We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Arlington,VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Overall, I was very happy with this hotel. Convenient location and all of the rooms are ocean view. Mine had a balcony which was very nice. It looked like most of the rooms have balconies but not sure if that's true for all of the rooms. The room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of foods. The free internet worked well. My only complaint was about checking in. I arrived 2 hours before the 4 PM check in time. The clerk let me park my car in the garage, took my phone number, and told me he would call me when a room was ready for me. Two hours later at 4 PM, there hadn't been a call. I went back to the hotel and was able to check right in. Very disappointing that the clerk created the expectation that there would be a call and then didn't fulfill it. I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank melstero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    331
    150
    62
    38
See reviews for
490
296
37
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grasonville, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn South for a winter break.
The view out of our balcony was facing directly East....sunrise each day was breathtaking. The staff was friendly and attentive.
Upon arrival a small mechanical problem was attended to within minutes of my report. The value was as good as any I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Request 4th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CARL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Totally satisfied with my recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Waterfront (South). I was able to check in a wee bit early! The rooms are super clean. The staff were SUPER friendly! All of them spoke and greeted me - all during my stay! There is a great restaurant/bar on the premises! Checking in/out was painless! Loved the parking deck! If you like coffee - enjoy the lobby coffee - it was great!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, WV
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the first time on a recent mini vacation. The rooms were fairly clean and appointed with the average hotel amenities. Unfortunately, our oceanfront view was obstructed somewhat by the restaurant roof and and railing. We were not greeted by any friendly staff members our first or second day there but there must be a different crew on weekend days as the staff working Saturday and Sunday seemed much friendlier. We were a little disappointed that housekeeping didn't seem to make it to our room until after 4:00pm on the Friday we stayed and wasn't there until nearly 3:00pm on Saturday. The hotel offered the standard Hampton Inn lineup of breakfast which I am personally not the biggest fan of especially when it comes to the eggs. The rest of the breakfast offerings were ok. I would stay at this hotel again but I hope they get some help in their housekeeping department.

Room Tip: The ocean view of rooms on the second floor is somewhat obstructed by the restaurant roof and railin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgwvu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Prepare yourself for a friendly and devoted staff. I look forward to my future stay. Rooms comfortable and clean. Location is great. Parking deck accessible. Kid friendly and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast is a great start to your day. Tap House restaurant is worth the value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Jackson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

All rooms have ocean view - the street side is for the parking garage and utility rooms. Decent free breakfast, slow internet. Make sure you park right in front until you check in - it's very difficult to get back to the lobby from upper levels of the parking garage!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is in a terrific location – at the southern end of the Virginia Beach boardwalk – and all the rooms have an ocean view. That led to an unexpected/our favorite activity -- watching pods of dolphins swim by every morning. The hotel itself seems older but is clean and acceptable, and service was exceptionally good. There was free parking, which was especially nice, given the beach location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehistorytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing