We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe it's because I'm use to the Hilton?”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I purchased the New Year's package with this facility which included bar crawl, dinner @Crocs Restaurant, and New Year's bash later that evening @Crocs Restaurant. All events were just what the night called for, but the hotel accommodations were less than par! It was out dated and brought down the feeling of the whole night. A better place to lay my head would have topped my night off. If your just trying to be lazy and need a room on the beach with a good view.....The Oceanfront Inn is your spot!

Room Tip: Higher floors.....the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

As other reviewers have said, the rooms are a little outdated but very comfortable and clean. The pool was clean and very warm- an earlier review said the pool was saltwater but it was definitely HEAVILY chlorinated during my stay in December 2013. A little awkward to get from the pool to the elevators so bring sandals and a cover-up even if you're staying in the winter because traipsing through the nice lobby in your dripping swimsuit is less than ideal. The view from the balcony was gorgeous, especially during the Holiday Lights At the Beach display, which the hotel gave us a free ticket for! Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, and overall a very pleasant experience. The location can't be beat, it's right in the middle of everything on the strip. We would definitely stay again especially for the winter deal (~$60 a night!).

Room Tip: Rooms through x22 on each floor have ocean front views. rooms x23-25 have balconies that overlook a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supergirlieque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After reading the reviews on here, we were nervous about staying at The Oceanfront Inn. For about $50 a night it wasn't to bad. The rooms were outdated but comfy. The private balcony was nice and the views were spectacular. We couldn't get the refrigerator to work but that was because it was unplugged. It must be part of their Green Initiative. Checking in/out was a breeze and the staff was very nice. The pool is saltwater. It was a comfortable temperature. The hotel could use some remodeling and such but for the price we paid it was well worth it! We also received a ticket to the Holiday Lights attraction. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: We always ask for the highest floor possible for the views. Check to see if the refrigerator is pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F1nsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Positives price, easy parking, friendly staff, locations to newer shops. Negatives no microwave, an odd smell slightly of mold, resturaunt was rented for wedding reception and could hear music thumping until bedtime. I frequent Va beach and LOVE coming and trying different hotels...it is beyond me why not EVERY hotel takes special care to clean the sliding door? The first thing I look at is the ocean and it makes such an impression with a clean door...unfortunately this hotel room didnt . It is a very decent hotel, I think the odor was just a bit off-putting. It also seemed very safe, nice hallway enclosures which keeps out sound of traffic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulWPHOTOandDESIGNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Thank you Oceanfront Inn for your attention to those in wheelchairs. With so many Wounded Warriors, some of our elderly and others who find themselves physically challenged, Oceanfront Inn has bathrooms that are well-done for the handicapped. Virginia Beach should be proud of this hotel that is fairly priced, friendly, clean and strategically located on the Boardwalk. I've paid five times more and received ten times less than our stay at Oceanfront Inn. Three soft negatives: The mattresses are not "Hilton" quality, the sliding door to the veranda is very difficult to pull open and no microwaves. The Neptune Restaurant below is excellent and (hooray!!) does provide room service. We'll return to this Hotel again and avoid those costly Vacation Condo Rentals with their weak attempts at understanding the term Handicap Accessible.

Room Tip: Ask for room 524 for a true Handicap Accessible bathroom. Lovely view of ocean. Slight "hiccup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daffodilsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We've been coming here for 10 yrs..usually in the spring and again in late summer..rates are quite reasonable compared to other overpriced oceanfront hotels..its not the Hilton but it is clean,comfortable and in a great location..onsite restaurant is good too.

Room Tip: all rooms face ocean,we like to be on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Easy, quick,and friendly check in. Great stay. Staff was knowledgeable in current events and helpful with directions since my GPS stopped working on the trip here. I look forward to making this my annual black Friday weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,045 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#78 of 109 in Virginia Beach
514 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £48 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing