We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just spent 3 nights at this Hampton Inn during the annual Neptune Festival. Four of us (2 adults, 2 teens) shared the studio suite - we were all very pleased with our stay. The room was very comfortable and spacious with two terraces overlooking the ocean and Boardwalk. The view alone was worth the price. The mattresses were very comfortable, everything was immaculate and, despite all the outside activity, very quiet. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included, and was very good. The negatives - no outdoor pool and the indoor pool was very small. Also, in the suite, the vanity is outside the bathroom, but there is no door or divider between the vanity and the sleeping area. I had to get up early to attend a conference and this was an inconvenience for me. On the whole though, I would highly recommend this hotel and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Get the studio suite, it's worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy1Ardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stay at Hilton brand hotels almost exclusively. This one was just above average. The thing that makes this place stand out is the location. It is right on boardwalk and beach. It is within walking distance of the pier. They have a restaurant on location. This restaurant is a little pricey, but it is there. Indoor pool is very small and no outdoor pool. The hotel will not allow you to take their towels out of hotel. The wifi is only available in lobby and breakfast area. If you want internet, you will need to use ethernet cord in each room. Service was ok, not outstanding. I would try another location if possible when i visit there next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdiekevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn many times over the last few years and I have never been let down. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are always clean and you cannot beat the location. Oceanfront view, boardwalk access, playground on the beach right in front of the hotel, and the VA Beach Pier is within walking distance. I would highly recommend this property to anyone heading to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMorris22968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

To anyone thinking about visiting Virgina Beach, you must consider staying at this the Hampton Inn Virgina Beach Oceanfront SOUTH location. I've stayed at several locations on the beach and none compare to the friendly staff at this location.
It all started with Art, the customer service rep based in Dallas who helped me book the hotel. I had a coupon which needed the hotel managers approval to use, Art called the hotel manager Cliff who agreed to my request.
On the day of arrival I called in the morning around 10 AM to see when the room would be ready. Lesley said it is ready now, come on and check in. That was great since we wanted to hit the beach and needed a place to change. The room was spectacular with two balconies on the 10th floor overlooking the beach. WOW! Lesley always smiled and greeted us with a ton of enthusiasm. She made the entire stay just perfect.
Not only is the hotel great, but the 11st Tap House which is in the hotel is great. Matt has been serving us from behind the bar for more than a year. We've visited maybe 3 times and he remembers us every time. They have a great menu, great cocktails, and the best service on the beach.

Thank you Art, Cliff, Lesley, and Matt, for making our weekend trip the best!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank j0hn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton1011, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and staff. I’m pleased we were able to accommodate you with your certificate and the room exceeded your expectations. We strive to provide the very best in service and accommodations and love to hear when we really hit it out of the park! I have passed your comments along to Leslie as well as the General Manager for the 11th St. Tap House, the Boardwalks Brew Capital.

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Great location right on the beach, close to bands, shows etc., over Labor Weekend. Reasonable price, room was fine and the breakfast area is roomy, waffles good and plenty of fruit and coffee to go around. No one using indoor pool, everyone on the beach. Staff very helpful, would go again.

Room Tip: Good location, at the beach, go enjoy! Close to Aquarium which is also "very" fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VaGoldVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We have stayed at the Hampton Inn South for a few year's and still like it. There are problems with the two elevators every time we go there, but look over that for the benefits.
We had internet access in the room with Apple Airport Express. There was no Wifi in the room, just in the lobby and Breakfast area on the first floor. Breakfast is great.
The room is clean, the view is great and location is wonderful because it is on the quiet end of the beach. Still within walking distance to everywhere you may want to go.
Near Rudee's Inlet where you can just sit on benches and watch the boats go out and also the fishermen on the inlet. There is also the wonderful children's playground for the kids there that was designed for the handicapped. They even have wheel chairs there for the handicapped so the they can go on the beach directly from the playground.
All around a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlllyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Had two suites & everyone enjoyed their stay. Free breakfeast was good & all the staff was extremely polite. The only complaint I have was about the restaurant. We went there as soon as we unpacked as everyone was starving after a long drive. Got seated right away outside. (Wasn't very crowded .) No one ever came by to clean our table or take our order. Went to a server who said someone will be right there. Got tired of waiting & ended up walking out & going to the restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £74 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing