We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville ky, United States
1 review
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

very good hotel and very clean. staff and service was very nice. great breakfast too. I recommend this very nice hotel. if I decided to go back, this place will be my choice. I hope you all enjoy it when you stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lemrabott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    525
    220
    94
    64
See reviews for
841
482
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel was overall very great. The staff was always helpful and was always making sure the floors were clean every day. There wasn't a problem I could find or a issue that occurred. If I could've, I would've stayed a lot longer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best thing that happened to us when we arrived in Virginia Beach was the Hampton Inn refusing to honor a Hotel Coupon saying, "it was a misprint." Instead, we ventured a couple of blocks down and sought out the Best Western Sandcastle, who did honor their coupon for a four day stay. Check in was easy and when we arrived to our room and saw that we were right in front of the elevator (no, no, no!) they were very accommodating and moved us to another room. The room had a wonderful view of the ocean from the balcony and we were able to see dolphins frolicking in the water early in the mornings. Coming from the mountains of Virginia, this is a huge deal for us. The room was clean and functional with comfortable beds, pillows and a nice sized television that had a good selection of channels. There was also a refrigerator and microwave and a single cup coffee maker. They also have free coffee 24 hours in the lobby which was a nice touch. Although the counter top for the sink was quite small, especially if you have two girls trying to get ready at the same time, we were able to overlook that. On the walls of the bathroom under the shower there are soap and shampoo dispensers. The aloe soap felt good on our skin after a sunburnt day at the beach. We had considered going to another hotel but when we saw the parking lot was outdoors we decided it would be better in the 90+ heat to have our car parked indoors...makes a big difference! There is an inside pool with outdoor chaise lounges. After a couple of hours at the beach it was refreshing to swim indoors. There's also a workout room which faces the ocean. We wanted to use it but we got our workouts swimming and walking down Atlantic Avenue. A hot buffet breakfast comes free of charge and has the usual fare, but they do go through the extra step of asking if you want fresh waffles, pancakes or fried eggs from the kitchen. The most important thing to us was relaxing and we were able to sleep straight through the nights because you could not hear anything between rooms! You know how some hotel's walls are so flimsy you can hear a person sneeze? Not this place. It's location is prime as far as we were concerned as you're right on the edge of the highly-trafficked strip. I wouldn't want to be right in the middle of it. It was just my daughter and I traveling and we felt very safe. Big thumbs up!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Light540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great staff.,great location on the beach, everything under one roof, out the back door sand is right there. I could not find anything to complain about. the service and staff should be complimented. Thank you Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank clarkbar930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Best Western Plus- Sandcastle Beachfront was very affordable and very, very accommodating. Being on the pier and boardwalk made sight seeing easy. The hotel restaurant was very accommodating and made breakfast meals fast. The staff at this hotel was hands down the most kind and professional staff that I've ever dealt with at a hotel. Our house keeper was exceptional.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted friendly and warmly. Even though check-in is not until 3 pm we were able to get to our rooms early. The Hotel Lobby was very bright and inviting. However, the elevator was dark The Hall ways were dark, They could use some serious updating. We booked an oceanfront king room and an oceanview double. Both had great views but were small.
The décor was dark, not very beachy. The refrigerator was a nice size... I liked the free wireless
access and HBO. Breakfast in the morning was just so so. They never changed it up. It would have been nice to have pancakes or waffles one morning. Why not keep bacon on the buffet instead of having to ask for it! It was nice that they served breakfast until 11 am.
The hotel was in a great location right in front of the boardwalk, pier, and beach. Plenty of shops
around the hotel.
The hotel staff was great. They even stored our beach chairs for us so we didn't have to keep taking them upstairs. Upon departure a staff person even helped me load up our car! Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitnessbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Court House, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful view of ocean, boardwalk, & pier. Typical beach room, small. No smoking even on the balcony, that kinda sucks. Refrigerator had one missing leg, that sucked too. Free breakfast didn't look to good, so we passed on that. Overall, my stay would have been better if I made up the rules, and if they had checked things like the broken leg on the refrigerator, for the price ($237.04 per night) I expect everything to be right.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeAnn G, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for recently staying with us! We hope you enjoyed your stay, I do apologize about the inconveniences you occurred while staying here. Unfortunately we are a non smoking property, along with about 80% of the oceanfront. Everything has converted over to Non Smoking hotels/restaurants inside. We do offer smoking ares and receptacles outside of the hotel and in the parking garages. Come back and see us next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing