We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed in room 905. Check in was easy and the gentleman at the front desk was very nice This was our 2nd time staying here. It is located on the quiet side of Virginia Beach. The staff was very friendly, always saying hello and making conversation with you except for housekeeping. The room is a nice size plenty of room so you don't feel as you are on top of each other. The sink is separate from the shower/toilet which is nice. The beds were comfortable. The pool is nice and they provide towels. The only con is the cleanliness of the rooms. Our carpet had stains all over and the chair also had a stain on it. The room was dusty. There were 3 people staying in our room but only 2 wash cloths. I called housekeeping on our first day and requested 3 wash cloths each day but it was not left. The next day I left a note for housekeeping requesting 3 wash cloths each day but that didn't happen either. We had to approach her in hall and ask for another wash cloth. Not sure why it was so difficult to get 3 wash cloths each day when the reservation said 3 would be in the room. Also there was a glass left in the hall for most of our stay, you would think that when the hallways where cleaned it would have been picked up, not sure if the hallway was cleaned because it always looked like it needed to be vacuumed. You need your room key to get into the hotel from the beach area. The only problem with that is the key reader is over a dirty trash container. They should move the container to another location. Hopefully housekeeping will step it up and provide the same service as the other employees.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropicalfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for review our property. We are always looking to ways to improve and feedback is always very helpful. We are delighted to know that your check-in experience was pleasant, as well as the layout of our two queen oceanfront room. I do want to sincerely apologize for the housekeeping experience you had during your stay. I can understand how frustrating it must have been to not get the correct amount of amenities each day and having to retrieve them. I have informed our housekeeping manager and they have taken appropriate action so that this will not happen in the future. We are so happy that you chose Courtyard North and we hope to see you soon! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    249
    91
    41
    23
See reviews for
339
153
26
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Several hotels in VA Beach go extreme on trying to make you feel like royalty... all at YOUR expense. Gold Key has killed some of my old favorites. The Marriot offers valet service... always has... but don't shove it down your throat like their neighbors. I personally like to park my own car. The pool is awesome, kids love it.. Hotel is directly on the beach, no dangerous roads to cross. ALL rooms have ocean balcony. Staff has greatly improved in the past year or so... if you stayed here before then I can understand some of the negative reviews. The more recent negative reviews are likely the people that didn't want to spend 700/night down the street, but wanted the same experience. I love the subtle suggestion about how they'd stay again for a DEEPLY discounted fee... We all know 'that' guy. The Marriot is great. Book it.

Room Tip: stay on lower floors.... elevators DO get packed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadofSuperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Courtyard North and coming back to visit us! We love to see familiar faces. It is great to hear that your children had a great time at the pool. It is also very humbling to know that our customer service is making your stay that much more memorable. Once again, thank you for your very kind words. We look forward to seeing you and your family next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Good family place on the quieter North end of VA Beach. Spent two nights with the our 3 children. Nice size suite. Spectacular ocean views. Outdoor pool was great. Multiple pools with waterfalls, water slide and outdoor bar that made great frozen Margaritas. The beach is literally right out the back door. The two complaints I have are:
1. I didn't find the restaurant staff the most attentive and breakfast was overpriced.
2. The two elevators were woefully incapable maintaining acceptable wait times during peak operation.
These are not deal breakers though. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our property. We are happy to hear that our suite was a great suite for your family. It offers great scenery of the ocean especially at sunrise with all the dolphins. I do want to apologize on behalf of Courtyard North about our lapse in guest service. Your comments will be used as a training opportunity to better provide service to our valued guests. Once again, I do apologize. We hope to see you and your family in the future. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem ,Pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Pros- Wonderful Location
Wonderful Staff
Beautiful Pool
Great Lobby-Market Place, and Bistro
Standard- two queen bed rooms are very spacious
Bathrooms are spacious and very clean

Cons- Housekeeping could do a better job at cleaning the rooms. Not very thorough at all. I had to call housekeeping to redo my room. When I arrived at the room after a day at the beach, the pillows were literally thrown on the bed, the floor had not been vacuumed, it was dusty and the sheets were thrown on the bed.

The pillows were very uncomfortable and not of the best quality for a Marriot.
The pool outside is beautiful and very clean but the water was freezing!

Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again. The Pro's certainly outweigh the cons. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aarco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for these very helpful comments. We are delighted to know that your family decided to choose Courtyard North for your recent stay to Virginia Beach, and that you would not hesitate to come back! That is music to our ears and definitely puts smiles on all of our faces. We do want to apologize for our lapse in housekeeping. We would love for you to come back to visit for us to show you have great our guest service really is. Thank you again for all your great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpha, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have been staying at this hotel every summer for more than a decade. We love the location, much quieter than the hotels at the south end of the beach. The outdoor pool is great and having the beach right outside the back door is convenient as well. The only complaint I have that would prevent 5 stars is that we always stay in a suite and this year's suite had a few stains on the carpeting. At this price point, that should not occur.

Now, on less serious issue, the 37th street Marriott is failing behind the 25th street Marriott in that the 25th has a webcam! You can pretend you are at the beach all year round. You guys have to play catch up!

We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: The elevators are often slow, so learning where the stairs are can speed up entering and leaving the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you choosing Courtyard North for your recent stay to Virginia Beach! We appreciate your comments. It is great to hear to you loved our outdoor pool and were pleased with the location of our property. However, I do want to apologize that there were stains on your carpet. That is something that I will pass along to our housekeeping manager so they can prevent this issue in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed two nights in a 7th floor 2-room suite. Checked in early with no problems and got a late checkout.

Room: Carpets were soiled, thin. Beds were comfortable. We had no noise issues at all. Sofa was narrow. A/C worked great. Refrigerator and Microwave worked as well. Lots of table space. Showers had plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Does have the problem that all hotels have - my 4 year old cant reach the sink.

Beach: For Virginia Beach, you aren't going to beat this. You are a half mile from the Music Pavilion, < 1 mile from the fireworks, but you get some noise seclusion. Beach wasn't overly crowded like other areas. It's a bit of a walk to the water, but no worse than any other hotel.

Pool: Pool Bar was backed up with people ordering, but food actually came out quickly. I was impressed. Pool has waterfalls to drown out street noise, but kids loved it.

Lobby: Well lit. Lots of sitting space. Indoor pool is small, but you are at the beach.

People: Top notch. Everyone asked how our stay was and they paid attention to details, like turning around to grab the door, when my wife's hands were full. Very pleased with all aspects.

Parking: $7/night - I hate paying for parking, but it comes with the territory.

Would stay here again. Surprised ranking isn't higher.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NittanyHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you NittanyHusky for your wonderful comments! We appreciate all of the positive feedback. It is great to know that you were able to take advantage of everything that the hotel and Virginia Beach has to offer. We love to know when guys have great experiences. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a corner large suite with 2 queen beds and separate living room with efficiency kitchen and pull out sofa. A/C worked well. A little mustiness in room but not bad. Cleaning service was excellent and even called us in the room to make sure everything was ok. Who does that? Valet service at $7 per day worked well and we never waited long. Front staff were very friendly and accommodating. They have a bistro but no restaurant which we didn't mind because we go out to eat anyway. Oceanfront hotel, nice beach, quiet north area, great big outside pool with waterfalls for the kids. On the north end of Boardwalk. Reasonable high season prices. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gus1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis L, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your wonderful comments. It is great to know that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities such as our outdoor pool and valet service. We do hope that your family is able to come for a visit again soon. We look forward to seeing you and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Address: 3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2708
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / n 37th St Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Marriott
Virginia Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing