We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oceanfront Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Suncoast Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Oceanfront Rooms!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at The breakers in January and it was a great value! $50 for an oceanfront room with a balcony. The room was clean with a microwave and small fridge. Location is perfect, right next to the pier. The Boardwalk Cafe in the hotel is great for breakfast, reasonably priced. Friendly staff, we will be back,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shell5786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    131
    43
    16
    24
See reviews for
142
131
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August for a vacation and 3 nights in October for business purposes. This hotel is very average and in some area needs some tlc. However, the price is right, the rooms were clean and location is good. Most staff are friendly but some look like they aren't overly happy to see you.

I would return based on cleanliness and affordability.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jays201517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Can't beat the location of this hotel, right on the boardwalk close to the pier. The elevator was slow and hot, and the parking was crowded, but it was all worth it because the price was good and you don't spend much time in the hotel anyways. The room itself had plenty of room, and having a fridge and microwave cut down on restaurant costs. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyty2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Breaker's Oct1-9,2011.The hotel was very clean and all of the staff were very friendly. For breakfast we went downstairs to the Boardwalk Cafe daily. Their crab and cheese Omelet was the best! Our room was overlooking the 14th street pier and we had an excellent view of the fireworks during the Neptune festival. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed here just over a month ago. The breakers is an older hotel and is outdated. they could use some new updates to there hotel. For the most part Staff was not friendly. There was one male front desk staff who was very nice though. This hotel only has one elevator which makes for a long wait. on a better note the breakers was clean, and not to expensive compared to many other hotels in this area.It also has WIFI which is a bonus. i would return but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for six days and attended the Verizon American Music Festival while there. The Breakers was the perfect location for attending the main stage events at 5th Street. It wasn't too far to walk, but we were far enough away that noise wasn't an issue. Our room was very clean and had everything that we needed. We loved having a balcony that overlooked the ocean. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santorini Dreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtice, ontario, canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This place has a great location central on the boardwalk. All rooms face the beach and is right near the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier.

The staff were very friendly and more than willing to do whatever it took to please us on our short stay.

Check for deals as they have specials frequently.

The hallways however are not air conditioned and since the sun come in through large windows the hallways tend to get quite warm and the humidity builds.

There are washers and dryers for those who like to do laundry on their vacation (WHY!!!!!)

other than the hallway humidity and heat the place was very good and I would defininately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Property: The Breakers Resort Inn
Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing