We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Second Visit Didn't Disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was our second year in a row staying at The Breakers. This time we extended our stay to 11 nights and upgraded to a king room with a jacuzzi tub. We found the hotel just as good as last year. In fact, this year, the breakfast menu had been added to and the food was much better. If you're there, you should try the crab omelette - it was excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santorini Dreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for The Breakers Resort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

We booked this room on their breakaway discount and it proved to be a great find. 4 nights oceanfront at less than $100/night. The room was clean and the hotel is located one block up from the pier. Easy walk to all the bands playing on the beach and restaurants. Staff was friendly and we ate at the restaurant for breakfast one morning and it was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mckittri2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel served its purpose for my two children and I. My kids and I had other issues while on vacation but the hotel wasn't one of them. The room we had was a standard room. Two beds, a fringe and a microwave. We had a nice view and we were lucky to get a third floor room. Also the lady at the front desk was very nice to let us check in early at 11:00. I found her to be very friendly and welcoming. The cafe (I only ate there twice for breakfast) served its purpose if you wanted a quick bite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymm1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The hotel is a bit dated and it could have been cleaner as we found a broken spoon under the bed cover on the floor and a tissue and old business card in the dresser, but for the value, location and view, my husband and I would definitely go again. They also have free 1 hour bike rentals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snickers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Dated and dirty, When I complained to the staff at check out. They really got rude. It just wasn't my room,my brother stayed next door the same dirt, Even the coffee shop kitchen was dirty.
I know the hotel is old but there is “There is no excuse for filth and unfriendliness!”
look at the pictures....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank RickeyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Breakers is one hotel I would definately go back to. I spent my Anniversary there and had a great time with my wife. Considering it's one of the few mom and pop establishments left in VB the rooms were clean and up to date. There was a jacuzzi in our room that we used everyday, very relaxing...you could see the ocean as you lay in it!
The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. There's a small restaurant on the first floor that serves good bkfast and lunch if you don't want to go out.
The pool is fairly small but beach front, so that was a plus. My favorite amenity was the free bicycle rental, you can use it for up to an hour per rental, more than enough time to get to know the boardwalk...just keep in mind it's on a first come basis and there's about about a dozen bikes.
The only problem I had with the hotel was the elevator wait, there's only one and it's fairly slow, and in the daytime it's shared by the cleaning staff. Otherwise for the price and location, The Breakers was an excellent choice (made by my wife btw) if you're visiting VB!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sos1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My family and I stayed here for four nights. The room was very spacious and well maintained. It was a little dated but not tacky. The pool was great, being oceanfront, but the position was a little awkward and received limited sun throughout the day. The cleanliness was satisfactory, except there were many windows both in our room and the hallway that needed some attention. There seemed to be smudges and fingerprints probably on ever window in our room (prior guest probably had smaller children). It was not a major concern, but definitely noticeable. The Breakers was definitely average. Not the best place we've stayed at, but also not the worst. The free bike rentals are a plus, for those who take advantage of them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boranny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £61 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing