and the bed made for a good night's sleep. The staff was very nice. We rented two rooms and requested that they be side by side plus near the elevator. Both request were taken care of. Thanks for a wonderfule stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 873janetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Your welcome for the wonderful stay! We are happy to hear our staff were able to go above and beyond to satisfy your requests! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing