We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and friendly staff”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Excellent location and friendly staff! All rooms over look the ocean, and I recommend getting the package that includes breakfast from the Neptune located right in the Ocean Front Inn. It's not buffet style, it is fresh and made to order, I really enjoyed breakfast overlooking the beach, it was the perfect start to each day! I'll admit that rooms are a little outdated, but they are very clean. The maids make sure to re-stock the towels, vacuum, make the beds and clean the bathrooms each day while we were out enjoying the beach! I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a convenient, cheap and clean place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmberNorthrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    196
    77
    28
    19
See reviews for
182
161
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There was sticky dust everywhere in the rooms. My hair stuck to the headboard!! Gross. Bathroom had sand all over the floor, but it was just cleaned?? Room smelled when we first walked in. Just disgusting, the cleaning staff needs to actually clean instead of listen to their ipads in the hallway. The front desk didn't speak to us unless we stood there for a couple minutes, and I felt like we were imposing on all of them. The "free" wi-fi is in the lobby where everyone can watch you and the indoor pool was gross. The restaurant smelled so bad I gagged when I walked in and you couldn't understand the waiters because of their accents and mumbling of words. And the shower never had a consistent temperature. It was like any time someone else turned their water on I got a shot of ice cold water. It was terrible. The view was very nice of the beach, they picked a good location for that and it was in walking distance of almost everything to do at Virginia Beach. But I will never stay in that hotel again it was so gross!

Room Tip: Take cleaning supplies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Oceanfront Inn in Virginia Beach, VA. The hotel staff were great but the room was dated (with rust evident in portions of the bathroom) but the worst part were the pillows. Overstuffed with foam cubes - great for sitting up in bed to watch TV (which we didn't do - we were at the beach!) but terrible to try to sleep on. My neck was bent 4 inches up from the bed. Our 2nd night, I took my sweatshirt and balled it up to make a "pillow". I slept much better.

Room Tip: all rooms are oceanfront which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirvanafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel! The place was clean and easy to find, there was plenty of parking, the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, the pool was nice, easy beach access, great view from the balcony.... it goes on and on. Plus all of the rooms had a recycle bin which I thought was really cool! There is an ocean side restaurant but we didn't have a chance to check it out. Wish we could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank styxfanerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel needs some serious upgrades/tlc. I wore my shoes the entire time when walking inside the hotel room. Also the bathroom was disgusting, upon arriving there was someone else's long hairs on a washcloth. See pictures attached for crud, rust, paint chipping. This hotel is in desperate need of serious elbow grease for me to ever stay again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank DSC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here again for two nights during Spring Break. There was a surprise cold front, but we made the best of it. The price for the hotel is awesome for oceanfront at the beach. We asked for a room change from 2 double to a king. The desk attendant quickly took care of it for us. The pool could be a little bit warmer, but like I said, the cold front was a surprise. Bathrooms are a little bit cramped.

Room Tip: We always ask for the highest floor possible and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1nsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here for like the past eight years and its always been great. Last year we made the mistake of trying something new, the Breakers, big mistake! Called The Oceanfront Inn after checking in to the mistake and asked for our "usual" room. It was available and cheaper than usual! Great place and nice staff! Tip: ask for the room on the top floor, there are only two but they are great, private sundeck, and awesome views!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,013 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing