We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near the beach”
Review of Virginia Beach KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Virginia Beach KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had the opportunity to stay here a few times over the last year and most recently for a few weeks while my home was being built. Great location and facilities along with friendly staff - Mary was a difference maker. Bathrooms were always clean and activities were good for the kids. The jet noise is as expected and a cool experience - what do you expect so close to the Navy Jet Base? Will definately go again. KOA has always been a little pricey compared to the other campgrounds but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great place, the pool was closed but looked awesome with a slide. Nice jumping pillow and place for dogs. We loved the store and the assistant manager, Mary. Store was very clean. They had an awesome welcome packet with directions and coupons and even QR cods linking to an activities schedule, love that!
Wonderful Place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsfelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We visited the KOA in Va. Beach over the Labor Day weekend. After the shock of booking a full hookup site, we researched the American Music Festival. The City of Va Beach operates a summer shuttle service that runs to the transfer station. The KOA is one of the better run facilities in the chain. Well-organized activities, two awesome pools( one for the little folks, one for more seasoned campers), a decent camp store, a laundry and a game room. The obligatory bounce pillow is enhanced by a basketball 1/2 court, bocce courts, horseshoe pits and cornhole rigs. Even at capacity, this KOA doesn't seem too crowded. One mile from the Aquarium and 2.5 miles from the beach resort, the Virginia Beach KOA is an awesome choice for a camper looking for a getaway!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This KOA has been a tradition for our family. I grew up coming here in the Summer and for the past 5 years have been bringing my own children. This was the last year! It has been going down hill for the past couple of years but this year was the nail in the coffin.

They have piled up the cabins in the back area so now everyone is on top of each other. In previous years there weren't as many cabins so you could at least have a fire with your family in peace. Now there is little over a foot or 2 between you and your neighbor. Every cabin window is a view into one of the other cabins all around you. So if you dare to go outside you get to hear everyone scream at their kids, hear everyone else's music and lives.

The pool doesn't appear that clean. The slides were a great addition a few years ago but the foam on the climbing apparatus isn't in great shape so it looks a bit funky.

I had family members that were in a regular tent site and found that the showers were disgusting. The stalls had pet hair and dirt caked in them plus no hooks for your towels.

Also, the roads haven't been paved in years so there are huge potholes everywhere. They have upgraded the wireless so it's a little better than previous years but it still isn't great.

This place could be amazing. It has been in the past but bad management, lazy employees and little investment have ruined the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GIRLVX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Not private at all:( everyone is right on top of you. Quite NOT a couple were fighting most of the night and nobody came and told them it was quite hours. It started at 100 am and never stopped. They have campers there that live there all year round and they all had big dogs that were not tied up. We had small children and we picked this place because of the kids. Well we picked wrong we did not feel safe at all they never checked to see if we were even camping at KOA they are to have a person at the gate all 3 times we came back nobody at that gate. Never again will we stay and it is pricey for camping

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byebye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We rented the top of the line loft cabin #6 for the weekend to end our VB vacation. The cabin was cute and everyone enjoyed the loft. Pool and outdoor bouncy pillow were also hits with our 6, 6, & 8 year old girls. I was disappointed to see that there was no cooktop, dusty walls and fans, moldy ac units, and to top it off ROACHES! We were expecting to see any kind if insect except roaches. We don't have any roaches at our house and don't plan on taking any home. I am do annoyed! We will be setting all of our stuff outside to free any stowaways. Maybe fumigating our truck with it all in there. Roaches are hard to get rid of.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oceanblue1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very Nice campground. Pool clean and large, friendly staff, grounds were nice and lots of activities for a family. Seems they make improvements yearly (thank you!) My only issue was that the bathrooms could be cleaner (floors and sink). It was high season,so I understand they were very busy, however ~ I expect for the price I payed for a camping cabin ($100/ night), the bathrooms should be immaculate at all times!

Room Tip: We stayed in Camping Cabin 5, across from the dog park. Nice looking out over a open grassy area. Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roswatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
11.1 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#78 of 109 in Virginia Beach
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,050 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach KOA

Address: 1240 General Booth Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Virginia Beach
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Koa Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing