We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

When we first booked this hotel it looked great! Right near the ocean, and having guaranteed view. But it quickly lost stars in our book as soon as we turned the corner and saw our "4 star hotel".
-The people at the desk were very rude, didn't even acknowledge us walking in to check in, then didn't try to keep the conversation going with us.
-It is a lot smaller than the picture shows
-The elevator was very dirty and smelled
-There was hair in the bathtub and on the walls
-People were running down the halls yelling at night
-The hallway smelled like weed, when it was clearly stated it was all non-smoking
-The heat didn't work and we shivered all night
-The fridge also didn't work and our food spoiled and had to be thrown away.
-You could see under the door into the hallway and there was only one lock not 2 like most hotels, this made us not feel safe.
-The blinds didn't fully shut
-Low ceilings
-No warm blankets

Honestly the only thing going for this hotel is the view of the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldlytraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    190
    75
    26
    17
See reviews for
175
152
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte Hall, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a Handicapped room on the third floor. Two cleanliness issues disgusted us. The bathroom floor was filthy, what looked like feces and urine on the floor around the toilet. The draperies were covered in a thick layer of dust! The shower control knob fell off when turned on. Ugly. Too bad for an otherwise good value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank onthepatuxent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I purchased the New Year's package with this facility which included bar crawl, dinner @Crocs Restaurant, and New Year's bash later that evening @Crocs Restaurant. All events were just what the night called for, but the hotel accommodations were less than par! It was out dated and brought down the feeling of the whole night. A better place to lay my head would have topped my night off. If your just trying to be lazy and need a room on the beach with a good view.....The Oceanfront Inn is your spot!

Room Tip: Higher floors.....the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

As other reviewers have said, the rooms are a little outdated but very comfortable and clean. The pool was clean and very warm- an earlier review said the pool was saltwater but it was definitely HEAVILY chlorinated during my stay in December 2013. A little awkward to get from the pool to the elevators so bring sandals and a cover-up even if you're staying in the winter because traipsing through the nice lobby in your dripping swimsuit is less than ideal. The view from the balcony was gorgeous, especially during the Holiday Lights At the Beach display, which the hotel gave us a free ticket for! Friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, and overall a very pleasant experience. The location can't be beat, it's right in the middle of everything on the strip. We would definitely stay again especially for the winter deal (~$60 a night!).

Room Tip: Rooms through x22 on each floor have ocean front views. rooms x23-25 have balconies that overlook a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supergirlieque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

After reading the reviews on here, we were nervous about staying at The Oceanfront Inn. For about $50 a night it wasn't to bad. The rooms were outdated but comfy. The private balcony was nice and the views were spectacular. We couldn't get the refrigerator to work but that was because it was unplugged. It must be part of their Green Initiative. Checking in/out was a breeze and the staff was very nice. The pool is saltwater. It was a comfortable temperature. The hotel could use some remodeling and such but for the price we paid it was well worth it! We also received a ticket to the Holiday Lights attraction. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: We always ask for the highest floor possible for the views. Check to see if the refrigerator is pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F1nsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Positives price, easy parking, friendly staff, locations to newer shops. Negatives no microwave, an odd smell slightly of mold, resturaunt was rented for wedding reception and could hear music thumping until bedtime. I frequent Va beach and LOVE coming and trying different hotels...it is beyond me why not EVERY hotel takes special care to clean the sliding door? The first thing I look at is the ocean and it makes such an impression with a clean door...unfortunately this hotel room didnt . It is a very decent hotel, I think the odor was just a bit off-putting. It also seemed very safe, nice hallway enclosures which keeps out sound of traffic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulWPHOTOandDESIGNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Thank you Oceanfront Inn for your attention to those in wheelchairs. With so many Wounded Warriors, some of our elderly and others who find themselves physically challenged, Oceanfront Inn has bathrooms that are well-done for the handicapped. Virginia Beach should be proud of this hotel that is fairly priced, friendly, clean and strategically located on the Boardwalk. I've paid five times more and received ten times less than our stay at Oceanfront Inn. Three soft negatives: The mattresses are not "Hilton" quality, the sliding door to the veranda is very difficult to pull open and no microwaves. The Neptune Restaurant below is excellent and (hooray!!) does provide room service. We'll return to this Hotel again and avoid those costly Vacation Condo Rentals with their weak attempts at understanding the term Handicap Accessible.

Room Tip: Ask for room 524 for a true Handicap Accessible bathroom. Lovely view of ocean. Slight "hiccup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daffodilsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Virginia Beach
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing