We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed by the management of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed by the management of the hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel was in a good location for our visit. We were there for two nights. Our room was on the backside of the hotel and the view was of high power electrical lines which went over the hotel. Oh well, that wasn't that important for this visit because we weren't in the room except to sleep.

The first day housekeeping skipped us. So when we returned to the room it was exactly how we left it. So we had to call and get extra towels and deal with the room as it was. Also the first day we went to breakfast about 8am. We were the only ones there except for the breakfast "attendant" person. She was sitting there watching the tv. I went to get cereal and there were no bowls. She was totally oblivious to the supplies in the breakfast area!

The second day we had a similar experience at breakfast. Again, it was empty except for the same "attendant" who was diligently watching tv. There was no milk available in the canisters. Now note that this was early in the morning (about 8:30) and there was no one there. The hotel only had about 10 total cars so the place was pretty empty. Additionally, the huge trash can to throw everything away was literally spilling over! The girl in the breakfast area apparently was doing nothing! Not sure why she was even there.

On the positive side, the guy at the front desk was very helpful to us. It's a shame no one else in the hotel had his attitude.

Bottom line, I think that the issues with this hotel was because the hotel manager does not hold the staff accountable for high (or even mediocre) service.

Room Tip: If you prefer to look at a parking lot instead of an industrial area with high power electrical line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JackTravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
I am very disappointed as well that your stay was less than perfect. I am very shocked to hear the details of your stay. I can assure you I will follow up with the people involved in dropping the ball as I do not accept nothing but top notch service.

I also want to assure you that I am a hands on manager that takes comments and suggestions to heart. In other words feedback good and bad help make any operation better; so thank you for taking the time to write. If you would like to provide the details of your stay I would appreciate the opportunity to identify staff that needs some coaching to ensure others do not experience this very untypical behavior.

I hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you!

Warm Regards,

George Lawson
General Manager
comfortinnvbgm@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    49
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
70
36
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SMF
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Extremely pleased with my stay from start to finish. Well maintained property. My room was very clean and comfortable and I found the staff to be efficient, friendly and courteous. Highly recommended. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rh916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time write about your experience. My staff and I love to hear positive feedback.

We look forward to your return!!

Warm Regards,

George Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsale, VA, USA
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas to visit family in the area. Our room was immaculate and spacious, the bedding was very comfortable. We missed the breakfast, but it smelled wonderful! There is a Starbucks, Jersey Mike's, Krispy Kreme, ABC (liquor) and sushi in walking distance. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
My staff and I are very glad to hear you had a great time while visiting family. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and have a great 2014!

Sincerely,

George Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently traveled to the Virginia Beach area for business. I was only down there once before many years ago and did not recall the area being very nice. To my surprise, the area has completely turned around and has a modern feel to the city. I was very impressed! The Comfort Inn & Suites is in a very central location close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and nightlife. The hotel staff was very accommodating when directing me to places I needed or wanted to visit. They also were very friendly and welcoming every time I passed through the lobby. The hotel is newly renovated and extremely clean which is very important to me when trying to get the “feel at home” experience while away on business travel. I will be traveling back down in a few weeks and I already have my room booked. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Virginia Beach/Norfolk area to consider Comfort Inn & Suites for a quality stay and at a great rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB198119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
My apologies for the late response; thanks so much for taking the time to write about your experience. It truly does help fine tune the operation and also lets us know when we are doing things right; so again thank you!

My staff and I look forward to your return!!

Sincerely,

George Lawson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My family and I went on a trip to go fishing down in Virginia Beach. Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by the front desk that went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. Our hotel was clean which is always a must in my checklist. The fishing piers were close by and so were a lot of places to eat! Our choices ranged from the complimentary breakfast at the hotel, Krispy Kreme, the Waffle House, and we especially enjoyed the seafood at Aberdeen Barn Steakhouse. Worth every penny and looking forward to staying there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
I am very pleased to hear you took advantage of what the area has to offer. I love the Aberdeen Barn and fishing myself! Thanks so much for staying with us and taking your valuable time to write a review of your experience with us.

Have a Merry Christmas and a Great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed here with a few friends this past summer for a weekend birthday getaway. The location was great with a Krispy Kreme and more importantly an ABC store in walking distance! I was really impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and how well maintained the hotel was in general. The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful when asked for recommendations on things to do and restaurants in the area. My friends and I all agreed the rate and quality of the customer service was impressive and we will definitely be coming back on our next VA beach stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review of your experience. My staff and I love reading comments such as yours. It really does go a long way for us and for future guests!

Thanks again and have a wonderful New Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

You can't beat this hotel... Just the right price and great rooms and service! my wife and i were very happy and she tends to be picky but this time no complaints! Would recommend this to all my friends and family. Thanks George!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmeet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George L, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It means a lot when our guests take the time to comment on their experience at our hotel. Thanks so much for being our guest and I hope you have a great holiday season!

We look forward to seeing you in the new year if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
313 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,153 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beach / Norfolk Airport
Wingate by Wyndham Virginia Beac...
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk Airport
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach - No...
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 5808 Burton Station Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23455-3606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Norfolk Airport South
Country Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport South Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing