We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average quality beach bar”

Ocean House Waterfront Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #215 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighbourhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average quality beach bar”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Limited menu but nice location. Food was good overall, but nothing special. Great view of the beach and the service was also good. If you are looking for a simple beach bar with reasonable prices, this is just fine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    41
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Casual dinning, no wait to eat, fast service.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Nice view of ocean and board walk. Quick food delivery and fast service. Good salad and fried fish. I would reccomend this place for family dining or drinks too. Very relaxing environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelmomkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect place and perfect day for a few beers”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I walked up the boardwalk last week shortly after arriving in VB. Our first stop to relax with a cold beer was Ocean Deck.

The second floor outside covered deck was perfect on a picture perfect day. The pints of craft beer were cold and tasty ($5). A happy hour would be nice.

We did not have any food, so I cannot comment on that. The location, view, and beer are worth the trip for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location. Restaurant on the rise.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We were recommended the Ocean House by a woman working at an information booth. She had told us the restaurant had two separate balcony locations ensuring a nice view of the ocean and that the restaurant was gaining in popularity.

We arrived for dinner on a Friday at 5:30 it was oddly deserted as only one couple was there at the time. The waiters instructed us to choose wherever we wanted to sit which was nice; we went to the lower balcony directly on the boardwalk. Our waiter was very nice however, since he chose not to write down our orders one of our dishes was commented incorrect. The mistake was quickly taken care of and we were offered to keep the extra unwanted food on the house but no one in my party enjoys oysters.

The food was quite good. Everything was nicely served however the portion sized and prices varied quite drastically. A crab dip we ordered was very small and quite pricey whereas one of our entrees of shrimp was huge and cheap.

Overall very nice experience. We would visit again. I will post photos of the menu and pricing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ettrick, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We LOVED this restaurant when we visited the beach this past weekend and will definitely be eating there again this weekend when we head back. The drinks were, although, pricey, delicious!! Drinks were $9 for a mixed specialty drink and Landsharks were $3.00. We ordered the Fried Oyster Meal ($18) and it came with a nice serving of Fried Oysters, Roasted Red Potatoes and Green Beans! We also ordered the Oyster Beinville ($12), which is Oysters on the half shell, baked with Crab Stuffed Shrimp on top! Both plates were beyond amazing and will earn them another visit! Our waitress was sweet as can be and offered us excellent service!

We were there, together, as a couple! Nothing romantic about the place, but it is right on the boardwalk with the beach and water right there for your view! Patio offered a great lunch for our last minute trip to the beach for the day!

Additionally, the prices were for fresh seafood and considering we were at the beach...it was to be expected! =)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean House Waterfront Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean House Waterfront Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing