We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel agents beware!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Travel agents beware!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Not a good experience. The fire alarm had gone off when we walked in. The lobby was full of people waiting on the frantic staff to try and get the elevator working. Not one security person on the grounds. So people are allowed to party and slam doors and scream up and down the halls. Very noisy. Today was a game day and the bar opens at 4pm, are you kidding me? There are resturants fairly close but not a practical walk for most. The hotel shuttle also unavailable until 5pm was a wash. The facility is outdated and tired. Management seems to be very out of touch. I'm laying here trying to sleep as the party rages on down the hall. Would not recommend if you're hungry, thirsty or wanting to sleep. Oh wait who needs any of that from a hotel?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pushrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. I'm very disappointed to read you overall dissatisfaction. The Crowned Plaza Virginia Beach is very proud of its level of service cleanliness and quality of product having just gone through a major room renovation. I apologize that the fire alarm disturbed you however it sounded for a safety reasons and was a false alarm. We take all reviews positive or negative comments very serious. Therefore I would love to regain your trust in us if you decide to visit the area again. Please contact me directly.

Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    100
    42
    25
    18
See reviews for
93
61
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly and the food was wonderful. They were renovating so that was a bit of a pain. They put us on the concierge level which was nice and supposed to be only for over 18 y.o. but then they put a wedding party on the floor with small babies/children. The families wouldn't come in until after 11 each night and the baby would cry and the kids would yell and run and bang on the wall and keep us up all night. Seems like bad managing. Nice hotel but I prefer being able to walk to some things.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your comments and rating our hotel four stars. We pride ourselves in customer service and consider all reviews serious. I am sorry you did not like our location located right off of interstate 264. We offer free nightly Van shuttle service to the Town Cent entertainment and shopping center only one mile away for guests who prefer not to drive.

I hope you choose stay with us again
Mark Smith
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful in orienting us to the hotel. The room was very nice, clean and the furniture had a newer appearance. Temperature controls worked well and the room was a pleasant temperature day and night and where ever we had the setting.The linens were crisp and clean and all looked newer and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and the shower worked very well and the water was easy to regulate. I did mention that there was a noise from some equipment on our hall that was audible in our room and it was taken care of that evening. There was coffee & tea available on the hall by the elevator each morning on the Concierge Floor that was nice but it was not replenished that I noticed once it was set out. This hotel was not a great value but I will consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor on the side where the traffic noise from what I think was the Intersta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tampaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed here on business for three nights, with work requiring standard uploading speed using VPN. Work was near-impossible as upload speed in rooms is at absolute best only 10KB/ps - it would take 4-6 hours to upload a 100MB file.
Front desk told me that management slapped a governor-type device on internet service so people couldn't download porn, and it has affected uploading speed as well. As a consequence, their internet service at this hotel is downright terrible.
Even regular browsing speed in rooms was very, very slow.

I had to do uploading VPN work in the lobby, which ruined my stay since I should be able to do work in-room. Lobby uploading speed was only marginally better and sometime OK, but it depended on the time of day. I've stayed at cheap Best Westerns where I could upload a 100MB file to VPN in 5 minutes tops; at this hotel it would take 4-6 hours, and would sometimes knock me offline, so I had no free time at all during my stay. I got way behind on work and in trouble with the job, directly due to my staying here.

As a result, I cannot recommend this hotel to any business travelers - I simply could not stay here again, even though the room and bed were just fine, with all other amenities being just fine. There is much to like here in the way of comfort and amenities, but the internet service is one of the worst I've ever experienced in any hotel.

The staff were friendly and polite; however all inquiries regarding internet service had me pawned off to an 800 phone number; I spent most of my time in the room troubleshooting with the internet company, who could not solve the problem.

Unless internet service is seriously upgraded, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gymnopedies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank You for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I appreciate you giving the Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach high scores on Sleep quality, rooms, cleanliness and service. However I understand your frustration with the internet. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we know how important the internet is to the Business traveler. We take all reviews positive and negative very serious and you feedback will help us.
Feel free to contact me directly Msmith@cpvabeach.com when you plan on staying with us again. I hope you give us another try. I will look into your concerns and hopefully have the issue corrected for your next stay...
Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We wanted a hotel that wasn't right on the beach to avoid the crowds. The Crowne Plaza was very nice - love the Asian fusion design. THe only issue was our air conditioner. LOUD as a jet engine and it didn't cool very well. THere was a lot of activity in the halls in the evening so it wasn't the quietest place to sleep. THe location was close to 264 so we could hop on and drive to the beach early for a nice bike ride. The fridge and microwave are always welcome. No free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macellucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to express your thought and concerns. I am glad you enjoyed the microwave and refrigerator in the room. I am sorry to read your dissatisfaction with our in room AC unit but am thank all you overall stay was good. Your input is very helpful.

Thank You
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you are looking for a great hotel that is not located on the beach; look no further!! Spent 4 nights from July 24-27th. The front desk staff were great and friendly. It was a wonderful stay!!! The room was very clean. The fridge and microwave was a great benefit. Housekeeping was good!! The Hotel is in a great location; most of the tourtist attractions are only 10 to 15 minutes away. We had one issue with our bill wich was cleared up promptly. The only other minor issue was that there was not a mirror in the room; only the bathroom had a mirror. Perhaps, it was not brought back in after the room was renovated.

Overall: Highly recommend!!!! Excellent Stay!!

Room Tip: Suggest the corner suites; slightly bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janlyn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and strive to be the best Crowne Plaza around. Thank you for bringing to my attention the missing Mirror. We take all reviews serious.

Again
Thank You
Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had a 4 night say during the July 4th week. It was an excellent stay ! The front desk staff was awesome. They let us check in early. We had one of the newly renovated rooms. There was an issue with the TV and that was fixed within minutes. Other then that it was a great stay. Used the business center with no issue, the bar area was ok. The bartender was very entertaining. Had breakfast on the last day which was one of the best I've ever had at a hotel. . Would have no problem staying here again !

Room Tip: All rooms should be quiet. Stayed on the 3rd floor. Not much noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
TownePlace Suites Virginia Beach
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Address: 4453 Bonney Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach is located in the heart of the Town Center Business District, allowing corporate and leisure travelers easy access to Va. Beach, Norfolk and Chesapeake. We are just minutes from restaurants, shopping, attractions, military bases and the beach (8 miles) with convenient access to Interstates 264 and 64. The Crowne Plaza is within easy reach of Historic Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel offers 12,000 feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Each guest room offers free wireless high speed Internet voice mail, coffee makers, make up mirrors, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program which includes upgraded bedding, sleep amenities and more. Tines Restaurant & Aqua Bar features a wide range of food and beverage with, free wireless high speed Internet and wired high speed connections in the lobby. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, saunas, free business center with HSIA, 24 hour fitness center , gift shop and FREE shutle nightly to and from the Town Center entertainment area. Attractions: the Va. Science Museum, Verizon Amphitheater, and the Va. Sportsplex. The nearby Town Center features restaurants such as the Cheesecake factory, PF Chang, Ruth's Chris, Max & Erma s, and many more. Companies: Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., BB&T, SAIC, Amsec, Best Buy, Circuit City, Ford, EDS, and Ecolochem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Virginia Beach
Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing