We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Besides Best Western Plus, we stayed at Best Westerns in, Nashville,Tn., Pigon Forge, Tn., Greenville, N.C., and Myrtle Beach, N.C. We have NO complaints, they were great. The breakfast in the mornings was really good and helped save some money. The pools were great and there was plenty of parking, some had garages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank williambN3228LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,676 - 1,682 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a disappointment. Two years ago we stayed here in the middle of some renovations. It had an awesome breakfast with a chef cooking made-to-order omelets and a wide assortment of delicious breakfast items. It made up for the inconvenience of remodeling. This time the remodeling was finished- looks very nice- but the breakfast was awful. Limp pancakes and pieces of waffles, canned fruit, yogurt in a large spoon out container and a few other tasteless items. The first cup of coffee I got was cold, but to top it off, my husband ordered sweet tea. He took a large sip and began gagging and spitting it out. Someone had put salt in instead of sugar. Our waiter tried it and also spit it out. My husband has high blood pressure, the amount of salt he swallowed was probably more than he has in 1 day. It did cause problems with his blood pressure. You would think the manager would come out to apologize and to compensate us in some way. No, we had to ask to speak to her and all she said was sorry. This was a health issue and was not properly addressed. Told the hotel desk also, but nothing was done. Do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

very good hotel and very clean. staff and service was very nice. great breakfast too. I recommend this very nice hotel. if I decided to go back, this place will be my choice. I hope you all enjoy it when you stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lemrabott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel was overall very great. The staff was always helpful and was always making sure the floors were clean every day. There wasn't a problem I could find or a issue that occurred. If I could've, I would've stayed a lot longer

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Clayton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best thing that happened to us when we arrived in Virginia Beach was the Hampton Inn refusing to honor a Hotel Coupon saying, "it was a misprint." Instead, we ventured a couple of blocks down and sought out the Best Western Sandcastle, who did honor their coupon for a four day stay. Check in was easy and when we arrived to our room and saw that we were right in front of the elevator (no, no, no!) they were very accommodating and moved us to another room. The room had a wonderful view of the ocean from the balcony and we were able to see dolphins frolicking in the water early in the mornings. Coming from the mountains of Virginia, this is a huge deal for us. The room was clean and functional with comfortable beds, pillows and a nice sized television that had a good selection of channels. There was also a refrigerator and microwave and a single cup coffee maker. They also have free coffee 24 hours in the lobby which was a nice touch. Although the counter top for the sink was quite small, especially if you have two girls trying to get ready at the same time, we were able to overlook that. On the walls of the bathroom under the shower there are soap and shampoo dispensers. The aloe soap felt good on our skin after a sunburnt day at the beach. We had considered going to another hotel but when we saw the parking lot was outdoors we decided it would be better in the 90+ heat to have our car parked indoors...makes a big difference! There is an inside pool with outdoor chaise lounges. After a couple of hours at the beach it was refreshing to swim indoors. There's also a workout room which faces the ocean. We wanted to use it but we got our workouts swimming and walking down Atlantic Avenue. A hot buffet breakfast comes free of charge and has the usual fare, but they do go through the extra step of asking if you want fresh waffles, pancakes or fried eggs from the kitchen. The most important thing to us was relaxing and we were able to sleep straight through the nights because you could not hear anything between rooms! You know how some hotel's walls are so flimsy you can hear a person sneeze? Not this place. It's location is prime as far as we were concerned as you're right on the edge of the highly-trafficked strip. I wouldn't want to be right in the middle of it. It was just my daughter and I traveling and we felt very safe. Big thumbs up!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Light540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great staff.,great location on the beach, everything under one roof, out the back door sand is right there. I could not find anything to complain about. the service and staff should be complimented. Thank you Best Western.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank clarkbar930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Best Western Plus- Sandcastle Beachfront was very affordable and very, very accommodating. Being on the pier and boardwalk made sight seeing easy. The hotel restaurant was very accommodating and made breakfast meals fast. The staff at this hotel was hands down the most kind and professional staff that I've ever dealt with at a hotel. Our house keeper was exceptional.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £74 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing