We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capes Hotel
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is in a good location right on the ocean. It has direct access to the beach, and beautiful views from the rooms. I have stayed at this location a few times over the years and have never been disappointed. I visited this August and received a great weekend rate. The rooms and the hotel is clean. The front desk staff are very welcoming upon checkin and throughout our entire stay.

Room Tip: Get a high floor fir great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    116
    37
    18
    18
See reviews for
154
113
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just stayed the second weekend in September. We were in a double room with a refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave. The room was just the right size with a private balcony overlooking the beach. I was fortunate to see a bunch of dolphins playing around and feeding on fish and all I had to do was stand and look down from my 7th floor room. Top rated restaurants are all within easy walking distance and the Capes has its own little café on the beach that is good and reasonably priced. So you can't beat the convenience. The Capes is older but very, very clean with stellar ocean views. Personally, I am tired of the same old chain hotels and loved being at a local place that is run by people who truly want their place to be the best it can be. It was also very quiet providing a wonderful spot to enjoy peaceful waves and gorgeous blue skies. We will stay at the Capes as often as we can!

Room Tip: Rooms 5th floor or higher give the best views in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Though its older its a great place. Location is perfect and they all are very curtious and interested in you having an enjoyable stay. Great beach. If there was any complaint I would say the door coming into to hotel from the beach was a pain getting into. But alway busy so someone will assist you. Will stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IplayNdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

As always Mr. O and his staff provided us with a most enjoyable vacation. Going to The Capes is like going to an old friends house, you feel welcome and there are no unpleasant surprises. Well maybe just one, The Hidden Pearl. The quality of the food at the Hidden Pearl did not measure up to the price paid for the food. With being said, we look forward to returning to The Capes.

Dennie & Vicki

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhelman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Rooms were small but the beachfront balcony made up for it. Nice quite hotel considering all the activities going on outside. Staff was great. Breakfast was good. Reasonably priced. Would definetly stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdhurs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evington, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We go to Virginia Beach every Labor Day, and this place is right in the middle of the action and the Boardwalk. Clean and quiet with an awesome, friendly staff. Comfy beds! All rooms have an ocean view. Nice little indoor pool that was also clean and a little bar/restaurant where you can sit on the patio and enjoy a drink or meal with a great view. I have stayed at lots of different places in Virginia Beach over the years and this one was tops. Not for those of you looking for high-end features or a resort/spa experience, but a great family place for those of us on budgets. I really cannot say enough how clean this place was and how great the staff was. I was also impressed with how quiet it was, especially since it is literally in the middle of the Boardwalk. Parking was tight, but we parked our car and never had to use it again; everything you need is within walking distance, and there's always the trolley. There was a microwave, fridge, sink and coffeemaker in every room, but no utensils or coffee. We asked at the front desk and they gave us a packet of coffee the first night, but they also have coffee in the hospitality room each morning. Highly recommend The Capes and look forward to staying with them again.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong; all ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thestenohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conneaut, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I stayed on the 4th floor, my son, daughter-inlaw, and 3 grand kids stayed on the 6th floor. The staff was great and friendly, the rooms clean, the beach awesome. The street performers were every where. This hotel is in the middle of everything. Loved it. This is my sons family 4 year in a row at this hotel. He has come to Virginia Beach 12 years in a row. We love this place. Good value. Great ocean view.

Room Tip: The food is great and well priced. Small but mighty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioRich60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capes Hotel

Property: Capes Hotel
Address: 2001 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capes has 59 spacious, comfortable, affordable rooms, eight stories, an oceanfront cafe, refreshing indoor pool all to be enjoyed, right here on the ocean. All rooms are non-smoking offering refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The Capes offers accommodations to fit your needs, with our one room unit that includes two full size beds; or our two room unit with three full size beds and 2 tvs offering your family just the right space for a relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Capes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capes Hotel Virginia Beach
Capes Virginia Beach
Capes Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing