We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seashire Inn & Suites(Virginia Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Carousel Motel(Virginia Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveller rating
559
378
184
68
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
559
378
184
68
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskparking garagethe breakfast areaindoor poolfree breakfastbreakfast staffsouth endocean viewyogurtvirginia beach oceanfronthot breakfastoff seasonclean hoteleach morningnice staybeds were comfortablefamily vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
733 - 738 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a nice hotel right on the boardwalk on the south end of the strip. The rooms are medium sized, and all of them face the ocean. The beds were ok, did not have any complaints so that is a good thing. It is getting a little dated but being on the beach with those amazing views of the ocean, you will not notice the age of the hotel.
We booked at the last minute so ended up paying a little more than we would have liked, so book in advance to get a good deal.
They include a warm daily breakfast which is nice, very basic but is good enough to start the day with a waffle maker, bagels, cereal, eggs and a rotating variety of potato hash (one day they had bacon, another they had simple flavored potato).
Their parking garage has 5 levels, with the first one reserved for the restaurant downstairs. The parking is reserved for hotel guests which is nice so there is always an open spot. Also they have entrances on each level, so you can walk into the hotel directly from the garage without having to go to the lobby each time.

The free 24 hour coffee/tea in the lobby is a nice plus too. All in all, a decent place to stay on the boardwalk in virginia beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean facing. Try to get something level 4 and above for a great view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our stay was very nice. The Hotel was clean ,quite and comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly. The free breakfast was a little different each day with the staple of waffles, fruit, and eggs.And the entire staff wanted you to get the most from your Vacation experience. And being located on the beach/boardwalk makes it a place to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Billy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This Hampton Inn is a wee bit below what I have come to expect from Hampton Inn. It could easily use some sprucing up. The rooms are a bit small and some of the furnishings are worn. It would not take a lot of work to correct the things it needs. I realize most Hampton Inns are along the highway and most folks are there only for one night, whereas this one has more extended stays since it is on the oceanfront. It does have good location..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review in regards to your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront South. We take all comments seriously in an effort to improve both our service and the hotel. We are about to begin renovations of the guest rooms starting with the carpets and hopefully moving on to the furniture this fall.

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope that you will visit us in the future when visiting the area.


Sincerely,

Tammy Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My family and I stayed here in March. We were looking for a reasonably priced property on the beach and the AAA rate fit our budget! The hotel is a little farther south than other hotels but we liked being away from the busier, more congested areas. We enjoyed taking a stroll on the boardwalk which was easily accessible from the hotel. The room was nice and clean and we enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from the balcony. The breakfast area was well maintained. Definitely a great choice for family travel to VA Beach!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shen_Valley_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you,
Tammy Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Easy check-in. Very helpful staff. Breakfast was hot, but a little disappointing, but breakfast staff did their best to accommodate us. Hotel is a little dated for Hampton Inn, but the staff all around made up for the small shortcomings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Darcell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tammy B, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are always looking for feedback from our guest to improve the guest experience. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Tammy Barker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews