We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon camping”
Review of Virginia Beach KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Virginia Beach KOA
Wolf_e01
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon camping”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay this past week. Staff was helpful and friendly and my newlywed husband and I were having a blast at the pool andwith activities. The only thing that I would have changed is the campers next to us all the time on our honeymoon but I could have easily booked elsewhere this was a great stay and we have ample alone time with or without other people nearby. Cheap price for wood at camp store but do not buy the cigarettes if you need them get them before your stay they end up at eight dollars their as compared to a seven eleven etc. And the only ones carried are Marlboro red lights and newports. I hope you ok enjoy your stay at va beach koa like we did!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolf_e01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    48
    17
    13
    14
See reviews for
87
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff was somewhat friendly and helpful. There were several things to do there and what looked like a nice pool. Our spot was about 50 yards from the road, so all night long all we heard were little hot rod Hondas and such and sports bikes revving the engine and flying as fast as they could go, I'm talking 1-3am here. I didn't mind the planes overhead because it was day time. 11pm is the quiet time supposedly... People talking and music playing, dogs barking way after 12am. Wear your shoes in the shower. There is like a board platform in the shower and all the water puddles around your feet until it goes under to the drain. The toilet stalls are so small you almost have to straddle the toilet to open and close the doors. The store had some decent prices on things though.
It wasn't the worst place but it has some issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyser, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

we stayed at the one in va beach. gen. boooth boulevard. When we first got to the campsite it was late at night so we set our tent up in the dark, that's all fine and good. when we got up in the morning we cooked breakfast. we had one of the tent areas, it was cute and nice. me and my housemate decided to go explore the campsite. we went into the store and looked around. we went outside and saw the giant chess board (that was awesome). on the way back to the campsite she suggested to bounce on the bubble trampoline thing. i was like sure, little kids were doing it perfectly fine so i shouldnt get hurt right? well....i bounced once and landed wrong and fell off. i sprained my ankle. it's definitely not safe. the next day it was raining and there were little kids still playing on it!!!! i complained to one of the staff members and he mentioned that another little kid had hurt his ankle. i also mentioned that maybe they should have a staff member supervising that play area because its dangerous. no one helped me when i sprained my ankle on it! you know what they told me? oh we don't have enough staff to do that. then why not hire more people? people are always looking for jobs right? all i'm saying is DONT LET YOUR KIDS PLAY ON THE BUBBLE TRAMPOLINE!!! it's dangerous. also they need a drain in the handicap shower/bathroom.

Room Tip: if you plan on staying while its raining dont get a tent site! oh and the squirells got into our stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We've stayed at many KOAs and this one is as good if not better than others. Not sure why all the bad reviews but we are camping in an RV so can't speak to tent sites. We have a corner site, perfectly level, and the staff has been super friendly thus far. Fighter jets fly overhead semi regularly which is an awesome sight for anyone so if you are with kids they will get a thrill for sure. They are loud but they're spectacular. Convenient shuttles to the beach and a clean camp store with all the amenities. The campground also has a large pool with two cool slides. We are happy to be here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LA07726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We chose this KOA campground due to its proximal location to NAS Oceania where our Daughter was stationed. So we Pay what I feel is a premium at $74 per day, then an extra $2 for your military family member to come and visit you at your site. $8 bucks if they want to them stay past the pumpkin hour of 11pm.
And they have parking KOA Nazi's out to give you grief if you one minute past the 11 pm bewitching hour, so It seams petty and cheep-o to charge military family members extra to visit relatives.

Also most sites are swampy as there is lots of standing water to the point they have decks, yes decks for pull throughs so you have something dry to stand on..

Lots of kids walking in the middle of the roads and its noisy with kids screeching at all hours.

I would not recommend this KOA to a friend or would return to this establishment in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
194 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We come to Virginia Beach annually but this was our first KOA camp here. We don't mind the jet noise at all, but the service was disappointing. They are supposed to pick up the garbage each am at 9. Ours was never picked up, then birds tore open the garbage and we had to run around and pick it up in the rain. We planned to stay 4 nights. Guests must stay a minimum of 3 nights. It's been raining and the entire campground is soupy. Tent sites are flooded. We are checking out a day early and they refuse to return the money for the last day. We will try another camp next time. I expected more from a KOA and am a bit disappointed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RamponaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The tent sites were not mowed. Water pooled everywhere. Water spicket pointed to sky couldn't get water. Cabins full of wasp bees and need exterminator badly. Most filthy sick bathrooms we've seen. No drainage pooled with dirt, water, filth, and bugs all over walls. No paper towels. Pestered by raccoon called night duty management never called. If u do not rv don't stay here. Unkept filthy place. Let day early with no refund ate the 55 or more dollars.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gypsygirls37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
11.1 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach KOA

Property: Virginia Beach KOA
Address: 1240 General Booth Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Virginia Beach
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Koa Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing