We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fourth business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Pound, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fourth business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This was my fourth time staying at the hotel. I stayed at the hotel four nights for a business conference. All staff members were extremely nice, but the housekeeping was poor and the beds were extremely hard.

There was hair in the bathroom floor upon arrival and the floor was not cleaned during the stay. The bed linens were only barely pulled up and were disheveled, the pillows were not put in place and the rest of the room received minimal cleaning on Thursday. In addition we were only given two wash clothes each day so upon washing our face at night, we did not have clean wash clothes for the next morning.

Overall I enjoyed the stay and this was the first time in four years that I experienced any problems.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank one4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
While we thank you so much for both staying with us recently and also for your feedback we are disappointed read that our level of service received was not what it should have been. Having stayed with us before we know you realize that this is not typical for us and we do apologize. We’ll be sure to follow up with our staff and ensure it is cured for future. We appreciate you continuing to visit our resort on the bay and look forward to seeing you again next time. Feel free to also stay in touch at: Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    186
    149
    121
    146
See reviews for
367
165
31
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The service at this hotel was great. The staff let us check in early due to an early arrival, and was very helpful our entire visit. The view from the room was beautiful. The only problem we had was when we were trying to sleep. We were near the elevators and we could hear people coming and going all night. If you are a sound sleeper, you will probably be fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for recognizing our great staff here at the Virginia Beach Resort Hotel! Our staff works hard to ensure everyone has the best possible time while here for either vacation or business. We are sorry to see that your sleep was disrupted during your stay and do hope that that will not deter you from coming back another time. We’ll be sure to provide you a room in a more secluded place next time! We’d love for you to follow us at: Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a hotel of people who understand what "customer service" means.

Our soccer team was scheduled to compete in a tournament that was rained out in 2013. We didn't find out until the day before our reservation. Although the hotel was not required to, they chose to issue us vouchers to use for a later stay.

We used them to participate in a Memorial Day tournament. From the first phone call, the staff was very focused on customer service.
- Vicki Wicher, in group sales, did an excellent job coordinating our reservations. She was even able to help us when we needed additional rooms two days before we were set to arrive.
- The front desk helped me get the voucher assigned to the right rooms so that everyone could check in correctly and efficiently.
- When we wanted to do a "team bonding" event, the hotel staff were able to get me the number for the equipment rental company. Mia was quick and efficient... she pulled together 15 paddleboards and two kayaks and had them ready for us withing 3 hours. After a tough, hot day of soccer, our girls had a GREAT time on the water.
- After that, the hotel staff were able to help us decide what restaurant could accommodate a large group for dinner on the VA Beach strip. (I couldn't have figured it out on my own.)
- Any time I needed anything, it came up quickly and with a smile.
- Our rooms were great! They were clean and bright... and I LOVED that it was a SMOKE FREE facility!!
- I loved the private beach. As a parent, it's nice to let your kids have the beach experience without the issues of a public beach (parking, crowds, etc.)
- ALSO was very happy that there was a grocery store right across the street. Very handy. I served continental breakfast for the team from my room every morning. It worked GREAT!
- Did I mention how happy the girls were when they found out there was a Starbucks RIGHT IN the hotel?!? (They were VERY happy!)
There were lots of different groups in the hotel that weekend... I know there was a wrestling team and at least two different weddings. But I felt like we were the only guests there. Everything we needed was taken care of efficiently.

I'd absolutely go back there again, and I'd recommend it to anyone who asked.

By the way, we took first place in our division in the tournament! It MUST be due to the relaxing visit, and the great care that we received at the hotel.

Thanks for a FUN, memorable visit to all the staff of the VA Beach Resort Hotel!!

From the Team Manager of BAC Fire & Ice, Burke, Virginia

Room Tip: If you have to have it quiet when you sleep, ask for a room on a higher floor (the 2nd floor is righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Congratulations on taking first place in your division during the Memorial Day soccer tournament! We are confident that your girls played hard and deserved this wonderful achievement. Thank you so much for your kind words about our resort, staff and amenities overall. We work hard to make our guests comfortable whether they are here for work or play and we were so happy to host you at the hotel. Thank you for recommending our hotel on the bay to others as that is the biggest compliment of all. We look forward to seeing you back with us another time and again want to congratulate you on the big win! Feel free to stay in touch and post a picture or two from your recent stay with us at: Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I agree totally with the other reviewers when they mention the outdated asthetics of this place. It is definitely a 80's throw back. Dated furniture, bathroom fixtures and tube televisions. I just may be insulting the Econo Lodge here and i really mean no harm. Econo Lodge probably has flat screen televisions and that's one up on this place. Hallways are dimly lit with popcorn ceilings throughout. $200.00 a night for this, why???

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enjoylife2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are disappointed to see that you did not have an enjoyable time while with us recently. Your comments are appreciated and will be reviewed with management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Gates, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had to stand at front desk for over 5 minutes before acknowledged (ONLY person at desk to check in) and two persons behind desk. Lost a confirmed reservation made a month in advance (and reconfirmed a week before arrival), overcharged quoted price and took almost a week to get money reimbursed, charged an incidental fee PER NIGHT OF STAY (beware - if you stay a week you will be charged 50$ PER NIGHT and NOT per stay as most all hotels require, so be prepared to authorize an extra $350 on your credit card when you check in) dirty linen left in bathroom by whom we hoped was housekeeping, and when we finally did get our (first) room at 10:30 pm was given keys to an already occupied room (talk about surprise and thank goodness they were only watching TV and not otherwise occupied)! Went to get a new room and had to argue that room was indeed occupied. Their solution to all of this was a complimentary breakfast... oh, excuse me. a coupon for $10 off breakfast only.

We traveled out of state for a friends wedding and were supposed to have a block of rooms reserved all together. We were on the second, third and sixth floors. I do a lot of traveling for work and I can tell you this was the worst service ever ALL THE WAY AROUND, do NOT recommend.

Room Tip: Not a quiet hotel - 10 weddings going on at time - talk about each floor having a party (ALL night l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobayway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We truly apologize that you did not have a better experience at our hotel as so many others travelers do. Your comments about the level of service you received are not typical of our resort and we will be sure to investigate and see what may have occurred during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hotel met our needs, but could use some updating. Food was actually pretty good. Price wasn't bad for being a resort. The hotel needs to get it soda machines fixed. Lost money, finally went down to the desk and the excellent staff refunded my money with no problem. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. The elevators on the other hand were a pain. They were so slow. I liked the sink and mirror, separate from the bathroom facility and shower. Saved much time getting ready every morning. Room was clean, felt kind of funny walking into the bedroom and then into the living area. .This is an all suite hotel. After being there for a couple of days, liked the fact that we could just sit at the table or the balcony or sofa and enjoy looking at the ocean or bay, what ever that was outside of our room. People were in the pool, but we were there for a conference, so didn't take advantage of either the indoor or outdoor pool. Weather wasn't that great for swimming this weekend anyway.

Room Tip: We had room 344 and was very nice. Didn't like the pillows, but then again, I use feather pillo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sk361Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments about our hotel, service and amenities. We do hope that your conference was successful and only wish you could have taken advantage of our indoor pool and other amenities if your schedule had allowed. Yes, our unique suite layout provides maximum use of the living space in order to provide more quality time and enjoyment of the beautiful views of the Chesapeake Bay. We hope you found the view from your private balcony relaxing and hope you can return and spend some more time with us again next time. You are welcome to stay in touch via: Facebook.com/VBResorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The experience here was everything a hotel should be! Luxurious bedding, prompt and friendly staff that go out of their way, beautiful location. I will recommend this hotel to all who visit Virginia Beach!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mssunnydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We welcome you and your family anytime and are pleased to see that their stay was enjoyable. Our resort staff makes every attempt to provide guests with all the comforts of home and more! We do hope they were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful views of the Chesapeake Bay and the private beach behind our hotel. Your recommendation and continued business is extremely appreciated and we thank you for choosing us in your family plans. We look forward to having them back again next time, but until then, be sure to remain in touch at: Facebook.com/VBResorthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
5.0 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
7.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
6.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#72 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2800 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing