We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but just a little smoky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #91 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    151
    237
    214
    367
See reviews for
530
238
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High View, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

My mom, sister and I traveled to Virginia Beach for a wedding and ended up staying here. The room sounded nice (bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room), but it turned out to be really gross.

cons- right outs our door smelled like urine all the time. The bathroom is about as big as a closet and everything is at a weird angle. It was impossible to get ready in and really dirty. I'm pretty sure there wasn't a door between the bedroom and living room. We stayed multiple days and the maid came in to give us two new towels. They have a pool, but that also wasn't clean. The continental breakfast consists of a table in the lobby with like 5 items on it. There are no table or chairs to sit in. The elevator is cramped and slow. There will probably be a line, so take the stairs.

Pros - it's disgusting, but the location is good. All the rooms face the ocean and it's a short distance down to the pier. Also, it's right on the boardwalk.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, Manager at Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a sincerely apology for your stay and the events described in your review. All of our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deodorized between guests but in this case it would appear that we may not have achieved success. If you would like to call the hotel and speak to me directly I would like to further learn from your experience and invite you to visit us later this season and offer us a chance to redeem ourselves in your mind.

Regards,
Travelodge Suites Oceanfront, Virginia Beach
S Patel
HR Manager
757 425-0650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here Jan 25, 2014 and considering all the negative reviews I was hesitant but this is the cheapest oceanfront room you can get in Va Beach. I paid $47 plus tax. The front desk was friendly and they have brochures and take out menus which is very helpful.
The elevator is small but have no fear it does work or you can just use the stairs. The stairways were not smelly and dirty like other people said. The room appeared great at first glance. I didn't notice any problems until I investigated further. I appreciate the front desk telling me that it takes time to heat the room because it's an oceanfront room but the truth about that is that the doors to the outside oceanfront need to be replaced because they don't shut all the way tight.. There is no insulation to prevent cold air from coming into the room so you basically have to blast the heater at 85 or 90 degrees but thank god the heaters do work lol!
The tv's are flat screen but only 24' and the cable reception was not fuzzy as other people said. I liked the old school motor lodge layout I found a trick to keep the sleeping area warm which was to shut the door from the living room. The bathroom is indeed the smallest I've ever seen at an hotel/motel but the water was warm but the toilet did get clogged up easily but I was able to fix it. No worries there!
Not to be negative but the ice machines on the 2'nd and 6'th floor did not work but the fridge did indeed work but be careful to not leave bottles in there too long or they will freeze even though it seems like the fridge does not work but it does work indeed!
Here are the positives about this hotel. Location is perfect! The block, Peabody's is only a few blocks down and there is a 7-11 on 17'th and Pacific if u want some beer or drinks, snacks. Parking seemed ok even though I was on foot. Staff was very friendly and I even got a free Sunday Virginian Pilot when I check out Jan 26'th. The young lady at the front desk was very cool and nice. Lastly the view from the window was awesome but please be careful with that door so you don't get locked out on the balcony. Again those doors need to be replaced but just put something in between it to keep it open and your good to go. For what I paid I was happy. All good despite the things that do need to be fixed. Excellent value!

Room Tip: Get a corner suite on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vajoefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Let me thank you for taking the time to address this matter to our hotel as every comment, good or bad is important. As hospitality professionals we try our best to resolve concerns and offer the best service possible. Having said, that I would like to extend a thank you for your comment(s) and I am glad that you had such a great experience. I hope to see you on a future visit at Travelodge Suites Oceanfront in Virginia Beach.

Regards,
Travelodge Suites Oceanfront, Virginia Beach
S Patel
HR Manager
757 425-0650
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is the most outdated, dirty looking, awful place I seen in a very long while. It should be demolished and rebuilt in my opinion. We blindly booked this place out of fatigue, thus not doing our homework. We just wanted a clean place to lay our head for a few hours, so we prepaid-booked online, and unfortunately we hadn't noticed it was nonrefundable. Our first indication of things to come was the tiny little parking lot. We were told we could only park one car in the lot, and our second car had to be parked three blocks away and we would have to walk back in the dark.. The manager relented in allowing us to park the second car in the lot when I showed distress at walking three blocks in the dark in a strange town alone. It was out of season and many of the normally lit buisiness' along the walk back were closed and darkened. On to the tiny little outdated elevator that had plenty of wear and tear on it. Next, the walkway which was worn leading to the horror that awaited us.... aka, our room. Stained carpet, stained soft furnishings, old heater/ac unit on the wall, repair patches visible on the walls from punctures, a solid metal door, old, dirty, rusty looking leading out to a two person stand up balcony. Tiniest bathroom I have ever seen anywhere. I estimate the sink in the bathroom to have been ten inches across and shaped in a triangle. I was afraid to set my luggage down, and refused to sit on anything in the room. The room had been vacuumed, bed made etc., but it had a creepy crawly aura about it. Well worn, well used. There were many thick layers of paint on the baseboards. Everything appeared to be worn and old. I felt my skin begin to crawl just looking around and decided I would rather lose the money paid over spending a night there, even though we were exhausted. We promptly left the room and advised the manager that we were not staying. He asked why, but upon seeing the look on my face apparently decided to not engage me in further conversation regarding why we would not be staying. The manager was nice enough.....but this hotel needs extensive refurbishing. I am not a snob, all I require is a clean, moderately modern room in which I feel comfortable sitting and sleeping in. This hotel did not meet those requirements for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wtawndrflwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574250650.
Sincerely,
S Patel
HR Manager
TRAVELODGE SUITES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#73 of 109 in Virginia Beach
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#55 of 109 in Virginia Beach
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1909 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a variety of rooms to suit your needs, including penthouse suites with a Jacuzzi and kitchenette, rooms with private balconies and non-smoking rooms. Boost your energy with our free continental breakfast before lounging on our sundeck or diving into our outdoor(seasonal) pool. Free Wi-Fi Internet lets you go online from your laptop anywhere in the hotel. From guest laundry service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, we provide all the amenities to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Virginia Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing