We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers Resort Inn
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We just returned from our 4 night stay at The Breakers. Great location. The staff was very nice and helpful. We were 2 adults and two teenage children. We had a one bedroom with kitchen on the 8thfloor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank debviola6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for The Breakers Resort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Breakers was a refreshing and delightful hotel for our family vacation! We booked two rooms through the hotel, requesting lower floors due to having small children. We arrived earlier than usual but were cheerfully welcomed and allowed into our rooms on the first floor. The views of the beach and boardwalk were wonderful, the rooms were clean and had been recently updated. One of our rooms had a strange smell to it, and once the front desk was notified, they promptly took care of the problem by replacing the entire air conditioning unit. When that unit didn't work, the hotel staff immediately replaced it again. They were wonderful, friendly, extremely helpful, and the hotel is just a great place for relaxation. It was so nice to have the complimentary bikes to ride each day as well! The hotel is in the perfect location to enjoy the quiet of the boardwalk as well as the music, nightlife and shopping. We were able to bike and walk to many of the attractions and stores, and the pier is just one block away. The WiFi was spotty, but that was the only downside to the hotel. The housekeeping staff was pleasant to all of us, always smiling and helpful and did a thorough job in cleaning our rooms. We also enjoyed the small cafe in the hotel, which served breakfast and lunch and also offered boxed lunches for the beach. Our breakfast was delicious, our waitress was great, and it was one of the best experiences we've had so far at Virginia Beach. Thank you to The Breakers!! We hope to see you next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alfie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great deal on Rooms for Oceanfront. There is an outdoor pool which we could look donw upon.from our hotel room balcony. Close to amusement park and pier. They had very good breakfasts at little diner located in the hotel ! Easy walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Get an efficiency room or hottub room !
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel a couple nights ago and it was by far the worst experience I have ever had in my life at a hotel. I asked the housekeeper on my floor ,or I had assumed she was the housekeeper because of her terquoise uniform,for some towels and she snarled back I am not a housekeeper, then got on the elevator. Shortly thereafter a housekeeper brought some towels up to my room. The woman that I had initially thought to be a housekeeper was on my floor sitting in the chair by the elevator for about two hours occasionally answering a call on her radio. The front desk clerk was very nice and pleasent, however, the housekeeping staff that I had encountered was very rude, disrespectful, and moreover LAZY. I hope that anyone who stays at The Breakers Resort Inn has a better experience than I did.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brielle2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

There are times that you don't want impersonal hotel brands managing your vacation and the Breakers Hotel is a perfect reason to find a hotel that knows your name.

Because we travel a lot we tend to only go to one hotel chain to get points, even then we find the hotel close to the venue, don't really stay inside the hotel. Mainly look for a clean, safe place to sleep. After visiting the Breakers Resort Inn, I am going to have to rethink our vacation strategy and look for family owned hotels.

The Breakers Inn has people who care, families that book every year at the same hotel and what is amazing the staff and owner know the families by name. I can't tell you how safe and secure a vacation can be when a hotel goes out of their way to know their guests.

I loved the quaint feeling of the hotel and personalized breakfast, the pool was just right and access to the beach was perfect.

This type of hotel isn't for everyone because they are personable and care about customers and not just a hotel brand. I am going to encourage visiting family to try the hotel when they visit Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are always the best.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ty_Swartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel should not be allowed to use the work "resort" as it really does not have anything to offer for the price. The rooms are very nice and I like the fact that the hotel is not large- aside from the rooms, we have stayed in better and will probably choose somewhere else next time

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocmdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was probably the worst hotel i have ever stayed at. My family booked a couple of rooms for a family reunion/ beach outing and they treated us terrible. At check in the lady who was at the desk was very rude and made it seem like she did not care. She just handed us our keys without telling us what room we were in or where it was located. I had to ask and she just rudely pointed and told us the elevator was down the hall. Speaking of the elevator, that thing was awful. 4 people could fit and it took about 15 minutes for it to come up and down. At check out we just decided to use the stairs instead because it took soo long. The room itself was not very good either. The toilet was loose and their towels were not soft at all. The only good thing this hotel had to offer was the view of the beach. We decided to stay at the nearby chain hotel instead of this one for our second night. We paid the same for both rooms and the chain hotel was way nicer and the people way friendlier. Next year we know where not to stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort Inn

Address: 1503 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £62 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Resort Inn is Family-owned and operated, open year-round, and is directly on the boardwalk at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. We are adjacent to the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier and only 20 minutes from the Norfolk Intl. Airport. Shopping, dining, nightlife and many attractions are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive by car. All guestrooms and suites have a stunning oceanfront view and provide comfortable accommodations to fit your personal needs. A refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer and safe are in all rooms and Wi-fi is complimentary to guests throughout our hotel. Our efficiency suites feature a bedroom with two queen beds, living room with a pull-down double bed & studio kitchen containing plates and utensils. Couples love our king bedded rooms with in-room Jacuzzi. Breakfast and lunch is served daily at our Boardwalk Cafe for guest convenience. Take a bike ride on one of our complimentary bikes or simply relax by our outdoor heated pool overlooking the beach and boardwalk. Only 20 minutes from the Norfolk International our location is perfect whether it’s for a family vacation, golf package or a romantic getaway. Our staff looks forward to providing you an unforgettable vacation here at the Breakers Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
Breakers Hotel Virginia Beach
The Breakers Resort Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing