We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Causal Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Bay Gourmet

Back Bay Gourmet
Ranked #249 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, Causal Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

For good food and a pleasant dining experience, put this place on your list. Indoor and outdoor dining suitable for family, friends and couples. Prices are reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    4
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Va. Beach
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Vb local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Great food wish they had more on there menu great atmosphere. Great employes they went way over to make sure our food or any togo order was just what we where expecting

Helpful?
Thank Megs687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Menu had fabulous choices and different versions of classic sandwiches. First class all the way.... I wish I would have tried the cupcakes!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I paid my first visit to Back Bay Gourmet this weekend and was pleasantly surprised. From the outside, it looked more like a gift shop, but inside it was very nice. The gift shop is part of it, but the dining area is cozy and the people were very friendly. Our food was DELICIOUS, but the service did take a while. Apparently they were understaffed that day, and our waitress wasn't too good about removing plates. BUT, I will definitely return for the food, and will give the service a second chance. (As an added bonus, the place has gourmet food in a freezer that you can take home and cook for a nice gourmet "home-cooked" meal when needed.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tchr24th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Back Bay Gourmet's Sunday brunch is wonderful. They open at 10am and reservations are highly recommended. The ingredients are very fresh and portions are generous. The staff is very friendly and provide good service. I highly recommend any of the omelets, the egg benedict with crab cake and the waffles.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gogogogoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Bay Gourmet also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Back Bay Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing