We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile at a Discount”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Howell, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worthwhile at a Discount”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our 4-day stay got off to a rather rocky start, but then went pretty well. My wife and I had spent the whole day driving, so we were quite fatigued, but because of several major traffic backups en route, we couldn't check in till about 1AM. On hauling our stuff up to the room, we found a peculiar smell, almost like urine. (We've encountered this odor before in other hotels/motels and associate it with an older air conditioner that has been sitting idle for a while.) We turned on the a/c in hopes of clearing out the odor, but the compressor didn't seem to want to kick in at a reasonable temperature. As we were returning the luggage cart to the lobby, the desk clerk asked how we liked the room, so we told her about the odor and the a/c. She quickly found us another room on the same floor -- despite frequent interruptions by telephone calls from people who were looking for the Aqua Lounge, a local bar with a name similar to that of the hotel's Aqua Bar.

The 2nd room smelled better, but the a/c was even weaker: the compressor wouldn't kick in till the thermostat was lowered to 60 degrees! Meanwhile, the a/c in the first room had managed to clear out the odor, so we decided not to move after all. By then it was after 2AM, and we were totally exhausted, but we couldn't go to bed yet. Right after we had hung up our clothes, the wardrobe rack collapsed, pulling right out of the wall and dumping our clothes on the floor. Obviously that problem couldn't be fixed at 2AM, so we just draped the clothes over the sofa and went to bed. The next morning we called the desk about the broken rack, then headed out for the day. When we returned that evening, we found that someone had simply pushed the rack back into the wall, so of course it collapsed again as soon as we put any clothes on it. When we called the desk again, someone came up right away to work on the problem, and when we returned that evening, the problem was fixed.

After that, the only additional issue was that the room was not cleaned on the 3rd day of our stay. On a minor note, it's unfortunate that, like many older hotels, this one lacked an exhaust fan for the bathroom, so the guests have to contend with a fogged-up mirror, while the hotel has to resort to ongoing measures to combat mold/mildew.

On the positive side, the king-size bed was firm and comfortable; the Internet connection was reliable, the accommodations were roomy, quiet, and fairly attractive; the exercise room had decent equipment and natural lighting; and the parking was convenient. We didn't have a chance to try the pool.

On the whole, we found our stay satisfactory, but that's at least partly because we were able to get a great rate through a discounter. We probably would not stay at this hotel if we had to pay the regular rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the Crowne plaza Hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Feel free to contact me directly
Mark smith Gm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    105
    43
    25
    19
See reviews for
95
62
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very nice, comfortable hotel. The staff was particularly helpful and pleasant. The bed was nice and comfortable, providing a very restful night. Room service was a bit slow, but the food was really good! And while I appreciate how much they cared, calling four times about my meal was a bit of overkill!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCFarm_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is situated just off the freeway, half way between Norfolk and the coast. It is ideal for business travellers but is not in a tourist hotspot if you are on holiday. Whilst much of it is fairly dated it does have large rooms with good amenities. The bathrooms are fine and the range of services offered are good. Wi-Fi in the rooms worked very well but the aircon system was extremely loud (sounded more like a jet engine!) and would not suit a light sleeper. That said the beds are extremely comfortable. All the staff are very friendly. The breakfast buffet was average - neither great nor bad. There is also plenty of free car parking.
In sum, a clean hotel with comfortable beds but nothing to get that excited about.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear buzzthecat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel is at a very nice location, near the beach and the city centre, so you are very close to the shops and takes only about 10 mins from the beachfront. Minimal noise level but our room is located on the side of the highway , so that is a bit of a pain. But overall, it is a nice weekend stay with the family. The indoor pool is clean but the pool stairs is slippery. I would recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose a room opposite the side of the highway, maybe it has less noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mye Mye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed here several times. They have been renovating for several months now. The rooms are clean and neat. The food is good. The customer experience is very good. All of the front desk and restaurant staff have been very friendly and professional. I like the top adults only floor- it is quiet. Not much of a view from the rooms. Good room for the price. Not far from the beach. Room is comfortable. Has refrig and microwave. Overall very good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmcdonald1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Not a good experience. The fire alarm had gone off when we walked in. The lobby was full of people waiting on the frantic staff to try and get the elevator working. Not one security person on the grounds. So people are allowed to party and slam doors and scream up and down the halls. Very noisy. Today was a game day and the bar opens at 4pm, are you kidding me? There are resturants fairly close but not a practical walk for most. The hotel shuttle also unavailable until 5pm was a wash. The facility is outdated and tired. Management seems to be very out of touch. I'm laying here trying to sleep as the party rages on down the hall. Would not recommend if you're hungry, thirsty or wanting to sleep. Oh wait who needs any of that from a hotel?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pushrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. I'm very disappointed to read you overall dissatisfaction. The Crowned Plaza Virginia Beach is very proud of its level of service cleanliness and quality of product having just gone through a major room renovation. I apologize that the fire alarm disturbed you however it sounded for a safety reasons and was a false alarm. We take all reviews positive or negative comments very serious. Therefore I would love to regain your trust in us if you decide to visit the area again. Please contact me directly.

Mark Smith GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly and the food was wonderful. They were renovating so that was a bit of a pain. They put us on the concierge level which was nice and supposed to be only for over 18 y.o. but then they put a wedding party on the floor with small babies/children. The families wouldn't come in until after 11 each night and the baby would cry and the kids would yell and run and bang on the wall and keep us up all night. Seems like bad managing. Nice hotel but I prefer being able to walk to some things.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSmith1024, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your comments and rating our hotel four stars. We pride ourselves in customer service and consider all reviews serious. I am sorry you did not like our location located right off of interstate 264. We offer free nightly Van shuttle service to the Town Cent entertainment and shopping center only one mile away for guests who prefer not to drive.

I hope you choose stay with us again
Mark Smith
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Westin Virginia Beach Town Center
Westin Virginia Beach Town Cente...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach...
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
28 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Bea...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Address: 4453 Bonney Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach is located in the heart of the Town Center Business District, allowing corporate and leisure travelers easy access to Va. Beach, Norfolk and Chesapeake. We are just minutes from restaurants, shopping, attractions, military bases and the beach (8 miles) with convenient access to Interstates 264 and 64. The Crowne Plaza is within easy reach of Historic Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel offers 12,000 feet of flexible meeting and banquet space. Each guest room offers free wireless high speed Internet voice mail, coffee makers, make up mirrors, the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program which includes upgraded bedding, sleep amenities and more. Tines Restaurant & Aqua Bar features a wide range of food and beverage with, free wireless high speed Internet and wired high speed connections in the lobby. Additional amenities include an indoor pool, saunas, free business center with HSIA, 24 hour fitness center , gift shop and FREE shutle nightly to and from the Town Center entertainment area. Attractions: the Va. Science Museum, Verizon Amphitheater, and the Va. Sportsplex. The nearby Town Center features restaurants such as the Cheesecake factory, PF Chang, Ruth's Chris, Max & Erma s, and many more. Companies: Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., BB&T, SAIC, Amsec, Best Buy, Circuit City, Ford, EDS, and Ecolochem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Virginia Beach
Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing