We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hot tub”
Review of Turtle Cay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Cay Resort
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and hot tub”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I love this place. The staff is very friendly and there are several great restaurants within walking distance as well as the beach across the street. Walk next door to a coffee shop, ice-cream and deli. Walk .5 miles to the inlet for three more great restaurants. Once you park your car under the the covered garage, you won't really have to drive again until you leave; unless you fancy something in particular. Called maintenance and they appeared within minutes to fix the problem. Soaking jacuzzi tub exist in big units. Have enjoyed trips here for a few days the past two years. Last year seemed quieter. This year our room backed to Pacific highway, so maybe there was more traffic noise, as well as music from the nightclub next door. I used ear plugs, but could still hear some noise. I am a light sleeper though. It would be nice if there was a soap dish because the soap kept sliding off the ledge into the sink, and a few more towel bars or hooks in the bathrooms. The unit itself is very nice except the twin mattresses are not firm enough for my comfort. Also, the gas fireplace does not have a flew, so when you turn it on ( with a timer set for 30 minutes) eventually you will smell gas and get a headache within 10 minutes if you are sensitive. Just turn it off and open the door to get fresh air, which of course defeats the purpose of warming up with a nice cozy fire. Pools and hot tubs are nice; though hot tubs have some plant debris. Kitchen and kitchenette are very nicely designed. Included is a basic set of pots and a blender. The fridge in this unit is noisy, so not much sleep even with earplugs on this trip, but I still had fun. Hair dryers, iron/board, and a safe to lock valuables are in the smaller unit, which are very nice conveniences. I can't wait to go back next year!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meretravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette F, General Manager at Turtle Cay Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for the thorough review about our resort. We also value your suggestions that you mentioned in your review.
The next time that you stay with us, we invite you to call the resort directly to request a room location of your preference that will meet your needs. The resort will make every attempt possible to meet your request for a specific room or room location.
One of the best assets about our property is our south end location. Even though you are located on the quieter end of the resort area, you are still within a close walk or a short trolley ride away from the area’s best restaurants and attractions.
Again, thank you for your thorough review, your comments and suggestions. We hope that the team will have the opportunity to see you again soon.
Warmest Regards,



Lynette Fournier
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    118
    58
    54
    32
See reviews for
160
99
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here for a week through a timeshare exchange. The place is very clean. The pool is tested several times a day and the area well maintained. The staff was friendly and courteous. We had a great time. Would definitely come here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cleanunglady147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette F, General Manager at Turtle Cay Resort, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Your comments regarding our property cleanliness and overall condition of our courtyard pool area has been shared with our team here at the Turtle Cay.We hope that you have the chance to see us again soon. Thank you again.
Warmest Regards,

Lynette Fournier
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My family stayed here because of the kitchen facilities as my grandson has many food allergies. Eating out is not an option at this point. The patio had several dozen peanut shells on the floor. There were a couple of pieces of some kind of chocolate cookie on the floor. Very troubling for a child with allergies. The carpet appeared clean but obviously had not been shampooed in some time. My granddaughter who crawls had filthy pajamas after an hour on the floor. Also found a small piece of glass on the floor.

Odd layout in unit. You enter through the bedroom then into the living area. Makes you feel like you are being held hostage if any sleeps late or naps.

So the resort appears nice and well maintained but there is room for improvement. Disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette F, General Manager at Turtle Cay Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort here on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that our resort failed to meet your family’s accommodations. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your suite is very concerning and assure you that we will be taking the appropriate action necessary with the team here at the Turtle Cay.
Our one-bedroom suites are laid out with the bedroom in the front and the living room in the rear in order to maximize the views of our courtyard from your suite. We do have a limited number of one-bedroom units that feature the bedroom in the rear and living room in the front of the suite.
Thank you again for your time and we hope that you intend on giving us a second chance. Take care.
Warmest Regards,



Lynette Fournier
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreve, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We checked in upon arrival and the service wasn't terrible. We were told we had been upgraded to a mini penthouse, so that was nice. It took us about 15 minutes to find our room & we were getting irritated. The overall setup of locations for the rooms is stupid. & you can tell we weren't the only ones with a confused look on our faces in the parking garage. Our room was nicer to us when we first entered, because then we started noticing the negatives. We had to clean our countertops and glass tabletop before using, the refrigerator was leaking onto the tile, my husband's coffee wasn't useable because the bag had a hole in it, the huge flat screen tv didn't have a good picture, and I wouldn't dare let my son play too much on the dirty carpet. The pool wasn't bad, but there is obviously a duck problem. My son enjoyed swimming all day, but I wasn't impressed by the adults soaking up the sun in the kids area with their coolers of beer. That area was for the children to splash around and whatnot. There was also a sign that said "No alcoholic beverages" and the workers walked by several times & said nothing to them. Also, my husband and I are 90% sure that one of the workers walked by a group of girls and secretly held his phone at his side to snap pictures of them in their swimsuits. The cleanliness of the building could have been a little better. We would say the place needs a nice power wash and some detailed cleaning to the staircases and everything. Another issue was that anyone could access the hotel because the doors would just open without having to use a key card. Overall, our stay wasn't terrible. We have already discussed that we will not be going back to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraRist31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette F, General Manager at Turtle Cay Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We thank you and appreciate that you were able to dedicate the time to write a review about our resort. We are sorry that our accommodations and our property failed to meet your requirements and I assure you that all of your comments regarding the cleanliness and condition of your suite and the overall condition property are looked into. Your comments regarding the staircases being able to open without a room key is very concerning. We will be taking another look into how we can maintain that security for our guests and owners.

We are a family property; therefore, we maintain select policies geared towards maintaining a family environment. The resort takes alcoholic beverages being consumed in the public serious, and will review your comments and concerns with the team here at Turtle Cay.

Once again, we are very sorry that our accommodations failed to meet your expectations.



Warmest Regards,



Lynette Fournier
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, new york
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My friends and I stayed at another hotel across the street, but were able to use the pool at Turtle Cay. It's a nice layout and is heated. The hotel employees were nice when we asked for the key to enter the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank frankieb6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette F, General Manager at Turtle Cay Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the out door amenities. We hope the next time that you visit the area that you have the chance to stay with us.


Warmest regards,


Lynette Fournier
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Turtle Cay the week of 4/21-4/27/14. We were surprised at how spacious the suite was. Kitchen was huge with stainless steel appliances, and the dishwasher, we had no idea it was running because of being so quiet. The flat screen over the fireplace had a good picture. The balcony was spacious, however there wass a problem with the birds in the courtyard area. Birds were constantly flying on the balconies and of course bird poop was on the porch. Two heated pools and jacuzzi's are also in the courtyard, however the ducks swim in the pools as well. We informed the front desk about the ducks and was told the city will not let them remove the ducks. Needless to say, we never got in the pool and did not eat out on the deck. Staff was friendly. Bathroom toilet was running as well as jacuzzi tub. Our bedroom faced Pacific avenue, therefore we could not sleep because of the constant traffic. The pull-out bed in the living room was comfy. I personally prefer to be in a beachfront property, however this room was much better than the ones on the beach.

Room Tip: Try not to get a suite with bedrooms on the Pacific Avenue side. Traffic is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRenay5107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette F, General Manager at Turtle Cay Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to submit your review regarding your recent visit with us at the Turtle Cay Resort. I am glad to read that you appreciated the convenient in-room kitchens and the spaciousness of our suites. Being a west side property, our suites do run quite larger than suites found on oceanfront properties.

I am sorry that you were not able to utilize and enjoy your balcony or our swimming pools and hot tubs due to some unwanted visitors that were present on the property. Our resort, having being nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and Lake Holly, occasionally attracts some species of birds and ducks to the resort. Typically when we get reports of animals, such as ducks in or around the pool area, we try to relocate the ducks to their natural environment where they belong so they are not in the way in order for our guests to enjoy our swimming pools and hot tubs. Therefore, please accept my apologies that we were unable to follow through with removing the ducks from the property.


In spite of the ducks and location of your suite, I'm glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Once again, thank you for your review and your business with us.

Regards,

Lynette Fournier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had never payed much attention to this resort since it is not on the oceanfront, but was pleasantly surprised. Rooms are lovely and a great size. I absolutely love the complete kitchen area and the fireplace was cozy. I love that there is so much to explore on the ocean front and this resort made our 2 days in february so much fun. There was no need to drive, food and entertainment was walking distance which was very convenient. I will most definitely book here again! Great price for a great room.

Room Tip: Balconies were lovely! Ask for a view of the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette F, General Manager at Turtle Cay Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review about our resort. I will be sharing your kind words about our resort to our associates and the rest of our management team.
One of the best things about the Virginia Beach area is that everything is close by where as you can simply walk or take a short car ride to where you need to go. Even though our resort is on the quieter south end, we are still within a short walk or car ride to the area’s best restaurants and attractions.
Once again, thank you for the five star review and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Lynette Fournier
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
299 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,037 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cay Resort

Property: Turtle Cay Resort
Address: 600 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turtle Cay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax and enjoy a suite that feels more like home than it does a hotel room. Each of Turtle Cay's suites features thoughtful touches such as high ceilings, oversized bathrooms with jetted tubs, and a cozy gas fireplace. In addition to comfortable, home-like accommodations and amenities, our suites include extended-stay necessities like well-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, washer and dryers in suites, and complimentary coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Cay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cay Hotel Virginia Beach
Turtle Cay Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Turtle Cay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing