We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!”
Review of Capes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capes Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2010

For the location & price our 3 night stay in the 2 room suite was great. The staff were friendly & the room was clean & comfortable. Will be our choice for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

This is the 2nd year my family has stayed at The Capes. We booked 3 rooms and for the price you pay you get a great location near all the shops and restaurants and the beach right at the back door. It's also great when traveling with teenagers because they can roam streets, taking in all the sights and festivals and feel safe while doing so.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddavis106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The Capes is a very nice family owned hotel. Like I was saying if you are looking for fantastic ocean views and a nice clean place to stay with reasonable pricing this would be the place to stay. This is our second time here and it was just as nice as the first time. The staff was very friendly and you always had clean towels each day without having to ask for them. We will be returning next summer. The Capes is a great place stay. The parking is not bad. We got lucky and had a parking space up front. And your right in the heart of everything which was in walking distant of everything from shops to food so we didn't have to drive. Thanks again to The Capes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trylogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My husband & I decided last year to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Virginia Beach. We researched the hotels and rates on-line and found the Capes Hotel had the most reasonable rates and all oceanfront rooms. We had such a wonderful get-away, we booked again this year at the Capes Hotel. We love knowing we will always have an oceanfront room. Having a kitchenette with a refridgerator and coffeemaker is so convenient for in-between meal snacks and beverages. The location is perfect. The Capes Hotel is centrally located on the boardwalk. We can walk from one end to the other to find great restaurants and entertainment. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. The elevator is a little slow, and the pillows are on the flat side, but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libby057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The service of the front desk staff and staff ,my husband and I received at the Capes , was a truly refreshing experience. It was a very pleasant way to start our vacation. The ocean view balcony was one of our favorite places to relax. The room was as clean the day we departed as it was the day we arrived. The shower was one of the best we have ever experienced in a hotel. Our daughter, son in law and 16 year old grandson accompanied us on this visit to The Capes. We received no complaints from our daughter or her husband. When your sixteen year old grandson says to Pappy " This is a really cool hotel" we knew the choice to stay at The Capes was the correct one. We also enjoyed taking breakfast on the restaurant balcony with the ocean as our landscape. My husband really liked the grits. We look forward to staying at The capes Hotel next season.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Once again The Capes came through. This was our 8th year for the 6 friends to take a break from spouses and children. Service has always been wonderful and the 2 bedroom suite is perfect to sleep 6 comfortably. This was our first year to have the suite off of the wooden deck and I would recommend that everyone pay the extra for the space. We will be back for year 9. Perfect location to enjoy nightlife on strip without ever moving your vehicle and daytime play on the beach and boardwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morthy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We love the Capes. My family has been coming here for several years for our family reunion. The hotel is clean, the rooms have a great view and the staff is very professional, as well as friendly and helpful. I only have good things to say about the Capes, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tctravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capes Hotel

Address: 2001 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3344
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £604 - £699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capes has 59 spacious, comfortable, affordable rooms, eight stories, an oceanfront cafe, refreshing indoor pool all to be enjoyed, right here on the ocean. All rooms are non-smoking offering refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The Capes offers accommodations to fit your needs, with our one room unit that includes two full size beds; or our two room unit with three full size beds and 2 tvs offering your family just the right space for a relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Capes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capes Hotel Virginia Beach
Capes Virginia Beach
Capes Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing