We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful exprence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
roanoke rapids, United States
2 reviews
“Wonderful exprence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a great hotel. All the rooms are oceanfront and very nice and clean. The staff is great too. I would reccomend it highly. It's perfect for any kind of trip to the beach. It's a good location for the beach and the shops along the main beach road. You can park your car and never have to move it, so much is within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    334
    156
    62
    38
See reviews for
496
302
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west of Washington, DC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Listed on their website as a non-smoking hotel, but they allow smoking on the balconies? Really?!? So we couldn't use the balcony, or keep the door open to hear the ocean - what's the point of an oceanfront hotel? Other than that, hotel was clean and comfortable, staff was nice.

Room Tip: If you want a true non-smoking room, you'll need to go to a different hotel, but if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Room on 9th floor with a large balcony and a wonderful view. Room was spacious with a settee and large TV. Fridge was useful too. Parking next to the Hotel was generally OK but difficult to find a space when there was a function on one evening. The bed was really comfortable and the linen was clean and fresh. Free wi-fi very useful. Bath towels were rather small so we needed to use two which is fine as there are only two of us and they give you four towels. A/C was a bit noisy but often is when it is not built in. Agree the Hotel could do with a couple of extra lifts but as we were out of season it was not too much of a problem. Breakfast included free but not enough seating as people were wondering around with plates of food looking for seats. Nice having coffee on tap 24/7. Disappointed that there was no outside space to sit in as the pool was indoors and very small. However the beach is on the door step and there are plenty of benches to sit on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelmerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Md USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

great hotel. great location. Great room. Wish there was more choice of king size rooms. buffet breakfast very filling one of the best in terms of variety and freshness of food items. Very accommodating for late check out. one down side while on elevator one day one the employees kept stopping on each floor in the elevator and shouting to the other workers asking for a specific person. That was inappropriate and really the only negative.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank bliteful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very Comfortabe arrangements at this location. People were friendly and our visit was enjoyable. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a great idea for the guests. Staff was pleasant and accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

After reading all the mixed reviews, I was a little apprehensive booking this motel. I only have one complaint and it really isn't a complaint more of a inconvenience. They do not have room safes, however they do have safety deposit boxes at the front desk. The breakfast that is included in your stay was good and each day there was a different hot item. The room was spacious and clean. The view from the balcony was awesome!! Waking up in the morning to be able to see the dolphins in the ocean...relaxing!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband, 8 month old son and I traveled to Virginia Beach for vacation, little guys first beach experience. The hotel was a great location, on the boardwalk and tons of places to eat and shop within walking distance. We had a two bed studio suite on the 10th floor and the view was amazing! We loved having all the extra room so that little guy could crawl around to his hearts content. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got a crib for my son which was a well used pack n play with a mattress that wasn't very comfortable. It was a good thing we packed our pack n play so he could sleep on that. The breakfast area was spacious and clean, but the breakfast itself seems to not be what it used to be at the Hampton Inn. Most mornings, the fruit salad was out of a can and the eggs were more than scrambled (they had cheese or sausage in them)... My husband wanted just plain scrambled. I loved the waffles and biscuits. The pool is very small and chilly for being heated, but only one time that we went down there was there other people in it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikita236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing