We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed the last week of July and had a really good time.
The hotel was very clean, which I am very particular about.
The cleaning staff were very nice and friendly.
We were pleasantly surprised with the free breakfast - plenty to eat - enough to hold us over until dinner without having to leave the beach to eat lunch !! Loved that !
Great location. We stayed on the 9th floor. Great view.
My only complaint would be the water pressure. It was horrible.
My friends were on the 4th floor, however, and they said the water pressure was great ??!!

Room Tip: 9th floor - great view - bad water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 538Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I am so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Best Western Sandcastle in Virginia Beach. The breakfast is pretty awesome and it will certainly fill you up. Thank you for your comments about the water pressure. I will be addressing this situation with my engineering team to see what we can do to increase the pressure. I hope you'll come back again soon to stay with us again.

Best,

Jason C.
General Manager
Best Western Sandcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    525
    220
    94
    64
See reviews for
840
481
52
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Enjoyable stay. Very friendly, helpful staff and clean rooms. Portia and Patrick we great in assisting us at the last minute. They deserve a raise for going over and above the call of duty. :-) The only downfall is the breakfast buffet, it was never adequately stocked and didn't seem to have enough staff to accommodate the amount of guests in mid July!

The Norris Family

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorrisFam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Patrick and Portia are two of my super-stars and I am glad that they were able to assist you. We hope that you can return for a visit very soon. If I can be of assistance regarding future reservations, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 757-428-2828.

Best Regards,

Jason C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenera, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I know you pay extra to have an oceanfront room, but I felt that this hotel was kinda pricey for what you get. The room was very nice and suited us well, but the bathroom was kind of cramped and the furniture seemed a little overbearing for the room size. Everything was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much, but after having been there, I would probably stay somewhere a little cheaper, the walk to the beach wouldn't be far.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your thoughts about The Best Western Sandcastle Hotel in Virginia Beach, VA. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your thoughts and concerns regarding the furniture in the room. We would love to have you back again and if your plans do bring you back to beach, please call me directly so that I may assist with your reservations.

Best Regards,

Jason C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Haven, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice People, Great Location but was not floored by stay. Had a Very Nice Vacation, the area is to die for the Hotel was average. Housekeeping was lacking, Check in could have been better if they would have said No early check ins up front. Front Desk was busy to be fair but when told to check back to see if room is ready (which I did 4 times throughout the day) and no room was until check in time. They did let us park our car in the parking deck early which was convenient. I would stay here again it is a Good Hotel just not a wow hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We take all of our reviews very seriously and use them to make needed corrections. I will be looking into some of the issues you came across during your stay and will make a point to address all of them. Please come back soon so that we can make your stay more enjoyable.

Best Regards,

Jason C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This year we decided to upgrade our hotel stay and chose BW Plus Sandcastle and we made a great choice. Loved Alivia at front desk, she checked us in and out. A few day before we arrived, I called to see if we could get early check-in, we could use facilities but rooms weren't usually ready until check-in time. We arrived 2 1/2 hrs early, check in so smooth and quick AND our room was ready! The lobby and outside of hotel is super cool, colorful and modern, rooms were too. Parking, hotel location, and the fact that it has the little store in the lobby was so convenient... those WERE huge bonuses! Also the family that runs the store were so nice and accommodating. (we bought out their supply of a particular beer and they made sure they had it for us everyday) Clean! Extra towels anytime! Staff always speaks when they see you! Beds were nice, but not used to the fluffy pillows, maybe too fluffy? Couldn't get a comfy head.
Only downfall... restaurant. One reason we picked this hotel was free breakfast, which we took advantage of every morning, food was decent, restaurant didn't fit in the hotel though. It was outdated and a little dirty... the floor, dishes, silverware.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, we requested a high floor. We got floor 7, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcoolwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your truly kind words. Alivia is most certainly an asset to our business. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to having you back soon.

Best,

Jason C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This year we decided to upgrade our hotel stay and chose BW Plus Sandcastle and we made a great choice. Loved Alivia at front desk, she checked us in and out. A few day before we arrived, I called to see if we could get early check-in, we could use facilities but rooms weren't usually ready until check-in time. We arrived 2 1/2 hrs early, check in so smooth and quick AND our room was ready! The lobby and outside of hotel is super cool, colorful and modern, rooms were too. Parking, hotel location, and the fact that it has the little store in the lobby was so convenient... those WERE huge bonuses! Also the family that runs the store were so nice and accommodating. (we bought out their supply of a particular beer and they made sure they had it for us everyday) Clean! Extra towels anytime! Staff always speaks when they see you! Beds were nice, but not used to the fluffy pillows, maybe too fluffy? Couldn't get a comfy head. Only downfall... restaurant. One reason we picked this hotel was free breakfast, which we took advantage of every morning, food was decent, restaurant didn't fit in the hotel though. It was outdated and a little dirty... the floor, dishes, silverware.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Derek And Krist... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Fantastic. I'm so glad that you had a blast. Please come back and see us soon and call me directly so that I may personally assist you with your reservations.

Best Regards,

Jason C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great hotel!! Right on the beach, everyone friendly!! Clean!! Will stay again, and again!! The hotel was fantasic, right on the beach, you must be on the th floor or above to take in the ocean and all of its beauty. Excellent food for breakfast, the location to shopping and things to do is right in the heart almost!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank kima676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I am so glad that you had an excellent time while you stayed with us. The hotel is a very beautiful place to stay and the amenities we offer seem to make all our guests happy. We strive very hard on a daily basis to offer our guests superior customer service, it's what we love to do. We hope that you will be returning very soon. Please feel free to contact me directly when you are ready to make future reservations.

Best,

Jason C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Address: 1307 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel located directly on the world famous Virginia Beach boardwalk. Our guest will enjoy world class service, easy access to the beach, and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel offers several types of accommodations to choose from. We offer you amazing views from 146 rooms with private balconies, two queen beds, or one king bed. All of our rooms offer you microwave and refrigerator, while our suites will provide you with a kitchenette. No matter how you must stay connected we offer free local calls, long distance access, and wireless high speed internet access. In addition, we have an on-site fitness center that overlooks the beach, on site laundry facilities, and complimentary business center. We are happy to provide you with conference rooms and meeting space for up to 150 people is perfect for your personal or professional functions. The Virginia Beach oceanfront is host to some of the best festivals and events you will find on the east coast such as; American Music Festival, Patriotic Festival, East Coast Surfing Championship, Neptune Festival, North American Sand Soccer Championship and the Boardwalk Art Show. Other nearby attractions includes Naval Air Station Oceana, Fort Story, Damn Neck Naval Base, Cape Henry Light House, Virginia Aquarium and Marine Museum, Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, and Ruddee Inlet.After spending the day enjoying Virginia Beach or working come back and enjoy the comfortable and spacious lobby or enjoy a great dinner at Pier 14. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Sandcastle Resort Va Beach
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing