We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a "Resort"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Not a "Resort"”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My family and I stayed here for a family weeding being held nearby. The facilities are very dated. The rooms are clean, however the hallways consistantly had dirty dishes piled up everywhere. It appears the room service did not pick up after delivery. Some of the same dishes remained over a 24-hr period. There were no towels ever in the pool, sauna area. The Starbucks/shop area was closed frequently with a sign reading "back in 5 min" - this happened several times - so often we went to the front desk to inquire as to if/when it would be open. There was no free internet service except in the lobby (VERY small and busy) or in the Starbuck's shop - that was rarely open... these days free wireless service is very common in hotels - do not know why we would have to pay 9.99 for this service in our room? The staff was courteous - but I do not feel that this could be called a resort -did not experience any amenities - not much better than a motel - would rather have spent my money somewhere else

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a clear view of the water - we had a water view only if you leaned over the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thanks Katrina for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We value our guests’ comments and make every attempt to improve upon our service levels. We will closely examine this with our staff making every attempt to provide exceptional guest experiences in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    190
    150
    125
    151
See reviews for
378
166
31
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emporia, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My famly and I went down on a Friday night and stayed two nights. I have mixed reviews. Despite seeing the bad reviews about being loud, I booked and asked for a corner room on an upper level. The rooms are alittle dated but not bad, they reminded me of a Days Inn, nothing fancy. They are clean though, minus a large stain on the carpet in the bathroom. THe carpet had better days but were clean. .THe first night was very, very, loud. I had to call security because of a fight in the hallway between two men and a woman several doors down. About an hour later the same woman was heard screaming in her room and someone else called them again. We could not sleep due to security having to knock of their doors so often When I complained I was told I would be mailed a free voucher for a free night stay. The hotel is on the bay so you do not have to walk to the beach. It is beautiful. They have a nice deck. We also enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi as well as the nice sauna. The pool and beach were clean. The second night the noise was much better, however when we went to swim in the indoor pool it was closed at 8:00pm for maintance. The kids were disappointed about this. To be honest, I don't know if i woul come back or not, but we will to use our free night stay. It is away from the business of the strip so it is much quieter on the beach, which we enjoyed. It is also just a short walk to the fishing pier, which is great for fishing lovers! Also, the staff are very friendly, which is a plus.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner room, away from the elevators, most rooms appear to have a "bay" view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebbeszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your comments and praise about our great team of employees. We are confident that during your next visit with us you will have enriched memories of your time spent here in Virginia Beach. Your previous hotel neighbor had not allowed you to sufficiently relax so we do hope that you will come back again soon to enjoy all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We arrived at 10:00 PM and our room was not ready and could not be prepared, so we had to use one room for the first night and another for the rest of our stay. Neither room was very clean. We arrived with another couple and they had to change rooms because of mold.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Your review is important to us and having to shift guest rooms upon late arrival to the hotel is not the initial reception we enjoy giving our visitors. Recognizing this, hotel management had immediately aimed to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Since all of our rooms are spacious with many having outstanding bay views, we hope you still enjoyed the beautiful sunsets and many hotel amenities. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Manassas
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family and I stayed at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel over Spring Break. My kids loved the pool and staff. They were very friendly and helpful. Though the rooms are a bit dated, the view was superb. We also loved the food at "Tradewinds" which is the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms with view were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great location!!!! This hotel is not admist the craze of the beach hotel strip, but instead just in a residental community on a private beach! (But just a short 10-15 minute drive if you want to embark upon the high traffic beach zone) Loved it!! The hotel could use cosmetic updates/refurb. but it was clean and the staff/service was great! This a perfect place to enjoy the beautiful calm bay waters (great for kids to play..no rough waves like at the ocean!). Lots of sandbars to walk out on. Could hear the hotel room hallway traffic through the door, but we notice that at a lot of hotels. The suite style rooms are great! Separate sleeping and living areas. Kitchenette came in very handy for early morning hungry kids! Great balconies positioned to see the water! Recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for at least tier 3 or better...you'll be closer to the water. (you can request sunrise side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deermech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

If you are going for a pretty view of the bay, then this is your hotel. If you are planning on getting any sleep, forget this hotel. As other reviews have stated, you hear everything. First, the layout of the room is a big factor for this. You open the door, two steps into the room you are at the bed. Not sure why the rooms were designed this way. Add to it rude, loud and inconsiderate guests and you have a formula for no sleep. Not only did I hear loud guests, I heard guests cussing out other guests for being too loud. The back part of the room, the living area, is huge and looks out over the bay. Not sure why they didn't put the beds here instead. Would have made it more quiet. Also, the hotel is looking dated and old. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. The other staff though, would never smile, say hello or anything. They just put their head down and walk on past. Overall, if you are staying here to party, great hotel, great views and good location to lots of places to eat. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, I recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsjustme47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thanks very much for the candid review of your stay as we are always trying to improve the guest experience at our hotel. The oversized living area within each room tends to work best for the many families and guests who enjoy relaxing and taking in the beautiful view of the Chesapeake Bay together. We are sorry that some other guests within the hotel spoiled your sleep while you were here. We do hope however, that you were able to take advantage of all the other hotel amenities (pool, sauna, beach and fitness room) while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed at the Virginia Beach Resort Hotel this pass weekend. I was not impressed. You walked into the room there was the bedroom, bath in the middle and living area with balcony in the back. This would not be bad I if there had not been a tremendous amount of noise in the hallway during the early morning hours (midnitght to 2 AM). The rooms were very dated. The microwave was at least 20 years old and did not work. The carpets in the rooms were well worn. In our room housekeeping made the bed and gave us new towels and that was it. The majority of hotels offer free internet, but not here. Internet is $10 a day. The only good thing it was on the beach. Definitely not worth the $129 a night..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpsonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceypatrick, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay. It appears the timing of your visit coincided with a group that was also staying with us and it’s disappointing to hear that their inconsiderate behavior kept you awake so late in the evening. Our resort location appeals to various people (families, couples, corporate clientele and groups) however our primary goal is to help provide guests with a relaxing stay and happy memories on the Chesapeake Bay. We’re not sure if you were aware, but despite there being a nominal in-room Wi-Fi charge, we do offer it complimentary in nearly all other public areas of the hotel including the business center. Thank you for your comments as we will be sure to manage these concerns closely going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#75 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2800 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing