We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, very average, very tired hotel.”
Review of The Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
cleveland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Not Great, very average, very tired hotel.”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

August stay with family. Room photos will be uploaded to validate my comments.
The bad: Cramped bathroom. Broken outlets, worn carpet, peeled wallpaper, grime and crud in every corner, sticky dirty tables, over-chlorinated pool, mold spots on ceiling (from floor above bathroom floods no doubt). No microwaves in hotel. Internet WiFi poor signal, horrible bandwidth, no hardwired connection. About 20 TV channels, one HBO. Even though they had armed police/security roving the parking lots, one vehicle was broken into parked right against the sidewalk in plain view of front desk. Not hotels fault. Keep anything worth stealing out of vehicle. Don't leave empty GPS mounts in plain view.

Its a shame that only a good detail cleaning or cosmetic makeover in the rooms would make this a really nice place.

The good: Reasonable price for beach front balconies throughout. Hotel responded to service requests immediately. Parking OK, with additional parking across street in open lot and also dedicated 4 floor garage (no elevator). Plenty elevators in hotel. Quiet rooms. Fridge was cold. Only one night stay is charged at booking, with a reasonable cancellation policy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvintm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OFIManagement, Manager at The Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
The following response is respectfully submitted. We encourage guest feedback and anytime a guest is not satisfied or not comfortable for any reason it becomes a top concern for all of us at The Oceanfront Inn, as guest satisfaction and comfort remain our top priority. Our management does invest in making improvements year after year. Over the last 3 years, improvements have included new pillow-top mattresses, new hallway carpet and paint, new room carpet, fresh paint on bathroom doors, guestroom doors and hallways, upgraded curved shower rods, new shower curtains and new room signage. In addition to our regular deep cleaning procedures after an extremely busy peak summer season, our renovations for this year will include new wallpaper in rooms, new and freshly painted ceilings, plus other undetermined plans. If there is a serious concern with a room, the guest has the option of moving to a different room so that management can take necessary action to correct the situation and if necessary take the room off-line until the room is suitable for occupancy. In order to correct the concerns in this particular room, this guest is encouraged to contact us directly to allow us the opportunity to do so. Regarding the concern with our pool, our pool is cleaned and checked for proper chlorine levels every day by a professional company. As nicely commented, we do strive to offer reasonable prices, great value and service to each of our guests, complimentary parking, convenient refrigerators in room, and considerate policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    190
    75
    26
    18
See reviews for
175
155
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed there with 2 small kids. Option of small kitchen or microwave is not available. Rooms are small if you are travelling with family/kids. Right on the beach, so location is very good. Enough elevators so you don't have to wait or there are not long lines. Parking available right in the front and on two spots across the street. Pool was clean and water temperature was good. Bathrooms are small and toilet paper is very cheap. Maids are nice. TV is outdated. Sometimes corridoor was noisy. Most of the time we were at the beach. By the time we were in the room after dinner, we were dead tired to notice these small thing.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

stayed for two nights in July 2010. This hotel is right on the beach. The reception folks were kids and did the bare minimum to get you checked in. The room was average size. It was clean and had a balcony overlooking the boardwalk. Amazing views of the sunrise. There were some great little shops on the main drag in front of the hotel. We used room service for breakfast. the food and service were quite good. Location wise, this was a great spot. There were many great restaurants within walking distance. The Lighthouse Grill was awesome. The servers were great. Value wise, this resort was twice the cost of a superior boardwalk hotel(Casino Resort) that we had just stayed in, in Atlantic City. I'm gusessing without a casino to geneate revenue they have to charge that much. Overall, we were happy with our stay and would return

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YokelCletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed at The Oceanfront Inn for a family reunion. The hotel is in a good location with plenty to do, but far enough away from the main strip. Right next door at the Hilton, they have live bands play outside which was really nice. The parking can sometimes be inconvenient because if the lot is full, you have to park across the street in a garage. We stayed in a standard room. They are all oceanfront with balconies. The balconies are a bit small, but the view is excellent. The room is a bit small and outdated. The bathroom is very small. There was a lot of sand in the corners and on the carpet. The furniture and tv were also dusty. My entire family said the same thing, so it wasn't only our room. The elevators are a bit slow. Our air conditioner broke and we called the front desk and someone came immediately. They fixed it by draining it, and it worked until the last night. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant, and it was pretty good. The restaurant was clean and the service was good. They have one pool and it is INDOORS, so don't plan on lounging out in the sun. Overall, it was ok, but I would not stay there again. It wasn't too much cheaper than the better chains.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deannpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Pretty good value for an oceanfront room at Va Beach. Room was clean, bathroom was on the small side but adequate. Elevators smelled funky. Lights on one side of the room wouldn't work. Parking lot is cramped (typical for Va Beach) but they have additional space across the street in their garage. Desk staff was just OK. No major problems with this hotel, but we won't go back to Va Beach because it is just too congested and noisy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardsFan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Great location and ocean front rooms with a value price. Very average rooms: Curtains & Bed spreads could be updated, but room and bathroom were very clean. If updating would hike up price, viva la curtains and bedspread!

Definitely plan to return this summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMH717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

upon checking in, I immediately noticed how rude the "boy" was who confirmed our reservations. My 12 year old son commented on his rudeness! I should've known this hotel was a BAD decision. "Oceanfront" is the only thing this place has to offer. The rooms are very, very small, smell nasty, and the room door does not lock properly. I returned from the beach twice to find my room door ajar! I called the front desk to see if maybe housekeeping or maintenance had been in the room and his DUMBASSS response was "Do you see any clean towels?" NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfh3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oceanfront Inn

Property: The Oceanfront Inn
Address: 2901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront resort area, within 1.5 miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and 12.5 miles away from the local airport, The Oceanfront Inn is an ideal location for business and vacationing travelers. Right on the beach, The Oceanfront Inn offers you the ideal location to relax and enjoy all Virginia Beach offers, from nearby free seasonal events and concerts to delicious dining outlets and unique shops and attractions. Completed 2011 renovations include updated lobby, enhanced WiFi, expanded cable and updated guestrooms feature new wallpaper, new bedspreads and flat-screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Oceanfront Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing