We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Breakers Resort Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Econo Lodge on the Ocean(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveller rating
192
133
44
17
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
133
44
17
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboardwalk cafetiny poolthe penthousein room jacuzzifree bikesmurphy bedamusement parkstay there againbike rentalsbeautiful view of the oceantop floorbeach accessgreat vacationtrip to virginia beachoff seasonhousekeeping stafffamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 411 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Breakers Hotel for about 5 days during her national dance competition. Although the rooms were sufficient, I must say I was a little surprised at how run down the hotel was. There is no air-conditioning in the lobby, hallways or elevator. Because of this, the hallways & elevator are stuffy and give off an awful smell, especially in 100 degree weather!! It was a relief to get into the room with sufficient air-conditioning. The elevator (yes, only one) was extremely slow and always seemed to be filled with puddles of water. With such a small elevator being used by the cleaning staff, it was impossible to fit in. The pool was extremely small but I guess that is expected at a hotel on the beach. The parking lot was also very tight but we always managed to get a spot. The staff was helpful and tried to accomodate. Although the rooms were clean for the most part, they could have been cleaner: the bathroom ceiling fan was filthy with dust and I wouldn't sit on those chairs on the outdoor balcony. The refrigerator only got cold with a couple of items in it--when you put maybe 4 water bottles in at one time, it became warmer--have no idea why a refrigerator would do that. In addition, the cleaning staff failed to replace used cups and tissues. Overall, it was sufficient for our needs for this type of trip, but I would not stay here again--you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Breakers Resort from June 22nd thru June 25th. We absolutely loved this place! It is right on the beach. In fact, the balcony of the rooms face the beach. We were able to watch the dolphins from our balcony each morning before the beach became busy. This is an older hotel and could use some updating, but our room was cleaned each day.

As others have written, the elevator was a bit slow and very hot. But the air conditioning in the rooms worked very well. The food at Breakers restaurant was very good. We had breakfast there every morning. The servings were large and the price was affordable.

The resort is right on the boardwalk and within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and attractions. We had tickets to the Rascal Flatts concert at Farm Bureau Live and were able to walk across the street from the resort and take a bus to the concert. The bus picked us up after the concert so we didn't have to deal with concert traffic and parking.

When we return to Virginia Beach, we will definitely stay at The Breakers Resort again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shar0nkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary at the beach and looked into several places, finally selecting the Breakers Resort Inn, which is directly on the oceanfront in Virginia Beach, VA. One reason we selected the Breakers is that room prices seemed to be a bit lower than other places we investigated. Another reason is that, when we visited to check out the rooms, we learned that the Breakers is family owned and operated in contrast to the many chain places at the beach. This impressed us and we were not disappointed during our actual stay; the personal touch became evident in the careful attention paid to residents. We rented two rooms and a suite-a room each for ourselves and one son with his family and a suite for our other son and his family. All had a full ocean view with a balcony. All were clean and well-furnished. The rooms had a microwave and small refrigerator; cabinets provided plenty of room for the food and drinks we had brought for our multiday visit. The suite was quite roomy and had a full-size refrigerator, small stove and microwave with plenty of cabinet space. The Breakers is a convenient location overlooking the boardwalk and the beach. In fact the Breakers is located at an access point to the beach-these access points are spaced about a half block apart-so it’s a very short walk down to the surf. Additionally, this beach access point includes a shower and foot washing station to conveniently rinse off on the way back to the rooms. For those who prefer fresh water, there is a pool. Bikes are available for exercise or exploration. There is a small café for breakfast and lunch with quite reasonable prices. Parking is located in a garage under the hotel. There is only one elevator, so access to the upper floors can be slow at times, but we only had one instance when we experienced delay. We unhesitatingly recommend the Breakers for its location, service and value. Mike

Room Tip: Pick a room with a good ocean view but not all the way to the top in case you have to walk up and down.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My sister and I took a mini-vacation (4 days) to VA Beach and stayed at The Breakers Resort Inn. We were very pleased with the room. It was clean and spacious. A nice touch was the shampoo, lotion and shower cap provided. The Cafe food is very, very good and quite reasonable. Best grits I've had in a long time and large portions. I can't say enough nice things about the Inn, Cafe and Housekeeping Staffs. You couldn't find a nicer group of people. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WVCutie25443USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have been going to Va Beach for over 25 years. This was our first time staying at The Breakers and will do so again. The Hotel, Cafe and Housekeeping staff , were the friendliest people. The Cafe staff made breakfast (which is cooked to order and very reasonable and very very good) enjoyable every morning. It is nice to be treated like old friends even at your first visit. Our room was clean, bed comfortable, Jacuzzi tub was wonderful. Our room over looked the pool which still had a nice view of the ocean. We did not use the pool, but the pool and pool area was clean. The hotel also had bikes available for guests to use at no charge, whichis definately a plus. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews