We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, good view rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good view rooms”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We ended up here after the Fairfield gave us a super lousy 1st floor room. We were tired and it was late. James was so accommodating. he got us a great view room and offered us complimentary breakfast since that is what we would have had at the Fairfield. the breakfast buffet was nice and we had amazing fresh eggs and waffles. James was again at the front desk in the morning and when I called for a late chack out he was again very accommodating. we had a great view from our 6th floor room and we got to sleep with the door open and listen to the waves all night. this location is a bit farther from the activity and als nearer the military base so you do hear a lot of loud planes if you have your windows open. it is very soundproof with the doors shut.

Room Tip: know that the loud noise is welcome sounds of waves and military jets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTDub2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you so much for these wonderful comments. We love to see fresh faces at Courtyard North. I am happy to hear James was able to create a first rate experience for you in Virginia Beach. The 6th floor is the perfect location to get a great view of the entire boardwalk and oceanfront. If you ever need to get down the other end of the oceanfront the city provides an inexpensive trolley that rides up and down Atlantic Avenue seasonally. Thank you again for your kind words. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    263
    94
    41
    23
See reviews for
369
167
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a awesome hotel and the staff was outstanding! Thanks to Mykeya Ihor and Dwenda! They were so helpful and always pleasant. They made our stay an extra bonus!

The hotel itself was clean and the view was breath taking! The food was great and they had a awesome breakfast and it was free which is very important because I have 4 teenagers.We were even provided a free dinner! Awesome!! I would recommend this place to everyone and would definitely go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: Every room would have been good!
See more room tips
Green Features: It was very clean in the eating area's the servers were always wiping down and to add, they were also very friendly and accommodating!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great Place to Stay. Pool is wonderful for kids and adults - serve drinks for the Adults and chicken fingers and fries for the kids - Clean Hotel, nice front desk staff - want to mention the Valet because they were very professional and took care of my car! I had a brand new car and George James III made sure I was satisfied everyday - very convenient when raining. He gets ***** 5 Stars from my family!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Only 2 elevators - pick a low room - higher the longer the elevator ride
See more room tips
Green Features: Lots of options available to you as far as changing sheets everyday, getting new towels, etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeredithBottenfield, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Katre P

Thanks you so much for reviewing our hotel! It's great that that you enjoyed the pool and The Rocks pool bar menu. We are lucky to have James and George on our team. We hope to see you again next time you visit Virginia Beach!

Thanks again,

Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We just took our first trip to Virginia Beach and after searching online decided upon this hotel. I am do glad we did. This hotel made our stay feel like home! The two room suite was perfect for a family of four. The kitchenette allowed us to have small meals in the room. The location on the boardwalk is perfect-close enough to walk to entertainment and dinner but far enough away from the more crowded areas and live bands. Some reviewers complained of stains on floors - what do you expect when people are running in and out with sand on their feet? I found the hotel very clean, and I am a germ a phobic! One reviewer said they did not want to stay across from exercise room. We did and never heard a sound. My family likes to sleep with fan noise, and the a/c units muffled any noises that may have interrupted our sleep. The housekeeping staff and the front desk staff were all super nice and accommodating, answering any questions and responding to any requests. The view from the balcony is awesome. The convenience of a "wash off" area just for hotel guests is appreciated. We would definitely pick this hotel again when in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeredithBottenfield, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Sherri

Thanks so much for writing a review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that your experience was positive! The suites are a perfect size for families. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Warm regards

Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware, United States
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are a nice size and are right on the beach. The staff was pleasant. There is Starbucks coffee,a pool bar, and a buffet breakfast. I would stay here again. They also have an indoor and outdoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetishaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeredithBottenfield, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We appreciate you leaving a review of our hotel and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you choose to stay here then next time you visit Virginia Beach.

Thanks again

Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here over the weekend recently for two nights. There are some things I liked about this hotel, and some things I think it could improve upon.

Things I liked:

The view!!! Nice balconies overlooking the beach. We saw many dolphins just from our balcony, not to mention beautiful sunrises.

The bellmen were super nice and very helpful. One note on parking - parking is 7.00/night but the hotel offers a valet service to help you find a parking spot easily.

Our room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel did have free wifi.

To improve:

Food service. Another hotel with crummy coffee. Not sure what is going on there. I tried the kind you can brew yourself in your room and the kind bought from their "bistro" and both were awful. They had a Sunday breakfast buffet - don't go with the scrambled eggs. Mine were cold. Go with the omelet maker; I wish I had done this.

The mattresses. The beds weren't super-uncomfortable but they weren't super comfortable either. They seemed to be overly cheap, especially given the high (albeit in-season) nightly rates we were paying.

Tiny nitpick: We asked the front desk for directions to nearby grocery stores and got incorrect directions. Not a big deal and there are some stores on nearby Laskin Road (a main road in and out of Virginia Beach).

Overall, if you are considering hotels in the northern section of Virginia Beach, having stayed at both, I'd go with the Holiday Inn next door. But if that's sold out (as it was for the weekend I was there), this hotel is an acceptable alternative.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyFanFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeredithBottenfield, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay. The views are amazing and we enjoy seeing the dolphins every morning. I am glad the bellman were able to take great care of you. I'm sorry to hear that your food and beverage experience was subpar. I have reviewed your comments with our Kitchen manager to improve the temperature of the eggs. I have also reviewed your comments with our front office supervisory team because guests depend on us to give them correct directions every time. Again thank you so much for leaving a review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards

Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here September 2013 and the decline in this hotel 10 months later is astonishing! Upon our arrival I immediately noticed dirty entrance doors, stained and dirty carpet in the elevators and hallways. Having stayed here more then once before, I recalled a much higher level of maintenance. Upon entering our room on the 3rd floor we were greeted with very stained carpet, a sliding door that had to be lifted and slid by 2 people, dirty and wine stained balcony furniture, and a moldy shower curtain. Finding this unacceptable I returned to the front desk to be told there was only one other room available on the second floor. After checking out this room which was opposite the 24 hr gym facility and above the lobby, I returned to the front desk to beg for a different room. I was told the best they could do is put in a request for the following day to be moved to a higher floor in a room that was prioritized by housekeeping. Upon arriving back at the hotel after dinner I pulled out the sofa bed and was greeted by a disgusting black mold stained mattress. Remember this is a Marriott not a flea bag motel! I called the front desk and was told rollaway beds are offered on a first come first serve basis. If they had one they would send it up. It was 11PM. Miraculously a rollaway was brought up. It wasn't moldy we'll leave it at that. The following day by 2:30 I had been told I was moved to a room 2 doors down.
Originally being told I would be offered a higher floor I was moved again to the 6th floor. Still stained carpets sub par air conditioning that I asked for service to look at twice and a sliding door that slid but had no handle. Night 2: no extra pillows in the entire hotel and 2 requests for extra blankets denied. Overall this hotel is in dire need of renovation and a lot of elbow grease to clean things up. Worn is one thing dirty is lazy!
On another note I will say the young hotel staff remained polite and did their job as best they could with a property that is 2-3 years past when it should have been renovated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeredithBottenfield, General Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback as we are able to use this for future trainings with our staff. I certainly apologize for the stay that you had with us. It is not the level of service or product that you would have expected from our hotel. Again I sincerely apologize and if you are in the area again we hope you would give us another chance. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Warm regards

Meredith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,950 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
606 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Address: 3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2708
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / n 37th St Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Marriott
Virginia Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing