We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a nice visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a nice visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I were in town celebrating our 24th Wedding Anniversary and decided to give this hotel a try based on the reviews received and location. There were several few minor things that happened (GM see log for room 107 & 220) but the staff at the front desk and the maintenance team were professional and always readily available to address my concerns. I choose not to list them here because it would go against the reason for rating the hotel as excellent. I rate businesses on customer service first and proceed with rating in other areas to include how they resolved my concern. Although I can not remember all the names of the staff that helped me, the ones that stand out to me are the blond haired caucasion lady at the front desk, the 2 african american young guys from maintenance and Dominique in your dining area. Dominique is a great asset to the team!! Keep her around :). She will definitely make one want to visit an establishment. I do not know who cooked the food but the meals were AWESOME!!! That was the best shrimp alfredo, caesar salad and bread I've every tasted. Thumbs up to the chef!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    103
    43
    25
    19
See reviews for
94
62
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend.Upon arriving late on Friday night we were originally given a room with a single king size bed and pull out sofa. We had our 2 kids with us so I called to the front desk and asked if they could move us to a room with double beds. The guy helping us (I think his name was Jason) was great and managed to get us a new room even though they were pretty booked up.

The hotel lobby is nice with a seating area, bar and restaurant. There is a small room with a couple of computers if you need it and snacks available 24 hours. There are also facilities on site for hosting weddings and parties. We were told that parking may become an issue on Saturday night as they had a big party booked in one of the rooms but we didn't have an issue.

The room itself was decent. Flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Plenty of bath towels and a hair dryer. Free wifi was definitely a plus. In my opinion one of the best features of this hotel is the location. There are restaurants, fast food, a movie theater and department stores are all located within a 2 mile radius. very easy access to the highway and just a 10 minute drive to the beach. The indoor pool was great considering it was rather cold on Saturday. Apparently there used to be a hot tub but that has been completely removed.

About the only issue we had was a group of loud teenage girls on either side of us. I'm not sure if the walls are really thin or the girls were really loud. Fortunately it was for only 1 night.

Overall we had a great weekend and would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Public parking at the beach is plentiful. There is a big garage at 31st street and the less crowded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank promoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for the kind comments we try to ensure that meet and exceed our guest expectations. We do appreciate when any employee is mentioned by name for our employee recognition program. I hope that next time you are in the area you will certainly pick us again for your traveling needs.

Mark Smith, CHS
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza while we attended our granddaughter's dance recital this past weekend. In all the times we have come to VA Beach, this is the first time we have stayed here and we definitely will return. Our room was on the executive level and was a beautiful corner space -- very well appointed. The check-in staff was friendly and helpful. But the person who stands out and deserves lots of public praise is Dominique, the lone member of the wait staff on duty in the restaurant Saturday afternoon/evening. We met part of our family in the lobby thinking we could get drinks and a very early dinner at 4:30 but the bar and restaurant didn't open until 5. As we were contemplating where to go instead, Dominique offered to see if they could open both the bar and the restaurant early for us. She quickly returned to seat us, give us menus, and take our drink orders. Service was impeccable and the food was great -- also quite reasonable. The next morning our whole family met us at the hotel for the buffet breakfast. I'm sorry I didn't get the name of the first server but she was wonderful, and Dominique was back to help our large group, too. The buffet included made-to-order omelets, waffles, fruit, muffins, bacon, sausage and a host of other things. Everything was fresh and very good. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing Dominique and the rest of your staff the next time we stay in VA Beach.

Room Tip: The hotel is still being renovated but we were not disturbed by any activity even though they were w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank You very much for your very nice review. The employees mentioned by name will receive a specials recognition certificate . We are pleased you agreed with some of the reason we reeived our most recent certificate of excellence award for 2013 presented by trip advisor. Many things are happening at our property to improve our service to valuable customers such as you. A total refresh of our rooms including the spectacular sleep advantage package for each room. We also provide night complimentary transportation to the Town Center entertainment center only less than a mile away. If you are here the next time on Wednesday, please say hello to me at our wkly manager’s reception. Our guests love that.

Ps we have not updated our web sites yet but that is coming soon

Mark r Smith CHA GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I had a great experience. Besides the paint smell, the hotel was really good. The hotel room had new carpet and freshly painted walls.... The room was clean and the service was good. My family enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerdiFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. Yes , renovations are moving along and thank you for your understanding. We are excited about the refresh and upgrade.

We have a Managers reception every Wednesday night which offers a variety of wine selctions along with a gourmet assorted age cheeses. Our cook to order pasta station is a guest favorite. Please say hello the next tiime you visit.

Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here between the 15:th of April to the 18:th of April 2013.

We had 3 rooms and we was 8 in the family. I would recommend this hotel!

They was renovating two floors but we did not experience any disturbance due to this.

Friendly staff, nice rooms and overall very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hummer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank You for your nice comments. Renovations will be completed soon. Please join us again. We offer free shuttle to the Town Center entertainment center just minutes away. Every Wedensday night we have our complimentry managers reception which offer a made to order pasta bar with beverages and assorted cheese display.

Mark Smith CHA GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I didn't stay at the hotel, but travelled there to hear a great keyboardist - Robbin King. We had a wonderful time listening to the music. The service was great! We decided to come just for an evening of entertainment and of course - dessert!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank sheshe2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank You for your nice comments. Our new menu includes Tapas items for the Agua lounge which are ideal for having while relaxing to jazz.

Mark Smith CHA GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed here on 3/31/13. I was accompanying my husband who was traveling overnight on business. Check in was a breeze and we were even able to check in a little early. There are renovations ongoing but I wasnot bothered by it at all. The workers I ran into were all polite and friendly. We were in an older room but it was clean and had everything we needed. Bed was sooooo comfortable! We were on the highway side and were not disturbed by traffic noise but we are both deep sleepers.

We used the pool and it was awesome. Perfect temp and we were the only ones there which was nice (it was a Sunday afternoon and we got lucky I guess!). The one strange thing was that the hottub was not functional and was filled with sand! I guess that is a safety measure but sand was tracked onto the tile and into the pool. Not a huge deal, just odd.

The bartender at Aqua, Tim, is AWESOME!!! Sunday evening my husband and I decided to go out for dinner. Before leaving we stopped into Aqua and Tim made me a fabulous cocktail and gave us recomendations for dinner. Had such a good time we stopped back at Aqua when we returned from dinner. He really git our night off to a great start. Carlos drove us to dinner in the shuttle and when we were ready to be picked up we just gave a call to the hotel. Carlos was also super friendly. The area shuttle is a nice perk!

We will definitely return the next time we are in Virginia Beach. Can't wait to try a renovated room. But no matter what, the staff we encountered we all awesome and helped make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank You I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you return soon to the exciting things that are happening here soon. The hotel is in its final stages of refreshing our rooms while public areas are slated for next fall. Unfortunately you witnessed the beginning of the elimination of our Jacuzzi. The Jacuzzi was not able to meet some of the new federal requirements so we have to remove it. Thank you for mentioning our staff members by name they will receive reorganization cards for our employee reorganization program.

Mark Smith CHA GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Address: 4453 Bonney Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach is located in the heart of the Town Center Business District, allowing corporate and leisure travelers easy access to Va. Beach, Norfolk and Chesapeake. We are just minutes from restaurants, shopping, attractions, military bases and the beach (8 miles) with convenient access to Interstates 264 and 64. The Crowne Plaza is within easy reach of Historic Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel offers 12,000 feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Each guest room offers free wireless high speed Internet voice mail, coffee makers, make up mirrors, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program which includes upgraded bedding, sleep amenities and more. Tines Restaurant & Aqua Bar features a wide range of food and beverage with, free wireless high speed Internet and wired high speed connections in the lobby. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, saunas, free business center with HSIA, 24 hour fitness center , gift shop and FREE shutle nightly to and from the Town Center entertainment area. Attractions: the Va. Science Museum, Verizon Amphitheater, and the Va. Sportsplex. The nearby Town Center features restaurants such as the Cheesecake factory, PF Chang, Ruth's Chris, Max & Erma s, and many more. Companies: Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., BB&T, SAIC, Amsec, Best Buy, Circuit City, Ford, EDS, and Ecolochem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Virginia Beach
Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing