We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised; Expected "meh"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Normally, when we travel (which isn't all that often to begin with), we have to spend a little more because we are a family of 6. We usually need a suite or at least an adjoining room. This time, only 4 of us made the trip, and we had to do a little cost cutting. So we picked the Sandcastle with a double-queen ocean-front room.

As others have said, the rooms are a little on the small side, but we are doing alright navigating around one another just fine. Check-in and parking were easy after a 10-hour drive, and the room was very neatly prepared and clean on check-in. I DID notice that although the air conditioner was maxed out, the room a little on the warm, humid side. I figured it was simply because this is an older hotel that has been renovated and the AC units are NOT central air. The first night's sleep was a little toasty. The next day, the battery in our smoke detector died so it started chirping. I called down to the desk about that and also mentioned the AC. Within 5 minutes, two guys were in our room assessing the situations. We left them as we went to dinner. When we got back, both issues were fixed perfectly and our room was a cool 68 degrees. Needless to say, I was completely shocked at how quick and perfect they resolved the issue, and needless to say again, last night's sleep was awesome.

We are on the 4th floor and enjoying the ocean-front view, the boardwalk, and the close proximity to the pier. Today, I tried the small fitness center rather than running the boardwalk. It is very small, but all the equipment worked well, and I was the only person in there (which was nice).

A lot of people complain about the breakfast buffet. If you've ever eaten cafeteria/buffet style breakfasts, it is fine. It's not like going to Bob Evans, but it's more than fine. Everything tasted a-okay.

I like having a convenience store and gift shop on site, but I always seem to need something. Housekeeping is on the ball, and our room is clean before we come in for lunch every day. Couldn't ask for more.

About the only complaint I have is that the elevators are slllloooooooowwww being an older hotel. If that is the worst I have to complain about then I have nothing to complain about.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mitch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,856 - 1,862 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

First off I've never written a review and am not one to complain, but usually roll with the punches. Our stay was booked last September as they only have one 3 room suite and I wanted to ensure that my family would have plenty of space for ourselves. Travel down from our area was a breeze with no traffic issues so I was in a great mood when we arrived at 4:30 pm and attempted to check in well after the advertised 3:00 check in time. To our dismay the room was still in the process of being cleaned and we were unable to check in and enjoy the beach for the early part of the evening(apparently 7 maids called in sick). The cost for that night alone was in the upper $300's and I feel that for that price the room could at least be ready for our arrival. Well I took it in stride and the manager on duty at that time did offer a 10% discount for the night and to allow us to leave our luggage in their office while we walked the boardwalk. It was almost 5:45 by the time the room was ready, but we made the best of it. The next glitch would have to be that 1 of the 2 elevators mainly designated for the guests was down from our arrival until mid-day Thursday. They did have an additional service elevator which serviced floors 1-7 located to far right of lobby, but this was slow and noisy at best. The other elevator that was working was obviously always overloaded and wait times were some times several minutes. The elevator issue leads into my next complaint. I was using the stairwell located next to the 2 elevators and between 2 of the floors the maintenance team that was working on the elevator had apparently spilled hydraulic fluid on stairwell and did not clean it up and I quite painfully did a side plant on the landing as it was like slipping on ice. I am thankful that it ended up happening to me instead of my wife, or the mom with 2 young children behind us, but regretted it the next day as I had to visit the local ER for intense shoulder pain. The response when I went to tell the front desk about the issue was pathetic at best. I gave them the location and replay of the incident and they said they were sending up someone, which they did but then that person left the area and I went up to check to verify that it was going to be cleaned up. To my surprise there was no employee near location and I stayed there, place a wet floor sign, and guarded the area so that no other guest would potentially fall. My wife in the meantime filled out an incident report. I grabbed a maintenance man and told him he needed to stay and he stated it was oil form elevator repair attempt. I then went back down to front desk and asked to speak to manager. Jason(manager on duty at time) came to greet me and I told him story and told him if I were manager I would want to see the issue as he did not initially seem interested in looking at the scene. I took him to area and he acknowledged how slippery the stairwell was. I must add at no time did they ask if I needed medical attention. To make a long story even longer I went to ER next morning and all appeared to be well, of course besides for this review the hotel or Jason would not know because the management team never followed up on incident to check on my condition. On the flipside Edith and her housekeeping team were excellent in their performance and I hope their working conditions improve. Tamara(8 yrs hotel experience) and Alivia(2 weeks of hotel experience) were both great and accommodating whenever I interacted with them and should be commended on their performance. The entire front desk crew was helpful especially when I had to get my room key reset numerous times. The pool and breakfast buffet were nice as in past years. The biggest concern would be the "Management" and their either lack of knowledge or caring attitude. You need to take into account that there are many families that save all year and spend a lot of money to stay at your hotel and you need to step up and realize you are in the "hospitality" business and appreciate that these people chose to stay with you, don't take for granted what you have and remember people are paying for a vacation and not wasting time waiting on elevators, room cleaning, and tending to injuries obtained through negligence on your part. For those who have stayed this long through my review I Thank You as you and your family deserve a better vacation stay then this hotel. I am sure that the Management will get better and I hope they do as there are many great people that come to work everyday and put their best foot forward just trying to earn a living and help the traveler. If anyone has any further questions please feel free to ask through site as I am more than willing to make your vacation more enjoyable than mine was,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank John2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Went to Virginia Beach on family vacation. We were quite impressed with the staff, and room. Room overlooked the beach, and pier; balcony was great for the breeze too. Only issue was the 1 elevator was broken and was for our stay. That is only negative thing!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank robertsF2313JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel the night before arriving. We were not sure what to expect. Upon arrival there were six employees behind the front desk four of which were brand-new. Check-in took a little while and I was sort of hesitant because they had no idea what they were doing. We were on the ninth floor (the top floor) which was very very dark in the hallway. The room was clean, modern decor and the view was great. The water pressure not so great. All in all it was a nice hotel and affordable for planning a super quick trip. Breakfast buffet is included at the Pier 14 and it was good as well as free parking at the hotel. I would come back again as long as BOTH elevators are in operation. That might be the only downfall of this hotel. And reading from prior comments this seems to occur often. Oh, and the manager of housekeeping, (I did not catch her name) was AWESOME and very hospitable! She apologized to us for having to use the service elevator. She was Super friendly and welcomed us back for years to come.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Terrible experience, reservations mess up (price) AC didn't work and was never fixed, didn't even offer another room, Halls smelled and were dirty. After over charging (my business partner paid 50.00 less per night) at check out they changed the rate (up) again and had to argue for that. At reservation time they charged both night on my CC. Bed WORN OUT, broken down and lumpy. Worst hotel experience yet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staff worked hard to keep the lobby and elevators clean, which is a tough job in a beachfront hotel. Juice and coffee in the lobby was great. Rooms are smaller, but the balcony makes up for it. Sink space is way too small. Proximity to the beach was ideal and you couldn't hear any noise from the boardwalk at night. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Make sure you book oceanfront not ocean view. Rooms away from the elevator are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jillian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family and I had an awesome time at the hotel all of our needs were met, We loved the breakfast great service and variety, swimming pool great view you don;t feel boxed in and such a great place to relax. The gym great view over looking the beach. Management and staff made sure we had a great hotel and beach experience. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank 31helenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £63 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing