We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the price”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for the price”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Very nice, friendly service and wonderful view right on the beach! Great cozy hotel. I stay here every time I am in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicwol27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    199
    78
    28
    19
See reviews for
187
163
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Where do I begin. We arrived at the hotel promptly on time to check into our room for a mini-vacation and the first room that we went into was filthy. The smell was awful. The windows were cloudy from dirt, the floor look as though it had not been cleaned. There was grime in corners, on tables, alarm clock, tv, etc. I began to spray the room down and proceeded into the bathroom. There was what appeared to be feces on the toilet. We went down stairs and advised the staff and was moved into another room. The second room was no better (minus the feces on the toilet). We came into the room from dinner and it was chilly so we turned on the heater and a small bug crawled out and back into the thermostat). We stayed the first night and both woke up with sore backs. The beds and pillows are the worst ever and obviously the cheapest they could find. We couldn't exchange the bed so we asked for more pillows. When we went to take a shower, there was no hot water available. We called the front desk and they advised that they would call maintenance to fix it. We also asked about fitness facililities and was advised that we would have to travel to the YMCA somewhere and use it. The is most inconventient. The second evening we came in from dinner and I went into the bathroom and there was another one of those little bugs crawling in there. (they appeared to us on view to be baby roaches). We went downstairs and advised the person at the front desk and asked if there was a problem with bugs in this hotel. The response: "No there isn't. I am sorry. I can send you up there with a can of raid or give you a new room if you like. She also advised that she would tell the management to see what they can "do for us". Now my question is..... why do you have raid immediately available to guests to take up to their rooms if there is no bug problems in the hotel??????????????? The staff at the front desk was friendly (outside of the little white lie we were told about the bugs). The cleaning staff on our floor was very loud and screaming through the halls about not wanting to be at work and someone could just send them home...they want to go home. Whoever the management/owners of this establishment are...they need to take a step back and get it together. If you are going to advertise yourself as a great oceanfront hotel, then you need to step it up! I do not come on vacation to have to deal with this kind of foolishness from a hotel that we are paying for! I will never stay here again nor will I recommend if for my family vacation now!!!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank dani37Greensboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
The following response is respectfully submitted. We encourage guest feedback and anytime a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable for any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us at The Oceanfront Inn, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our top priority. Regarding the bug report, our ownership and management has taken this very seriously. If there is a serious concern with a room, the guest always has the option of moving to a different room so that management can take necessary action to correct the situation and if necessary take the room off-line until the room is suitable for occupancy. Our front office staff member had good intentions by making the best suggestion immediately available. Our ownership invests in our property every year with improvements and upgrades. In addition to our regular deep cleaning procedures, our renovations for this year include new wallpaper in rooms, new and freshly painted ceilings, new bedspreads, upgraded pillows, and flat-screen televisions. Regarding our staffs’ noise level in the hallways, our management has used this feedback as a lesson to our staff to be quiet and respectful of maintaining guests’ peaceful surroundings while on duty in the hallways. Regarding the dissatisfaction with the convenience of the YMCA, while the YMCA is a short 2 mile drive away it is a very nice facility compared to the typical hotel fitness room with limited equipment. Our management did everything in our power to satisfy this guest and make it right for them. We do strive daily to offer great value and service to each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

this hotel was nice all the way down to the heated indoor pool but once we started seeing roaches crawling the walls every where, and roach eggs all over the floor & air/heat unit, we quickly decided to change our mind! If it hadn't been so late at night & our 6 yr old was sleeping, we would have left! But b/c of that, we requested a new room sev floors up from that one.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
The following response is respectfully submitted. We encourage guest feedback and anytime a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable for any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us at The Oceanfront Inn, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our top priority. Regarding the bug report, while this is an isolated occurrence, this incident was taken seriously by the staff and management. If there is a serious concern with a room, the guest has the option of moving to a different room so that management can take necessary action to correct the situation and if necessary take the room off-line until the room is suitable for occupancy. As commented, we have a relaxing indoor pool. We do strive to offer great value and service to each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

My wife and I and 50 other AARP members from Latrobe, PA, traveled on a tour to Va. Beach. Our tour began Dec. 3 and we arrived at Oceanfront Inn about 3:30. Our rooms were already and our luggage was conveniently delivered to them. After a delicious dinner at the Inn's dining room we returned to the bus for a trip up the boardwalk to view the Christmas lights...about 2 miles of them on the beach and on the lawns in front of the various paticipating hotels. We had another side trip before returning to the Oceanfront Inn for the evening. The next two mornings we had breakfast in the afore mentioned dining room and the service was great. The last morning the hotel staff delivered our luggage to the awaiting bus and we were on our way to our last stop at Colonial Williamsburg before heading home.
I heard of no complaints and may return the Oceanfront Inn on my next visit to Va. Beach.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruckersville, Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Staff was incredibly friendly. The pool was warm & comfortable. The room was clean and quiet. Couldn't have been a better stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjsmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I've stayed at the Oceanfront Inn for 8 summers now with friends, and am always pleased with the room, friendly service and closeness everything, including the trolley that travels a large part of the beach ... and of course the beautiful OCEAN VIEW!! Free parking and internet service are also appreciated. One of the nicest features is a 15% discount automatically given to all returning guests.They also offer great off-season packages and deals via email. With vacations being more of a luxury in this economy, the Oceanfront Inn is a real deal... already planning my 2011 trip!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Nice clean friendly value, would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing