We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some attention to detail; but we'll stay there again.”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Needs some attention to detail; but we'll stay there again.”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We've looked this hotel over a few times when we've eaten in the restaurant attached to it. The pool always looked particularly enticing---and it's truly a nice pool.
Our only complaints related to the cleaning staff's lack of attention to some of the smaller things. When we checked in, there was an empty box to a Kindle Fire stuffed between one of the beds and the night stand...how did they miss that? There was also a pretty decent layer of dust on the bed frames and some other "fine points" that should have been attended to. We left it for the cleaners, along with a note, rather than report it to the desk. We hoped that might make them a bit more attentive; but it didn't happen--the dust remained.
The desk staff was always pleasant and gave us a late checkout time the day we left; they also let us leave the car in the lot for the rests of the day while we wandered the beach area.
The pool is brightly lit and clean--except for some variety of bug that seemed to be everywhere in town--including the pool. Someone must have been skimming the pool for them regularly, but left a pile of dead bugs in an obvious place. It was unsightly, but I can live with that.
All in all, a pleasant place and well worth the money, that with a bit of attention would be an exceptional value.

Room Tip: They're all ocean view...probably there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillP1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to provide your constructive feedback. Your comments have been shared with our staff and your concerns will be addressed to better assure attention to detail. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    195
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
181
157
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Good price, clean, great location on beach. Did a Winter Wildlife package for whale watching and visitin the aquarium. Tickets for our requested time were there when we checked in and all went smoothly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your positive comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After a rather extravagant week in Williamsburg, my husband and I were looking for an inexpensive, clean room on Virginia Beach with an ocean view before catching our flight out of Richmond two days hence.
I saw the Oceanfront Inn was having a special of $54.00 a night. Bingo! We're off! After not seeing the ocean in awhile, we just wanted to be able to gaze at the sea, have a glass of wine and not stick to the carpet! All roooms have an ocean view and face the large boardwalk.
The only negative is that the hallways were somewhat suggestive of a penitentiary...making the room a nice surprise when first walking in!
No pillowtop mattresses here, but the king-sized bed was fine for two nights. Bring your own pillow if you can.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront and have wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginnymom911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. Your feedback has been shared with our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howlett Hill, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

great location,Great price, had a good time besides the fact it was raining, hotel was clean, balcony view of ocean was priceless, will stay @ the oceanfront inn again when traveling to VB area, also the staff were so nice accommodating me and my wife on our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your positive feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We always pick the Oceanfront Inn when we make a quick trip to va beach. It's very clean, staff is nice, and its a great deal. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyoffourVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

this was a last minute stop, Virginia beach waterfront hotel. Nice people...clean room. decent price. the boardwalk was a great thing to do in the evening, and there was music on the beach in the evening.

Room Tip: get a beach side room. lovely ocean sound and view, day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After being diverted from the Outer Banks due to hurricane Irene, we headed to Virginia Beach. Not wanting to spend alot of money, we stopped at 12 hotels on Oceanfront. This hotel was the least expensive. Location and room were great for the price. Would go again. We did not eat in the hotel. so cannot rate food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marycairns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing