We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian At Its Best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron Indian Bistro

Saffron Indian Bistro
Ranked #293 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
Description: The Best Indian Restaurant in Hampton Roads area.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Indian At Its Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Saffron is one of those places I visit often. When craving for Indian cuisine, Saffron definitely answers that. Latest visit though was a so-so. The food is still definitely great. It was the service that was a downgrade. Several previous visits were exceptional but the last one, it was as if you don't feel the WELCOME you would expect. Good thing the food was still exceptional. The mussels appetizer is always a hit. Will still definitely come back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank atm888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank You for reviewing us.It means a lot to us. Yes, our cuisine is always been loved for nice flavors and deliciousness with good portions. Mussels is one of the favorite appetizer for foodies.
We apologize that you did not like the service. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you. We will make sure it does not happen again and review the problems with it. Please give us another opportunity and we will try to make sure you are happy. Thank You and will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    37
    9
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The food was good. The decor was very nice except for the tacky paper restroom sign taped to the tile wall. The service was horrible. We had to ask for drink refills. My date got one I never did. We will not go back the service was that bad. The server acted like he was doing us a favor by waiting on us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. It means a lot to us.
We apologize that you did not like the service. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you. We will make sure it does not happen again and review the problems with it. Please give us another opportunity and we will try to make sure you are happy. Thank You and will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spontaneous closure ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My family decided to try this place out and invited some family to meet us there on a Sunday afternoon. We walked in and the rude host sat us at a small awkward table that sat 3 people and just walked away. One side of the booth was big enough for one person and the other side was a normal 2 person booth bench. When the waiter he moved us to a larger table then told us they closed soon and what time would the rest of our party arrive. We responded they would be there in just a few minutes. The waiter told us they close at 230 and we could have the buffet but nothing else as the kitchen was closed now (The hours on the door said they were open until 10 I think it was). Looking over at the picked over old food we decided to leave. I have no review of the food because I never got that far. Although it smelled delicious, being basically told I could have what was left over from the lunch rush, after everyone else had picked over it was not appealing. I think I will pass. There are plenty of other Indian places in the area.

Helpful?
Thank behka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. We apologize that you had issues on your visit. We will review the incident and make sure that does not happen again. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you. Please give us another opportunity and we will try to make sure you are happy. Thank You and will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lack of customer service...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Decided to take advantage during restaurant week, the place didn't seem to be that busy. We were seated right away; however, we reviewed the menus and sat them aside, so the waiter would know that we were ready to order. We stayed as long as we could, 18 minutes and no one showed to take our order, so we high tailed it out of there. I refuse to give my money for mediocre service. Stop in, if you can stand the standoff of service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big-Mike44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank You for taking time out of your busy schedule and reviewing us. It means a lot to us.
We apologize that you had to wait for the server. We will make sure it does not happen again and review the problems with it. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you. Please give us another opportunity and we will try to make sure you are happy. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, but the service is chaotic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We've eaten at this restaurant before because the food is pretty good; however the service and atmosphere unfortunately leave a lot to be desired. Although we made a reservation online, it did not seem to be there. Besides my family, a large group of several couples and families was gathered at the door to the restaurant, without anyone addressing or greeting us. At some point, two couples ended up leaving. While the restaurant has been opened for a few years now, it does not seem they have worked out a system for who greets, who seats, who takes food orders, etc., it's all very chaotic. The men working there almost seem irritated. We had several waiters come to take our first drink and appetizer order, because they did not know someone else had already done it. While one of the waiters really tried to be helpful and seemed genuinely sorry when the food just wasn't arriving, it seems there is no organization in place for who does what job. At one point we asked one of the servers if he could check on our order, he said he would, and simply walked off (not in the direction of the kitchen), and never got back to us. In one part of the restaurant there is a huge tv, and while we were there, CNN was on with a large headline announcing a tragic and shocking situation, something we would normally try and shield our children from. Some appetizers arrived promptly, others took an incredibly long time. From being seated just before 7pm, we did not get our main meals until after 8pm. We normally would not mind lingering over dinner, however, with kids, it's not always easy to wait that long for a meal. The chicken was a bit tough, but food was very good overall. I think with a proper host or hostess, and some better job organization, the place can really be a great restaurant. While we waited for so long for our meals to arrive, it reminded us about the last time, I believe in the beginning of 2013, we tried to eat at this restaurant, and had to take our meals to go because it took so very long for them to be served...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krice65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darshak P, Owner at Saffron Indian Bistro, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank You for reviewing us. It means a lot to us and we are glad that you are our regular and loyal customer. We apologize for the problems you had during your recent visit. Its not standard, and your addressed issues has been discussed with the team and we will make sure that it won't happen again. We strive to make each and every customer happy and make their day. I am sorry that we were unable to do it for you. Please give us another opportunity and we will try to make sure you are happy. Thank You and will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron Indian Bistro also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Saffron Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing