We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
VIRGINIA BEACH
1 review
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We are the parents of Alyssa Roberts and we want to commend the staff of Virginia Beach Courtyard 37st Marriot for the excellent service related to our daughter’s wedding reception on January 2nd.. The entire staff from Jennifer Meads the Director of Sales to the chef Walter Winstead accommodated our requests including preparing a vegan reception dinner that was exceptional in all regards. Many of the guests complimented the food and were greatly surprised on its taste and texture. The reception room was decorated tastefully and the serving staff pleasant and professional. The hotel front desk staff permitted guests to check into the hotel rooms early and provided all the required assistance for our out of town guests. We will certainly recommend the Courtyard Marriot to others for their meeting needs. We are very grateful for the staff’s skill helping make the wedding reception and other events even more enjoyable. The rooms had very pleasing ocean views and were clean, bright and modern.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY_37TH_FOM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 18 January 2010
garyerob-

Thank you so much for your kinds words regarding our staff and property. I am glad to hear everyone had a great time while at our hotel, and the entire staff here at Courtyard were more than happy to serve you and your family's event. It was a pleasure having your business with us and we hope to serve you again soon in the near future. Congradulations to your daughter as we wish her years of happiness to come!

With warm regards,

Nick Rice
Front Office Manager
Courtyard North 37th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    262
    94
    41
    23
See reviews for
367
166
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I travel almost every week and it was a great experience getting to stay at this Marriott. The service at this hotel was phenomenal from the warm professional front desk clerks to the hard working housekeepers. This business trip made me feel as if I were vacationing at work! Free wirless access was a huge difference to me and you couldnt mark a price on the service recieved.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachboy757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY_37TH_FOM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 12 January 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel. Even though we are a beach property, we still recieve plenty of business men like youself and we make it a point to ensure your comfortaibilty while you are here on business. No matter the length of stay or the hours you may work, you'll find a relaxing envirorment listening to sounds of the beach with the ability of using your laptop any where in the building with our 3mbps wireless internet. We hope to serve you again here in the near future, and if there is anything my staff or I can do for you please do not hesitate to contact us. Thanks again for your time and wish you a happy 2010.

Nick Rice
Front Office Manager
Courtyard Marriott 37th
757-437-0098
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This hotel has an absolutely awesome staff. They really went above and beyond what I expected. The included breakfast was exceptional. I couldn't wait for breakfast each day. It is located in the shopping district and is along the boardwalk. All rooms face the ocean. It was the safest busy vacation location I have ever been to. Each evening there would be 3 or 4 police officers at each intersection.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY_37TH_FOM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
MelanieW8 -

Thank you for your wonderful words and kind comments. Our main goal at this hotel is to exceed all our guest expectation, creating the most memories and the ultimate experience. As you noticed, we are in a great part of oceanfront where you will find many shopping and dining experiences in an area known for being family-friendly as well as maintaining its high quality class. Saftey is a top priority for our city which is an added benifit to our busy location. I am glad to hear you had a great time with us and we hope to serve you again in the near future. Again thank you for your time and comments regarding our property and wish you the best of 2010.

With warm regards,


Nick Rice
Front Office Manager
Courtyard Marriott 37th
757-437-0098


This hotel has an absolutely awesome staff. They really went above and beyond what I expected. The included breakfast was exceptional. I couldn't wait for breakfast each day. It is located in the shopping district and is along the boardwalk. All rooms face the ocean. It was the safest busy vacation location I have ever been to. Each evening there would be 3 or 4 police officers at each intersection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I would highly recommend this hotel. Nice job Marriott. Excellent location right on the beach. Decent sized, oceanfront rooms with balconies. Friendly and outgoing staff. My only complaint? It was New Year's Eve and they were seriously understaffed in the bar and restaurant.

Depending upon price, we would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY_37TH_FOM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
Caroline2008-

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. It is great to hear you had a wonderful time and the hotel was up to your standards. Compared to simlar hotels on the beach, our rooms are a little larger in size and also have recently been remodeled. Our staff is one of the best and they work hard at what they enjoy doing, and that is to make every guest feel welcomed. As winter time is a hard season to judge for business in our hotel restauraunt, I still do apologize that we lacked anything you may of needed from food and beverage. This is very unlike our taste of service, but as we come closer to the spring, we will have a completly remodeled bistro that will replace the restauraunt including a starbucks coffee. Hope that we will see you again and you will have an oppurtunity to see the hotel after its complete remodel. Thank you again for choosing Marriott and wish you the best for
2010.

With warm regards,


Nick Rice
Front Office Manager
Courtyard Marriott 37th
757-437-0098
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one night over Thanksgiving. We stayed in the corner suite over looking the ocean. Great view let me tell you that. Checking in, staff was very nice and accomidating! Lobby is very nice with a bar, large lounge area for sitting, and 24 hour coffee/tea, a feature that i very much enjoy. When we checked in we were advised that they were replacing carpet on our floor, which was no problem, shows they are trying to better their hotel. When we arrived to our room, it was ver large and layed out very nice. Only complaints I had was the ceiling in the shower was "crumbling" and the water drained very slow, so I had to stand in water up to my ankles while i took my shower, something I DID NOT LIKE. Also the wireless internet did not work right during our stay, basically never worked at all which was a major dissapointment to us due to they advertised FREE internet. We ate breakfast at the hotel the next morning; they provide buffett at a $. It was around 10 dollars, not bad, but not worth it in my opinion. Go somewhere local and have yourself a nice breakfast at a much cheaper price. Would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolkidtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY_37TH_FOM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 10 December 2009
Thank you for your response and choosing Courtyard by Marriott North during your visit to Virginia Beach. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our facility. I do apologize about the ceilings as we were waiting for rooms to be completely remodeled to assess any nessary repairs. As for being a beach property, on occassion we have a slowly draining tub due to a good amount of sand being rinsed off. Upon notice, we take immediate action to repair the drain so current and future guest will not have to with stand the problem you had endured. Being a Courtyard, one of great benifits we have is free wireless access; running at 3mbps compared to other properties where you pay $9.95 for 1 mbps of speed. Because of our business travelers, we need to enure our wireless internet is running at its full maximum. I apoligize you came along an issue with the internet as it should have been up and running for you. If you ever have a problem in the future, please don't hesitate to contact the front desk so we can have the problem corrected right away. We want you to experience the most out of your stay and our main goal here at Courtyard is to exceed all your expectaions at a top-notch level of service. We ask that you please re-visit us as of the next visit you will find our newly reimagined lobby and bistro with starbucks that will substitute for our current resteraunt. If there is anything my staff and I can do to make your next stay here at the hotel more enjoyable please let me know. Thank you again for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott North and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Virginia Beach.

With warm regards,

Nick Rice
Front Office Manager
757-437-0098
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Always home for the holidays and usually stay with the Beach Club or Westin at Pembroke. Very happy to report the Marriott North was a very pleasant surprise. Beautiful lobby and excellent staff. Stayed on the 8th floor with an amazing view and peaceful sounds of the ocean. Rooms are a nice size and beautifullly decorated with relaxing balconies. They appeared to have a full house, but parking or elevators were never a problem for us. Wonderful breakfast on site as well. Happy with prices and were comparable to this category hotel. Would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annberg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY_37TH_FOM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street, responded to this review, 9 December 2009
I want to personal thank you for your response and choosing Marriott for your winter getway. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as our number one priority is in exceeding your expectations with an exemplary level of service. As you experienced our remodeled room during your stay, I am happy to inform you we now have all rooms equiped with flat screens running High Definition Television. Also, as nice as our lobby is now, we will be revamping and remodeling the lobby and resteraunt in the next upcoming weeks. With that, it was a pleasure having you and family staying with us, and hope to see you again in the near future. On behalf our team here at the Marriott, we thank you again and wish you the best of wishes this holiday season!

With warm regards,

Nick Rice
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott 37th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Service was great, received room service within 20 min or ordering. Food was good. Lovely view of beach from room and free internet. Great location for eating if you like seafood and lots of buffets that weren't overpriced. Rooms were nice but bed wasn't that comfortable, could have also added more pillows if sharing with a spouse. Conference rooms were nice also for business meetings.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkrider99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
606 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street

Property: Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Address: 3737 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2708
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront / n 37th St Hotel Virginia Beach
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Virginia Beach Marriott
Virginia Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing