We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virginia Beach's Best Hidden Secret - Perfect Wedding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #71 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Virginia Beach's Best Hidden Secret - Perfect Wedding Location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I thought I knew Virginia Beach hotels but this past week I discovered the Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center. This hotel has a great location, private beach and a staff that goes out of their way to ensure customers feel like family.

I didn't know that they had a private beach, good food and great location to everything Virginia Beach. This hotel really is at the heart of doing a ton of activities while enjoying a relaxing vacation. Plus, they have paddle board classes and are a great resource for companies looking for a great retreat that focuses on team building activities.

I can't wait to book a room in the winter because they have an indoor/outdoor pool that my kids are going to love. But what I find best about this hotel is it isn't around all the crazy that happens in the resort area. I like heading to a bar but don't like the silliness attached to that scene. I like fun but want to keep my stay safe.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face Chesapeake Bay but the best views are in the suites and you see more if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty_Swartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us and we are thrilled to see that you had a great visit while here at the bay. Our resort does host many weddings and events in addition to family vacations and meeting retreats. We accommodate all guests with superior service allowing them to relax and have fun while they are here. We do hope to see your and your children in the winter time and hope you’ll stay in touch at: Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    190
    150
    125
    151
See reviews for
378
166
31
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our family stays here every time we visit the area. It's your average big box style 1970s hotel. Upside: all rooms have a beach view, there is an inside & an outside pool, it's right on the beach (which is on the bay), there are fun rentals on the beach (windsurfing, sail boats, pedal boats, stand up paddle boards) rooms are decent, each with a small kitchenette & sitting area. The rooms are rather outdated though, old TVs, old appliances some of which don't work. Downside: it is rather far away from the busy VA Beach strip, some of the rooms are rather raggedy, there is no continental breakfast(and watch out for the brunch buffet, it costs about $28 per person! We almost had a coronary when we got the bill for our family of 4!), there's only a fridge & an outdated microwave in the kitchenette & no cutlery at all, so you need to bring your own. Since it's on the bay there are no waves which our boys were not happy about however is perfect for the wee ones! The layout of some of the rooms is a bit unfortunate, you walk into the bedroom off the hall which makes it loud & inconvenient if someone is trying to sleep. The penthouse rooms have really amazing beach views & the linens are very nice too. The value is pretty good since it is beachfront. There are great places to eat within walking distance & overall I think it's a nice, kid friendly, low key place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovelylisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We appreciate you staying at our bay front resort also for your valuable feedback. We hope you had a wonderful time here in the Virginia Beach area and thank you for choosing our hotel in your vacation plans. We welcome you to visit our page at: Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you are looking for a beep bop, late night party time go further down the beach to the boardwalk. Here the beach is uncrowded with plenty of room for umbrellas, beach chairs-- it even has a volley ball net. The waves are gentle and view of the chesapeake bay bridge tunnel is spectacular. I enjoy watching the boats coming and going out of Lynhaven Inlet. Once I have my fill of the beach, I stroll up to the indoor / outdoor pool to lounge with the same spectacular views. I had a bay front room that is really a mini suite with a large balcony. Clean and comfy with excellent beds.
I come here again and again.

Room Tip: Spend a few more bucks and get the bay front rooms. They are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are delighted that you had such a great time here at our bay front resort. Our hotel does have plenty of amenities and fun activities to keep guests busy, not to mention the direct access to the private beach and bay. Thanks for the great comments and we do hope that we’ll see you here again soon. Please keep in touch! Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was really impressed at the room we got the price we paid. We had some wet carpet and hotel personnel we there in less than 5 minutes to address the problem. The kids loved the mermaid that visited the pool. I recommend this hotel for your next stay in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BABivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for the perfect score and great recommendation! We do hope that you’ll let many of your friends and family know about your experience with us and hope that you will come back and visit again! Please stay in touch: Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was my husband and I 25th year coming to the Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and we again had a wonderful time. There were over 35 of us. Stacey, Shifflet was kind enough to get us all shirts to have our annual picture taken. We really enjoyed showing them off! Again want to thank everyone for making this a memorable experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theothermartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for posting comments about your recent visit as we LOVE having you, your friends and family stay with us each year. We are glad that the shirts worked out well and you have many fond memories and photos to look back upon. Feel free to share a photo or two from your visit at: Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place technically is not in Virginia beach proper. Its just over the bridge and is not oceanfront. It sits on the bay and in my opinion, it a complete waste of time. drive another 15 minutes and be on the oceanfront

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Despite not being situated directly at the oceanfront amongst all of the other hotels, many of our guests do enjoy our tranquil setting, private beach on the Chesapeake bay, and easy access to similar attractions and restaurants. We’re sorry that you didn’t realize our location was slightly away from the ocean and do hope you had fun while in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have read the other stuff and I can tell you FIRST hand that this place is awesome! We were on the bayfront which was our private ocean away from the busy bulky oceanfront! The staff are both friendly and professional, the location to all of the other main attractions made getting around even easier and did I mention the hotel has a shuttle service so you can also save on gas and travel costs because the oceanfront parking is hectic! This was our first year hosting our reunion and the committee has already decided that we will celebrate our reunion next year at the Virginia Beach Hotel and Conference Center!

Room Tip: ask for the bayfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceyShiflet, General Manager at Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us recently and we are thrilled to see that you and your reunion group had a wonderful time. Your endorsement is greatly appreciated as we also feel that our resort provides a great setting to host vacations, meetings and family get-aways. We look forward to your return next year and hope you will keep in touch at: Facebook.com/VBResortHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#75 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
7.5 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2800 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1327
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Cente offers a secluded beach for guest use only, plus a year-round indoor pool, seasonal outdoor pool, spa tub, fitness center, and complimentary tennis at the Virginia Beach Tennis Club. THere is a Restaurant and Lounge offering wonderful food selections.This ALL SUITES Resort guestrooms have balconies with a view of the beach and bay, plus a separate living area with sofa bed. Suites include 2 TVs, and kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, and coffeemakers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hotel
Virginia Beach Resort Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing