We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at the Breakers for many years and, though this section of the beach gets a bit too crowded in the Summer, we come back for the hotel and the terrific family that runs it. The Capps family built the Breakers in 1984 and now have three generations, along with some long time loyal associates, who keep it as one of the great values in Virginia Beach. This year they have done some major interior renovations to the lobby and cafe, as well as some room upgrades, such as the much needed in-room safes big enough for a laptop computer! The only complaint we could have is that the sheets and towels are very rough. Certainly this isn't one of the major resort hotels but, it's cozy, convenient, and comfortable. The entire staff takes pride in their work and their hotel and treats their guests as they would want to be treated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side give you a wider view of the Oceanfront. There is free wi-fi and bikes. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MS1Timonium_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The view was great. Pretty much everything else we did not like at all. The bed was hard as the floor. I actually had to get up four hours into the night to sleep in the chair because my back hurt that bad. The hallway smelled bad. The elevator was scary, hot & smelled horrible. I would not stay here again ever! As we left, we talked to the front desk and they could care less that we did not enjoy the experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank sunbeem4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been doing a little traveling and by far this has been the nicest hotel we stayed in so far on our trip. Let alone you can't beat that its still family owned and operated we know if we ever come back to Va we will be staying here again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank beachtower13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We appreciate your kind words. We take great pride in family ownership and now have 3 generations working here. We hope to welcome you back to The Breakers Resort Inn the next time you visit Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is right on the boardwalk. Every room has a balcony facing the water and they are very clean. For the price I was expecting something a little nasty, but I will definitely be back to stay here again! I am very picky & I did not feel uncomfortable here.

However, my fiance did not know that you were not allowed to smoke on the balconies of this hotel. Him & my father were on the balcony of our 7th floor room & right as he finished smoking the phone rang. My dad walked inside & said hello. The front desk said "Hello sir, tell your friend that he can't smoke out there or it is a $250 fine." I understand their rules, but after that we felt like their was a camera watching us. I don't know how else they could have been so specific about the situation happening that high up, unless someone was watching closely. If this is the case, hopefully its just outside. So keep your curtains shut!

Other than that, we had absolutely no complaints. They did have a restaurant that served breakfast as well. The menu looked fantastic, but we never made it down there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kkeith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakersvb, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We certainly could have adressed the smoking issue in a better manner. Guests aren't always aware our non smoking policy includes the balconies. We do not actively check for smoking and in this instance were notified by guests in nearby rooms.
Again, thanks and we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

If you want a roof over your head....on the beach....then you are fine here....some pros and cons...
Pro: Full kitchen, balcony, nice staff, suite fit our family of 4, bikes you can use, good location

Con: awful slow internet, supplied shampoo and soap is uber cheap, noisy a/c unit, light easily invades room, a general cheap approach, bath towels are small and see thru, exterior noise easily heard, only 1 slow elevator.

We left a night early...nothing special about the place...but ok for a short spell if you adjust your expectations.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Travelertoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've stayed here twice and both times was great. Get the jacuzzi suite. Great breakfast and lunch. Centrally located. Family run. Great value. Walk to several bars and restaurants. Good beach. Easy to find. Felt like being at home.

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GLENN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at this very nice place a few days in early April. It is an older property right on the beach. The front desk people were very polite and helpful with our questions. We had reserved a king bed ocean front room, but it was pre season so they up graded us to one of the penthouse rooms. So we had a balcony overlooking the beach plus a roof top terrace, which gave an additional outdoor area for a good view. So we were very pleased at the very nice up graded room. As it was early April the weather it was not quite warm enough to lay on the beach, it was nice enough to walk on the boardwalk and use one of the resorts free bicycles to ride on the beach front bicycle path. We would stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Upper floor or even a Penthouse Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edsel13304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,071 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3420
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £54 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing