We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We would stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our in-laws visit Virginia Beach every summer and have stayed at the Oceanfront Inn for the past few years. We decided to visit this past July and the rates were cheaper than some of the surrounding hotels. The hotel is average but it is in a prime location. The lobby was small but the staff was friendly and helpful. Parking can be difficult if the lot is full but I was lucky to get a spot in the main lot. There is a small parking garage right across the street for overflow. The lobby is small and elevators are old but they do the job. There is an indoor pool but located on the Atlantic Ave side...would have loved it if it were outdoor or located on the beach side.

The rooms were average...most have balconies with amazing views of the beach, ocean and boardwalk. The rooms have small bathrooms, comfy beds, great air conditioning, a flat-screen tv, refrigerator and microwave along with an open closet, set of drawers, desk/chair and arm chair. There are sliding glass doors that open to the balcony where you will find two chairs and enough railing space to hang your wet towels.

There is one restaurant on site with indoor and partial outdoor seating. The outdoor area is covered but when the weather is good the walls have huge openings for views of the boardwalk and beach. We had drinks one evening and they were good and reasonably priced. Another evening we had the buffet which included some american food, lots of seafood, sushi and crab legs. The food was good but the buffet was a little pricey if you don't love seafood.

There isn't a gift shop on site, but there were two conveniently located across the street. Plus there are tons of options along Atlantic Ave for anything you may need including food, beer, wine, etc... Across the street on Pacific Ave there was a place, Murphy's Pub. Such a convenient location and great place for some drinks at the end of the night.

Back to location...great for beach access. If you are in the main lot, leave your umbrellas, chairs, etc... in the car. So much easier than bringing everything to the room. On the side of the lot, there is a walkway right down to the beach. We'd bring our stuff down in the morning and return it to the car when we were done at the beach. The hotel is just a quick walk up from the beach so restroom access is convenient...just don't forget your room key...you need it to access the bathroom. The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, but there is also a stop right outside the hotel for the bus that runs up and down Atlantic Avenue.

The only downfall was the rooms are not very soundproof. We had many families on our floor and you could hear a lot of noise. Granted...not the hotels fault (I blame the guests for their lack of common courtesy) but could be irritating if you have rowdy guests near you.

Overall, we would stay at the Oceanfront Inn if we visited Virginia Beach again. The price was right and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies...make sure to reserve one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristine_LongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your constructive comments. Our rooms do include a refrigerator, coffee-maker, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, flat-screen television and a private balcony overlooking the boardwalk and beautiful ocean. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    190
    75
    26
    17
See reviews for
175
152
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

It wasn't outstanding but then we didn't pay for outstanding. Virginia Beach hotels are so expensive we decided to give the Oceanfront a try. The rooms were small but adequate for family of 4 (with a cot). The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. The cot was actually firmer so I slept on it...if you have a bad back I recommend you pay the 10 bucks for the cot as the beds were too springy for me. They have a wooden walkway out to the beach (extends from boardwalk) and that was very helpful for my wife who suffers from RA.

Room Tip: ice machine on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your constructive comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

No major complaints. Hotel was what I expected. Clean, good location, Inexpensive, Front desk staff were friendly.The pool area was nice. The restaurant was an added plus, being right down stairs. Parking was a little complicated due to being full. But we managed. The hotel may not be a four or five star, but it was just right for the price.

Room Tip: The higher floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ImaTraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just stayed here last week and I think this hotel has good quailities but bad ones too. First impression is very good its centrally located and has a nice outer look. The lobby is very nice and the pool area is top quality. The front desk staff gets you in very quick and easy. The restaurant is also very good we had lunch a couple times and everything was just fine. However, and this is where the hotel management really needs to take a look at. The housekeeping sucks. The toilet was old and didnt look as if it had been cleaned at all from the previous vistors. There was stains inside and out. Also, I know this hotel is on the beach and with kids its easy to drag in sand but that doesnt mean i should arrive to see sand all over the bathroom floor. The table in my room had food stuck to the side of it which looked as if it were there for a long time. There was dust all over the television. Once when leaving my room i passed a room where i could see the cleaning staff just lounging around in the chair and bed. They would also yell at each other from one end of the hallway to the other. Lets face it your housekeeping staff are lazy and unprofessional. If you would just fix this one major flaw you could charge somewhere near what the holiday inn charge. Maybe a little updating of the furniture and carpet couldnt hurt either. dont get me wrong its not the worst place and maybe im just being picky but this place could be so much better with little fixes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stanley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. We encourage guest feedback and if a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable for any reason it becomes a top concern, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our top priority. Our management has taken this very seriously and has addressed your concerns with staff as needed. We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction. Our ownership invests in our property every year with improvements and upgrades. Our renovations in the last year included new wallpaper in rooms, new and freshly painted ceilings, new bedspreads, upgraded pillows, and flat-screen televisions in addition to the lobby being updated. Your feedback will be taken into consideration for future improvements. We do strive to offer great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel was very inexpensive and the best value for location. However with that being said this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at( very dirty). It was not just one thing that made it "dirty" it was multiple things. The shower had mold in it, the toilet seat was broke, the balcony door was broke and the room had this horrible odor. This is just a few things. My advise would be to spend some extra money and stay somewhere that is more sanitary.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kripods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. Our management has taken this very seriously and has addressed your concerns as needed. We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction. If there is a serious concern with a room, a guest has the option of moving to a different room so management can take necessary action to correct the situation and if necessary take the room out of inventory until the room is suitable for occupancy. We do strive to offer great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a wonderful few days at the Oceanfront Inn. The staff, all around, were courteous and professional. One night our car was towed because we had forgotten to put the car ID in the window and the staff took care of the problem, even though the problem had been caused by me. The hotel is conveniently located and the beach is very accessible. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but it was fairly priced and very good. Our room was very clean and we had a great balcony and view of the beach. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at the Oceanfront Inn sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your positive comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Oceanfront Inn during the last week of June 2012. The location was great. The hotel is two down from Neptune Park, where there is live music most evenings. All rooms are oceanfront, the staff are friendly, and the price was reasonable compared to other oceanfront hotels in VB. The entire hotel is no smoking and no pets and was very quiet, which we like. Areas that could be improved include the following: the bed was located directly beside the A/C unit which blew cold air right on me all night. The hotel must not have many luggage carts because we had to wait quite a long time to get one when we were trying to check out. Our greatest complaint would be the quality of the pillows--they had to be the worst pillows we've ever slept on in our lives. In fact, we were unable to get a good night's sleep during our trip because of the physical discomfort. Waking up with a neck ache is not something I want on vacation.
We will probably try a different hotel next time. If other places were booked, we'd consider this hotel again. But we'd bring our own pillows.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImmaBeGoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post your review and share your comments. Your constructive feedback is appreciated and will be considered for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing