We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great nights stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great nights stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for a nights visit to see the Holiday Lights on the Boardwalk. This is a great hotel. It is very clean and organized. The checkin was fast and informative. The breakfast buffet was good. Rooms were very clean. Beds were comfortable. We will visit again soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phatdaddydodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton1011, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. If you plan to see the Holiday Lights again next year, make sure to check our website or call the hotel for our special Holiday Lights package. It includes one room, a pass to the Holiday Lights on the Boardwalk, and a keepsake Virginia Beach tree ornament. All of this is included for just $5.00 more than our regular rate!

I will be sure to pass your comments on to the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    331
    150
    62
    38
See reviews for
490
296
37
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We did a quick overnight get away over Thanksgiving. This was our first trip to Va Beach. This hotel is very nice. The front desk staff helped us choose restaurants for both nights - including Thanksgiving Day itself. It was a great time to visit - zero crowds and unbelievable rates. All rooms faced the beach. We were about half way up - no noise even with cars going through the Christmas light displays right on the boardwalk.The whole area, hotel and beach, seemed very clean and other visitors tell us it is just as clean during peak season. Everything worked in our room and no plumbing problems! It's kind of a joke for us - either the sink or the tub do not drain or the toilet has problems in nearly every hotel we visit. We would definitely stay at this hotel if we ever return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportmom_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Our November 2011 stay was great. From the time we checked in until we left the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to get into our room early and unpack. Since we were only going to be there for the weekend we needed to get out and about as soon as possible.

The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffett was very good. Depending on who was on duty in the kitchen determined how good the waffles would be. The batter was too thick one day and when mentioned to the attendant, she said it was fine. Made the toughest waffles. The next day the person on duty had the batter down pat. Very light and easy to cut. The hot items were hot and the cold items were cold.

This was our second stay there in two weeks. We will be sure to return to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrunner4C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Just returned from a one week vacation at this hotel. Loved it! Plan to go back. The staff was great from the housekeeping to the supervisor everyone was friendly, accommodating, and really bent over backwards to make sure our needs were met. The rooms were exceptionally clean including the bathrooms! No pets allowed except for service dogs which was fine with us. The breakfast food assortment was more than expected and plentiful so we did not have to eat lunch.. As with all the hampton inns coffee was available 24/7. We had a 2 queen suite that provided plenty of room for 3 adults. The room had 2 balconies with ocean views. Since it was off season parking was not a problem. I agree with another reviwer that this location is one of the best on the beach. Could not have asked for a better vacation.

Room Tip: Would recommend 2 queen suite with children or multiple adults as couch also has pull-out bed and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swmfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

As with all Hamptons this one is quite nice. The staff is great and I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Napier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Everything about the place was great - all rooms have a beautiful view of the ocean - the breakfast was good and the restaurant downstairs was really very good. This hotel has the best location on the beach - during our stay there was a huge storm - it was fantastic watching it come in. We would definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atbouldersedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton1011, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
I will pass along your comments to the management of the Tap House. We are unique for a Hampton Inn with a full service restaurant on property with 32 draft beers for your enjoyment and a great menu.

Your stay indicated September and you mentioned a huge storm. I’m not sure if you were referring to Hurricane Irene or another storm. Our building is designed to withstand hurricane force winds and rain and we have a solid emergency plan in place to ensure the safety of our guests. Any storm can be frightening, but we all band together and make the most of it for our guests.

I hope you can make it here again when the weather is more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend. It was off-season, but the entire place was sparkling clean-- the cleanest hotel I have ever been in! The staff was great to work with, and the on-site Tap House was a lot of fun! It was really nice to have coffee/tea available anytime. The views were beautiful, and we could open the balcony door to fall asleep to the ocean waves. Overall, a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton1011, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for your “sparkling” comments! We love to hear when we hit it out of the park for our guests.

This is a great time of year for open door sleeping with most of the bugs having packed it up and headed south for the winter. I will pass along your comments about the cleanliness to our Housekeeping team. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing