We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kayaking with dan and the boys”

Kayak Nature Tours, Ltd.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are the most exciting "thing to do in Virginia Beach." Our 2.5 hour guided Kayak Dolphin Tours start in late May and continue through October, where you can experience wild dolphins up close and personal. This is our most exciting kayak adventure launching through the surf into the Atlantic Ocean. We have been operating for 16 years as a professional guided kayak tour company in the Hampton Roads area. We offer fun, exciting, and memorable kayak tours throughout Southeast Virginia. We have built an excellent reputation among local guests and visitors alike. Our other 2.5 hour tours take place on calm inland protected waters to The Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge, First Landing State Park, North West River, or our sunset tour in the beautiful Norfolk Botanical Gardens. We have 2.5 hour trips to other locations and all day trips to the Deserted Beaches of the Eastern Shore and Lake Drummond in the Great Dismal Swamp National Wildlife Refuge.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I love Dan! His instruction was perfect and he and the other two guides really helped make this a very enjoyable trip for my grandson and I. I have already recommended the trip to several people at work and will continue to do so. We really had a great day. The dolphins cooperated and we saw about three pods of four or five dolphins, including a baby. Great trip. Patricia W, Richmond, VA

Thank PatriciaW20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakNatureToursLTD, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Nature Tours, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Patricia,

We are glad you had a great trip with us and we hope you come out with us again! Dan has been with us for many years and we love having him as one of our lead guides. Thanks for your great recommendations!

Team KNT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the reservation process to the experience, everything was top notch. I had never kayaked before, but with Dan's instructions, everyone in my tour did excellent. It was a windy day so we got quite a workout; yes! We saw many schools of dolphins! It was a great experience!! Thank you KNT!!

Thank carlzwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakNatureToursLTD, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Nature Tours, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We always love to hear when our guides and staff do a great job and we are even more excited to hear our customers had a great experience on the water with us. We hope you'll come out with us again soon!

Thanks!

Team KNT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am so happy we decided to do this ! The guide was wonderful, he explained every detail, and put me at ease for the trip. The waters were perfect, I didn't get flipped at all! We saw soo many dolphins, we followed the pod, and got to see a baby! Highly recommend doing this! You can't beat $60 to see dolphins so close, and have an amazing guide taking you out! SO HAPPY!!

Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakNatureToursLTD, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Nature Tours, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks, for taking the Dolphin Adventure Tour. The guides do an awesome job and we are glad you mentioned, they did. Your review showed such great enthusiasm about your the Dolphin Tour, it is awesome. Thanks, Team KNT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our kids had a great time on this adventure. The kayak tour exceeded their expectations. They saw up to 30 dolphins. One word of constructive feedback is to make sure people know where to stop when paddling out.

Thank ajboudreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakNatureToursLTD, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Nature Tours, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are glad you had a great time. Seeing the Dolphins are definitely a highlight of the tour. Thanks for the feedback about how far people should paddle out. Our guides do tell people, but we reiterate this detail again. Thanks,Team KNT!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Kayaking in the ocean was not only the best way to see a LOT of dolphins, but the best bargain too. The trip really is suitable for all skill levels as the guides are extremely helpful and knowledgable. Thane and Justin were awesome. All of the tips on the website are good. I would do it again although I might want to try the other kayaking trip sometime.

Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakNatureToursLTD, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Nature Tours, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Kayaking in the ocean is awesome, no matter how many times we see the Dolphins, we get excited! We are very lucky to have such a great staff. Thanks for checking us out. The KNT Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayak Nature Tours, Ltd. also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Nature Tours, Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing